We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Catalonia Oro Negro
Reviewed 5 June 2014

lovely hotel food great we had a room on seventh floor great sea view friendly staff room was lovely had a sea view rooms cleaned every day food lovely something for everyone always able to get a sun bed would recommend this hotel

Room Tip: we had room on 7th floor great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rachael m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomingoPerez, Director General at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear rachael m,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience in our hotel with other guest in Tripadvi-sor.com. Our guests´ feedback gives us support to continue improving our services.
It is nice to read that you enjoyed your stay and you think this is a great hotel with great food and friendly staff.
Thank you very much for your nice words

I hope to welcome you again soon in our hotel

Yours sincerely,
Domingo Pérez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,290)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,220 - 1,226 of 2,292 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014

Stayed here May 1-10 2014. My third holiday at this great 3 star hotel 1n the past 14 months. Once again everything was brilliant from the moment we arrived. The hotel staff were friendly and cheerful in every department from reception to the dining room staff and chamber maids, I never encountered one sour face. The standard of food and the selection was as good if not better than some 4 star hotels I have stayed at.
The pool and sunbathing areas were clean and well maintained and loungers were available whenever we wanted one. The sunbathing area had full sun all day.
The room was a good size for a couple, clean and well serviced daily, if the room fell short in any way, just a minor point was there was very little drawer space but there was plenty of wardrobe and shelf space.
The hotel is situated up a hill but the gradient is not too demanding, close to a golf course and to plenty of bars but not so close to have problems with noise from them.
All in all good value for money. I will most definitely return here.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays
5  Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomingoPerez, Director General at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Anthony M,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience in our hotel with other guest in Tripadvisor.com.
It is really nice to read that this was your third holiday at our hotel in the last 14 months and that you think this is a great 3 star hotel.
Thank you for your feedback because it helps us to continue improving our services and gives us support for our work
I hope to welcome you again soon in our hotel
Yours sincerely,
Domingo Pérez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Have just arrived back from the Oro Negro Hotel in Las Americas and it is a fantastic hotel with great food and very friendly staff and a special mention to the restaurant manageress as she always had a smile on her face and she would really help no matter what you wanted. The rooms were also very spacious and had everything you need the only negative was the hotel is situated on a hill which is not suitable for people with walking difficulties but we would walk down the hill to the sea and shops and then get a taxi back which was only 4 euros but would definitely recommend this hotel as it is superb

Room Tip: we had a room looking over the pool and it was really good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank deveronwilma64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomingoPerez, Director General at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear deveronwilma64,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience in our hotel in Tripadvisor.com. Our guests´ opinions help us very much.
It is nice to read that you enoyed your stay and you think this is a fantastic hotel with great food and very friendly staff.
I will pass your comments to Simona and rest of our staff
Thank you very much for your feedback and your nice words

I hope to welcome you again soon in our hotel

Yours sincerely,
Domingo Pérez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed at this hotel from the 20th May to the 27th may . Excellent friendly hotel . We stayed in room 203 wanted a high floor but didn't moan about it just got on with the holiday , a bit to close to the lift , can be a little Noisey night time . Clean rooms maid service is great clean towels every day . Rooms a little tired , the only English tv channels are sky news and CNN news , and some old uk stuff , could do with BBC itv . The food at breakfast is great loads of choice from fresh fruit toasted sandwiches yoghurt cereal eggs bacon beans fresh omelette spoilt for choice , oh have to mention the lovely Simmona who is a credit to the oro negro always present smiles all the time and always chats to you and shows you to your table . Dinner time always so thing to eat always plenty of choice , and you can swap your evening dinner to lunch . Evening entertainment is great shows on every night including bingo and funny little games . Games in the day time included English bowls French bowls minni golf table tennis darts and the entertainment team are so nice and great fun . I can't get over how nice and friendly the staff are . I can highly recommend this hotel 100 % . If I had to give s down side to this hotel it would be the long walk up a hill from the front and the tv channels needs to get itv and BBC . Stayed there 3 times and this was our 4 th stay will always go to this hotel when going to tenerife .

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cheeky_smile7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomingoPerez, Director General at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear cheeky_smile7,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience in our hotel with other guest in Tripadvisor.com.
I apologize if we couldn´t give you a room in a high floor this time. We always try to do our best, sometimes is difficult for us to attend all our guest´s requests
We take note of your suggestion about more english channels, and will will work in it to get improvement.
It is really nice to read that you enjoyed your stay and highly recommend our hotel 100%
Thank you for your feedback because it helps us to continue improving our services and gives us support for our work
I hope to welcome you again soon in our hotel
Yours sincerely,
Domingo Pérez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Returned on 17 May from an 11 night stay and thoroughly enjoyed it. The hotel was exceptionally clean and all the staff were very friendly. The food was excellent for those who like plain eating with a roast every night and a lot of plain veg (would have loved a curry!). There was always a chef cooking both morning and night with omelets and eggs in the morning and usually a meat and fish on offer at night. The beds were firm - a bit too firm for our liking. The pool was not large but was 3m deep at one end and for most of the time was empty - older guests were not keen on getting wet. Plenty of sunbeds and brollies. We went out every day but had no problem getting sunbeds if we came back later.
The hotel is about 10 minutes stroll from the sea front and is on a hill so you do need to be able to cope with a steady climb back to it. It is however, well placed away from any noisy clubs or bars and so was quiet. It was also in a great place to choose which part of the resort to go to.
If you turn right out of the hotel and go straight for about 3/4 mile you come to the posh part, lit up like Las Vegas at night. It also gets you to Playa de las Vistas, which we thought was the best beach area. It also is home to Robinson, the cafe with the best Cafe Con Leche.
Turn left and go down the hill and turn left again and you pass a number of English bars and come to the night club area (all quiet until about 9.30pm). As we are in our 50s, we had to go there to get a fix of lively music as almost everywhere was catering to the vast number of retired people and was country and western or tribute acts to old singers. Maybe it all changes in school holiday periods.
Turn right and right again and you come to a long road running parallel with the seafront and full of bars and restaurants.
The path along the seafront runs for about 2 miles in each direction and has plenty of shops and bars. A lot of cheap clothes are on offer and lager is as low as 1 euro a pint. We bought a brolly and 2 beach mats for 10 euros and left them behind when we came home.
The sea is very rough and has strong currents. There are surfers along the unprotected areas, which is great to watch. All the beaches have stone jetties at both ends to give protected bathing areas. Some black sand and others orange sand. You still need to be careful if you swim out when the tide is going out as it is not so easy to get back!!
We had an excellent holiday. We walked our socks off, had all but 1 day of glorious sunshine and even went on one of the many cheap/free excursions - subsidised by you having to listen to a sales pitch about beds and sheepskin covers. Be wary, people on our coach were buying £1700 sets by the end of the presentation (no hard sell though). Aimed squarely at the old folk with their aches and pains (I am nearly at that age!).
My advice is to pick this hotel if you want a good value 3* hotel with plain food and a good choice.
Have a good one!!

Room Tip: We were in room 207 which was at the back of the hotel, got the sun in the evening and has a good vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomingoPerez, Director General at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Richard H,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience in our hotel and in Tenerife South with other guest in Tripadvisor.com. Our guests´ feedback gives us support to continue improving our services.
It is nice to read that you think our hotel is an excellent 3* hotel, exceptiaonally clean and with very friendly staff.
I hope to welcome you again soon in our hotel

Yours sincerely,
Domingo Pérez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Took my mum to Tenerife for her birthday last November 2013. We stayed at this hotel for two weeks. It is clean and your towels are changed on a regular basis. We went half board and they had a good selection of food. I loved it because it is local to so many areas I have visited before like the St Eugenio shopping centre and Los Cristianos. The staff in the restaurant are so friendly and helpful. Simona is really lovely and always showed you to your table. Benito and Herrera were brilliant waiters in the restaurant. On our last evening there, he gave me a free bottle of red wine to have with our evening meal.We got a room which overlooked the side of another hotel and did not like this very much. However, when we asked to change rooms, they were quite happy for us to do this after a few days but in the end we decided not to move. The entertainment is very good and they have bingo every evening. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would love to stay here again.

Room Tip: It would be nice to have a room which overlooks the front or back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eve E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomingoPerez, Director General at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Eve E,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience in our hotel with other guest in Tripadvisor.com.
It is really nice to read that you and mum enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
I will pass your comments to Simona, Benito, Herrera and rest of our staff.
Thank you for your feedback because it helps us to continue improving our services and gives us support for our work
I hope to welcome you again soon in our hotel
Yours sincerely,
Domingo Pérez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

just returned on 19/05/14 from a 10 night stay here. The hotel is lovely and clean, the staff are really nice, pool area is kept very clean. Chlorine levels were checked on a daily basis in the pool. The restaurant was nice and spacious. The food was excellent and had a wide variety of food. Carvery on every night plus steak, chicken, fish pork was being cooked in front of you if you wanted that. The bedrooms were nice and cleaned every day. There was organised daytime activities near the pool area and evening entertainment was varied. It has 3 star rating on the front of the hotel. I would give this hotel a minimun of 4 stars. I would recommend this hotel to couples or families. Its in a nice area about 10 mins walk from the prom and shops and bar / restaurants are close by.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool are the best from 3rd floor upwards
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dolphin023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomingoPerez, Director de Recepción at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear dolphin023,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience in our hotel with other guest in Tripadvi-sor.com. Our guests´ feedback helps us to improve our services and gives us support to con-tinue working. It is nice to read that you think this is an excellent hotel, clean and with excellent food, and that you give us a mínimum of 4 star. We feel very proud and very grateful for your nice words.
I hope to welcome you again soon in our hotel
Yours sincerely,
Domingo Pérez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa de las Americas hotels
0.7 mi away
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
#26 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,071 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,081 reviews
0.0 mi away
Apartamentos Oro Blanco
Apartamentos Oro Blanco
#21 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sol Tenerife
Sol Tenerife
#33 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,639 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ole Tropical
Hotel Ole Tropical
#14 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
1,356 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel-Apartamentos Andorra
Hotel-Apartamentos Andorra
#17 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Oro Negro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Oro Negro

Address: Arquitecto Gomez Cuesta 14, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#20 Romantic Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#20 Family Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range: £69 - £230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Catalonia Oro Negro 3*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalonia Oro Negro is located 500 metres from the las Americas de Arona beach, in Tenerife, close to the local leisure centre and the "Las Americas" golf club. The hotel facilities cater to the most discriminating clients, both adult and children: swimming pool for adults, children's swimming pool, children's playground, large terrace, solarium with hammocks, hairdressers and beauty salon, table football, table tennis, private garden, pool bar, live shows in the bar, Daniel's bar, breakfast buffet restaurant and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Alpha Holidays Limited, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Catalonia Oro Negro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Oro Negro Hotel Playa De Las Americas
Catalonia Oro Negro Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing