We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Catalonia Oro Negro
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stay here twice a year at least.
Central location.
Clean rooms.
Good food.
Very cold pool so beware but great value for money.
Search for the glass lift......
Abit dated but you get what you pay for and it's within walking distance of everywhere.
Higher rooms = better views.
Simone in the restaurant is worth her weight in gold.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomingoPerez, Gerente at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Heather C,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience in our hotel in Tripadvisor.com. Our guests´ feedback gives us support to continue improving our services.
It is nice to read that you stay with us twice times a year. Our repetitive guests are our best ambassadors.
I hope to welcome you again in our hotel

Yours sincerely,
Domingo Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,062 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    662
    906
    353
    80
    61
See reviews for
378
1,159
73
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (589)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Arrived late the 6th of June, Check in was quick and efficient. Room was clean and well appointed. Spacious and large bathroom. Breakfast and evening meals were fantastic and plenty of choice. We were disturbed by the local spanish attending their Annual Festival, but it was only for 2 days. I am sure all countries have this problem, and I am sure its happening in Brazil as we speak. It was My 50th birthday at the same time as we stayed and without our knowledge the Reception staff had organised champagne in our room and also at dinner their was another one waiting to have with our dinner. A lovely touch and shows the management and staff go out there way to find out these things and go the extra mile to make our day special. The pool area was clean and never over crowded always beds available, beware of Tenerifes answer to Tim Healey as the life guard, very funny guy. Special mention to all the staff who made our holiday special, Simone in the restaurant, the waiters and waitresses, the cleaners and maintenance crew. Thank you to you all and will recommend this hotel to our friends as one of the best deals in tenerife.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomingoPerez, Director General at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Christopher S,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience in our hotel with other guest. Your feedback helps us very much.
We are very happy reading that you had a fantastic 50th birthaty at our hotel.
I will pass your comments to Simona and rest of our staff because your words give us support to continue working to improve our services.
I hope to welcome you again soon in our hotel

Yours sincerely,
Domingo Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Me and my mum have stayed at this hotel about 3 times now and i have been about 9 times with my husband and 2 daughters, all the times i have been its great but the last time was a nightmare due to the hotel being taken over by 20 something spanish kids who drank and played from loud music till 5am and the staff and manager said they could'nt do anything as it happens every year. so me and my mum found ourselves being shouted at for telling them to keep the noise down. one night we got to sleep at 5am then the next night it was 3.30am. they also took over the pool area and no one could use the pool. Really put me off going again as the hotel should have done more to help and stop the noise.

Room Tip: high floor and do not go in june.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paula d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomingoPerez, Director General at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear paula d ,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience in our hotel with other guests in Tripadvisor.com. Our guests´ feedback helps us to improve our services and avoid mistakes.
I really apologize if any guest disturbed you you in the hotel. It is difficult for us to select guests in summer when a lot of guest book by internet but we are trying to improve in this matter and avoid problematic guest because you know this is a relaxing hotel and we always try to help everyone enjoy their holidays.
I hope you will give us another chance to welcome you again to enjoy your holidays
Yours sincerely,
Domingo Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Spent a great week here June 10/17. We found it very relaxing and a short stroll to the beach. The staff are most helpful and make you feel welcome. The breakfast will set you up for the day and dinner is a pleasant treat especially the jelly for afters

Room Tip: The rooms on the flanks get some balcony sun but the main block is mostly shaded which suited us as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Devoian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomingoPerez, Director General at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Devoian,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience in our hotel in Tripadvisor.com. Our guests´ feedback gives us support to continue improving our services.
It is nice to read that you had a great week at our hotel and you think this is a great value.
I hope to welcome you again in our hotel

Yours sincerely,
Domingo Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This is my third stay at the Oro Negro and again we were no disappointed with anything on offer.
Rooms were great and food as always very good. Simmone in Restaurant was great and remembered us from last year, all staff again very friendly and Diego is a great lad had plenty of fun at the Table tennis with him and the family. they have one off the cleanest pools I have been in too and of course its cold it has to be its 80 plus degrees i would be annoyed if it wasn't cold. Thanks again for a great friendly stay and hope to return again sometime soon. I have already reccommended the oro negro to friends some off which have already stayed and some about to book. Keep it up. My children are 22 and 17 and love this hotel so that in its self says allot.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobAils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomingoPerez, Director General at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear RobertMeikle,
Thank you very much for sharing again your experience in our hotel with other guest in Tripad-visor.com. Our guests´ feedback gives us support to continue improving.
It is nice to read that in this third stay you and your family enjoyed your holidays with us.
Thank you very much for your nice words
I wish to welcome you and your family again soon in our hotel

Yours sincerely,
Domingo Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for a long weekend. It 's nice and clean with nice food selection.
Staff at the hotel are very friendly and helpfull. The pool is nice and clean as well, not to crowded. At least not at the time we were there.
Would definately recomend.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank KamPrz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomingoPerez, Director General at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear KamPrz,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience in our hotel in Tripadvisor.com. Our guests´ feedback gives us support to continue improving our services.
It is nice to read that you think this a clean hotel with nice food selection and friendly staff.
I hope to welcome you again in our hotel

Yours sincerely,
Domingo Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meath ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Only home today from a great 11 nite famiky break at this hotel, family room. Like 2 hotel rooms except 1 shower. Fine 4 us. Very comfortable beds. Air con gud. Fab breakfast and v gud value in bar in evening. Didnt do dinner in hotel so cant comment. Pool v cold. Wifi v poor. Pkease improve. Hope to return next year. 10 min walk from major activity but worth it price wise

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deirdre M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomingoPerez, Director General at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Deirdre M,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience in our hotel in Tripadvisor.com. Our guests´ opinions give us support to continue improving our services and help us very much.
It is nice to read that you think this is a great hotel and a great value for money.
We are working now tho intall wifi in the whole hotel and improve it. I hope in your next visit you will find it better.
I hope to welcome you next year in our hotel

Yours sincerely,
Domingo Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa de las Americas hotels
0.7 mi away
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
#28 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
2,899 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sol Tenerife
Sol Tenerife
#33 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,286 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
2,876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Apartamentos Oro Blanco
Apartamentos Oro Blanco
#18 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
1,004 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ole Tropical
Hotel Ole Tropical
#16 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
1,195 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel-Apartamentos Andorra
Hotel-Apartamentos Andorra
#20 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Oro Negro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Oro Negro

Property: Catalonia Oro Negro
Address: Arquitecto Gomez Cuesta 14, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#20 Romantic Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Catalonia Oro Negro 3*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalonia Oro Negro is located 500 metres from the las Americas de Arona beach, in Tenerife, close to the local leisure centre and the "Las Americas" golf club. The hotel facilities cater to the most discriminating clients, both adult and children: swimming pool for adults, children's swimming pool, children's playground, large terrace, solarium with hammocks, hairdressers and beauty salon, table football, table tennis, private garden, pool bar, live shows in the bar, Daniel's bar, breakfast buffet restaurant and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, TravelUp, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Catalonia Oro Negro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Oro Negro Hotel Playa De Las Americas
Catalonia Oro Negro Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing