We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This hotel is really that good - deserves a 4 star rating and def above average/excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Catalonia Oro Negro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Catalonia Oro Negro
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“This hotel is really that good - deserves a 4 star rating and def above average/excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

am really struggling to understand why this hotel is rated 3 star. Have just returned a day or so ago so everything is still fresh in my mind. I travel as a family group including one small child. The more I pay for our holidays the more I expect! This was a budget last minute holiday for us and far exceeded all our expectations.

The hotel is one of the friendliest cleanest places i've been to in a few years. Reception is friendly and efficient. I had requested a sea or pool view on the 3rd or 4th floor in advance by email and was pleasantly surprised to receive exactly that. We had missed our evening meal (due to a horrendous thomson transfer – 30 minutes to get off the plane, through passport control, collect luggage and get on the coach – then a 90 minute wait on the coach outside the airport waiting for the next flight to get in. Thomson – get your act in gear – totally unacceptable when the coach hotel drop offs could be done in less than 45 minutes with another 20 minutes for the coach to get back to the airport). The hotel, without prompting told us we could have a lunch time meal as a replacement for our missed meal which we opted to take on the last day before our transfer back to the airport.

The room, although clean was dated and there were a few chipped tiles on the floor and some missing from the bathroom wall. Patio furniture was white plastic and the tv was a large backed one. No kettle though for a morning coffee but the restaurant isn't far away. Now I've said all of that you can dismiss it all – as we were there patio furniture was being replaced with new plastic wicker effect sets, tv's were being replaced by decent sized Grundig flat screens, floors were being replace and rooms spruced up. All of this was being done quietly and efficiently. We only heard light drilling on one afternoon. The room was cleaned, beds were made daily and the maid was very helpful when our little man had an overnight accident. Be aware that some of the rooms in what is marked as block a on the map overlook a fairly main four lane road and this can be quite busy and noisy. We were in block b.

Everything people have said about food is accurate. Everything under the sun – obviously trip advisor reports are being read and action taken by the hotel as on three nights a curry/stew was available. There was fresh soup, pate and salad then at least three meats or fish on the show plates, a pasta and pizza station plus a carvery roast then of course the usual hotplates loaded with food. Not once did I feel the need to have chips (although available) and a rarety for the hotels that i've visited in tenerife – canarian potatoes available three or four nights per week. There was something for my little man eveyr night and for once, he was polishing his plates off. Breakfasts were equally as nice. Omlettes and fresh eggs available at the show plates plus full english and continental, cereals, fruit selections etc etc. you never go hungry. A personal choice, but I found the juices from the machines too sweet and not appealing. Drinks in the restaurant in the evening had to be purchased – water was pricey at over a euro for a small bottle but beers and wines were well priced – the house wine was drinkable and only cost 5.50 euro's. A bonus was that the hotel would recork the bottle and keep it for you until the following night.

Around the pool there were plenty of sun beds and lots of space – a good system in place re locking up of sunbeds until a respectable time stopped the majority of towel laying at stupid o'clock and a large portion of the sunbed area had full sun all day. Some hotel guests did secure where they wanted to sit by placing and leaving bags and towels in place of their sunbeds or standing there in full sun until they sunbeds were unlocked – not necessary and stupid in my opinion. Umbrella's for the first part of the week were freely available but I did notice that as the hotel became busier towards the end of our week they were becoming difficult to get. Note for hotel – could you mark perhaps three umbrellas as for use by parents for their under 12's only please – having little or no shade for a little one is not good. A note for all parents – the red tiles around the large seating area and just away from the childrens pool become exceptionally slippy with even the tiniest amount of water and exceptionally hot under foot by mid-morning – I would hope that under the refurbishment the hotel will consider replacing this floor with something better. Although both adult and children pools aren't heated by mid morning in the full sun they become comfortable. There is also a good childrens climbing frame with slide and swings.

Daytime entertainment is discreet and not overbearing. Staff make a special effort to run regular timed activities for children albeit with parent supervision but a much needed change for the younger ones. We didn't experience the evening entertainment at all preferring to take an early evening stroll into PDLA or Los Christianos and returning for an early night.

PDLA is a 10 min walk down a steady incline and Los Christianos is about a 25 minute walk in a different direction.

Now...the question is...would I return to this hotel? Yes I would if the price was right. But would I return paying full price? Possibly not. But only because at that price level there are other properties available away from the road and nearer the front. Would I recommend this hotel to others? Definitely. It is not a 3 star and is more like a 4 star.

Room Tip: Marked on the hotel escape plan - rooms in block a overlook either the pool or a very busy road with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank linksmanmischief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomingoPerez, Director General at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear linksmanmischief,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience in our hotel with other guest in Tripadvisor.com. Our guests´ feedback helps us very much to improve our services and gives us support to continue working.
It is nice to read that you and your family enjoyed your holidays in our hotel and it exceeded your expectations
We take note of your comments and suggestions and we will work in them to get improvement.
We are working everyday to give our guest the best services

I hope to welcome you again in our hotel
Yours sincerely,
Domingo Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,888 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    580
    838
    338
    74
    58
See reviews for
343
1,059
68
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (562)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We returned last night from enjoying a week at this fabulous hotel. We booked last minute with Thomson's and for the price we paid were expecting a shabby tired hotel with poor food! It could not be more opposite, the hotel is being completely refurbished and the work was being done quietly and discreetly! It was in good shape and I will come to the food in a minute.

From the top.....
Flights from Manchester were good, transfers were efficient and when we arrived at the hotel we were dealt with promptly and courteously. We were given a family room on the 8th floor that was 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. We had a minor delay which meant we missed dinner so without us even having to ask we were given lunch the next day free of charge. Our stay was half board and the quality and choice of food was amazing. Every breakfast would fulfil everyone's taste and diet. An egg station cooking up fresh omelettes and fried eggs meant you could vary what you had day to day.

Evening meal was always a selection from a buffet and a carvery and the meat of the day .... steaks salmon chicken all cooked to your liking on the plancha.

I have a good appetite so would have 2 steaks and there was no problem at all.

To try and summarise the food it was of a very high quality, varied and you could have as much as you wanted.

The staff were awesome, very friendly very keen to help and there were a few people who I will never forget, the lady who shows you to your table was wonderful, and always had a smile. The bar staff in particular Bellen was lovely. The animation staff really went that extra mile to entertain kids and adults alike.

I am trying to summarise our stay and I cannot as I just ramble on again!!

It is great, food is not gourmet but wholesome and plentiful, we normally eat out the odd time but did not feel the need as the hotel food was really good.

I would advise you to give it a try!

Room Tip: I would email the hotel with your requirements and they will do there best to give you what you want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaleK182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomingoPerez, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear DaleK182 ,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience in our hotel. Your nice comments give us support to continue working every day to to improve our services and get our guests´ satisfac-tion.
It is nice to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay, specially the quality of our food selection and the friendlyness of our staff.
Thank you very much again for your nice words
I hope to welcome you again soon in our hotel
Yours sincerely,
Domingo Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

lovely hotel food great we had a room on seventh floor great sea view friendly staff room was lovely had a sea view rooms cleaned every day food lovely something for everyone always able to get a sun bed would recommend this hotel

Room Tip: we had room on 7th floor great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rachael m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomingoPerez, Director General at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear rachael m,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience in our hotel with other guest in Tripadvi-sor.com. Our guests´ feedback gives us support to continue improving our services.
It is nice to read that you enjoyed your stay and you think this is a great hotel with great food and friendly staff.
Thank you very much for your nice words

I hope to welcome you again soon in our hotel

Yours sincerely,
Domingo Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescot, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Stayed here May 1-10 2014. My third holiday at this great 3 star hotel 1n the past 14 months. Once again everything was brilliant from the moment we arrived. The hotel staff were friendly and cheerful in every department from reception to the dining room staff and chamber maids, I never encountered one sour face. The standard of food and the selection was as good if not better than some 4 star hotels I have stayed at.
The pool and sunbathing areas were clean and well maintained and loungers were available whenever we wanted one. The sunbathing area had full sun all day.
The room was a good size for a couple, clean and well serviced daily, if the room fell short in any way, just a minor point was there was very little drawer space but there was plenty of wardrobe and shelf space.
The hotel is situated up a hill but the gradient is not too demanding, close to a golf course and to plenty of bars but not so close to have problems with noise from them.
All in all good value for money. I will most definitely return here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
5 Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomingoPerez, Director General at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Anthony M,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience in our hotel with other guest in Tripadvisor.com.
It is really nice to read that this was your third holiday at our hotel in the last 14 months and that you think this is a great 3 star hotel.
Thank you for your feedback because it helps us to continue improving our services and gives us support for our work
I hope to welcome you again soon in our hotel
Yours sincerely,
Domingo Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Have just arrived back from the Oro Negro Hotel in Las Americas and it is a fantastic hotel with great food and very friendly staff and a special mention to the restaurant manageress as she always had a smile on her face and she would really help no matter what you wanted. The rooms were also very spacious and had everything you need the only negative was the hotel is situated on a hill which is not suitable for people with walking difficulties but we would walk down the hill to the sea and shops and then get a taxi back which was only 4 euros but would definitely recommend this hotel as it is superb

Room Tip: we had a room looking over the pool and it was really good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank deveronwilma64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomingoPerez, Director General at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear deveronwilma64,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience in our hotel in Tripadvisor.com. Our guests´ opinions help us very much.
It is nice to read that you enoyed your stay and you think this is a fantastic hotel with great food and very friendly staff.
I will pass your comments to Simona and rest of our staff
Thank you very much for your feedback and your nice words

I hope to welcome you again soon in our hotel

Yours sincerely,
Domingo Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed at this hotel from the 20th May to the 27th may . Excellent friendly hotel . We stayed in room 203 wanted a high floor but didn't moan about it just got on with the holiday , a bit to close to the lift , can be a little Noisey night time . Clean rooms maid service is great clean towels every day . Rooms a little tired , the only English tv channels are sky news and CNN news , and some old uk stuff , could do with BBC itv . The food at breakfast is great loads of choice from fresh fruit toasted sandwiches yoghurt cereal eggs bacon beans fresh omelette spoilt for choice , oh have to mention the lovely Simmona who is a credit to the oro negro always present smiles all the time and always chats to you and shows you to your table . Dinner time always so thing to eat always plenty of choice , and you can swap your evening dinner to lunch . Evening entertainment is great shows on every night including bingo and funny little games . Games in the day time included English bowls French bowls minni golf table tennis darts and the entertainment team are so nice and great fun . I can't get over how nice and friendly the staff are . I can highly recommend this hotel 100 % . If I had to give s down side to this hotel it would be the long walk up a hill from the front and the tv channels needs to get itv and BBC . Stayed there 3 times and this was our 4 th stay will always go to this hotel when going to tenerife .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cheeky_smile7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomingoPerez, Director General at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear cheeky_smile7,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience in our hotel with other guest in Tripadvisor.com.
I apologize if we couldn´t give you a room in a high floor this time. We always try to do our best, sometimes is difficult for us to attend all our guest´s requests
We take note of your suggestion about more english channels, and will will work in it to get improvement.
It is really nice to read that you enjoyed your stay and highly recommend our hotel 100%
Thank you for your feedback because it helps us to continue improving our services and gives us support for our work
I hope to welcome you again soon in our hotel
Yours sincerely,
Domingo Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, Herts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Returned on 17 May from an 11 night stay and thoroughly enjoyed it. The hotel was exceptionally clean and all the staff were very friendly. The food was excellent for those who like plain eating with a roast every night and a lot of plain veg (would have loved a curry!). There was always a chef cooking both morning and night with omelets and eggs in the morning and usually a meat and fish on offer at night. The beds were firm - a bit too firm for our liking. The pool was not large but was 3m deep at one end and for most of the time was empty - older guests were not keen on getting wet. Plenty of sunbeds and brollies. We went out every day but had no problem getting sunbeds if we came back later.
The hotel is about 10 minutes stroll from the sea front and is on a hill so you do need to be able to cope with a steady climb back to it. It is however, well placed away from any noisy clubs or bars and so was quiet. It was also in a great place to choose which part of the resort to go to.
If you turn right out of the hotel and go straight for about 3/4 mile you come to the posh part, lit up like Las Vegas at night. It also gets you to Playa de las Vistas, which we thought was the best beach area. It also is home to Robinson, the cafe with the best Cafe Con Leche.
Turn left and go down the hill and turn left again and you pass a number of English bars and come to the night club area (all quiet until about 9.30pm). As we are in our 50s, we had to go there to get a fix of lively music as almost everywhere was catering to the vast number of retired people and was country and western or tribute acts to old singers. Maybe it all changes in school holiday periods.
Turn right and right again and you come to a long road running parallel with the seafront and full of bars and restaurants.
The path along the seafront runs for about 2 miles in each direction and has plenty of shops and bars. A lot of cheap clothes are on offer and lager is as low as 1 euro a pint. We bought a brolly and 2 beach mats for 10 euros and left them behind when we came home.
The sea is very rough and has strong currents. There are surfers along the unprotected areas, which is great to watch. All the beaches have stone jetties at both ends to give protected bathing areas. Some black sand and others orange sand. You still need to be careful if you swim out when the tide is going out as it is not so easy to get back!!
We had an excellent holiday. We walked our socks off, had all but 1 day of glorious sunshine and even went on one of the many cheap/free excursions - subsidised by you having to listen to a sales pitch about beds and sheepskin covers. Be wary, people on our coach were buying £1700 sets by the end of the presentation (no hard sell though). Aimed squarely at the old folk with their aches and pains (I am nearly at that age!).
My advice is to pick this hotel if you want a good value 3* hotel with plain food and a good choice.
Have a good one!!

Room Tip: We were in room 207 which was at the back of the hotel, got the sun in the evening and has a good vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomingoPerez, Director General at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Richard H,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience in our hotel and in Tenerife South with other guest in Tripadvisor.com. Our guests´ feedback gives us support to continue improving our services.
It is nice to read that you think our hotel is an excellent 3* hotel, exceptiaonally clean and with very friendly staff.
I hope to welcome you again soon in our hotel

Yours sincerely,
Domingo Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa de las Americas hotels
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos Oro Blanco
Apartamentos Oro Blanco
#20 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ole Tropical
Hotel Ole Tropical
#16 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel-Apartamentos Andorra
Hotel-Apartamentos Andorra
#19 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sol Tenerife
Sol Tenerife
#35 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,031 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apartamentos Caribe
Apartamentos Caribe
#36 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#11 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Oro Negro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Oro Negro

Property: Catalonia Oro Negro
Address: Arquitecto Gomez Cuesta 14, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#20 Romantic Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Catalonia Oro Negro 3*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalonia Oro Negro is located 500 metres from the las Americas de Arona beach, in Tenerife, close to the local leisure centre and the "Las Americas" golf club. The hotel facilities cater to the most discriminating clients, both adult and children: swimming pool for adults, children's swimming pool, children's playground, large terrace, solarium with hammocks, hairdressers and beauty salon, table football, table tennis, private garden, pool bar, live shows in the bar, Daniel's bar, breakfast buffet restaurant and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Catalonia Oro Negro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Oro Negro Hotel Playa De Las Americas
Catalonia Oro Negro Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing