We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Catalonia Oro Negro
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Great- me and my boyfriend came here as it's a 5 minute walk to everything! Even though it's not far from the strip, sleep quality was fab! Nice hotel nice rooms, nice mix of people.
Food is good, excellent value for money.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rosie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ORONEGRO, Junior Manager at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this review, 24 October 2014
Dear Rosie A,

Thank you for sharing your experience in our hotel in Trip Advisor.

We are happy you enjoy your stay ands we hope to see you soon again

Sintu Serra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,071 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    663
    912
    355
    80
    61
See reviews for
381
1,165
73
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (589)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Just returned after a week's stay at the Oro Negro. The hotel itself is lovely, the rooms are very smart and modern with a nice balcony. Prior to our visit I e-mailed the hotel to request for a sea view room and this was seen to. The rooms were cleaned everyday and we can't fault the cleaners for their great work.

We found most of the staff to be okay - they were helpful on our last day with letting us use a room to freshen up before our journey.

After reading previous reviews I was really looking forward to dining at the hotel, however this was the worst part of our stay. Dinnertime usually involved 2 grumpy waiters pointing to a table for us to sit at, however on our first night we had been put on a table that they had already allocated to somebody else, not a great start - but it did get better on an evening. There were often queues on a morning for breakfast, again with waiters finding you a table.

On a positive - the food at the hotel was really nice with lovely salads and delicious steaks and meats cooked before you. The desserts were slightly disappointing- there was not that much on offer compared to previous hotels I have stayed in, however the main meal made up for this.

The hotel is in a nice location, with bars and cafes near by. We did however see prostitutes over the way from the hotel, not exactly classy!

Overall we had a nice time.

Room Tip: We requested a sea view room which was lovely. It was also a nice sun trap from about 3pm onwards...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CherylA65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ORONEGRO, Junior Manager at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this review, 24 October 2014
Dear CherylA65,

Thank you for sharing your experience in our hotel.

I apologize if the service in our restaurant didn't match your expectations. We take note of what you said about the queues so we can work on it.

About the dessert I'm happy to tell you that we have increase the its variety at lunch and dinner

We hope you give us another chance and visit us again.

Your sincerly
Sintu Serra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Just back from a weeks holiday in this hotel, the whole hotel is very clean if a little dated in places.
The food was very good with plenty of choice for everyone and a huge salad bar every day. We stayed full board and if anything that was probably too much as we did eat far too much because there was a lot of choice.
Entertainment team are fantastic - my children loved the activities and it's not intrusive at all, if you want to join in you can but it's all in the background so you can also just relax. My son loved the daily water polo games and we enjoyed the hotel activities much better than the booked acts, the casino night and music quiz were great fun.
The only thing I would say was a disappointment was our room. We are a family of 5 and our room faced the road which was very noisy so to get our 2 year old to sleep we had to close the doors so room got too hot also we were on 6th floor with a tiny 2 rooms and a tiny balcony with a very steep drop onto concrete so we were constantly ensuring our kids were nowhere near it then we saw as others got rooms with much bigger balconies and a pool view.
Hotel is very clean though and staff are very friendly and helpful, I would go back but ask for a better room.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ginnyred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ORONEGRO, Junior Maan at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this review, 24 October 2014
Dear Ginnyred,

Thank you for sharing your experience in our hotel. Your comments help us to improve our service.

I appologize if your room was to noisy. I hope next time you come back we can booked one quieter.

Thanks for your nice comments and hope to see you soon

SIntu Serra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We were very surprised at the quality of food in the Oro Negro Hotel. Plenty of choices and some of it cooked in front of you. Always hot and fresh.Nice airconditioned dining room. Some of the rooms were being refurbished. Our's was very clean and a good size. We had room 446 which had a huge balcony facing the pool. Would ask for that room again. Good entertainment nightly. A 15 minute walk takes you to the Parque la Paz area which has a good variety of shops and bars. The Famous Hole In The Wall Pub, is situated in that area. Great entertainment with co owner Fergal Flaherty singing. The other direction from hotel takes you to the Adeje area in about 15- 20 mins. There are also bars and eating places in and around the hotel. A great little news agents and supermarket on the door step. Definately would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 446, end balcony very large. Overlooking the pool. Sun on balcony at lunch time through to even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ORONEGRO, Junior Manager at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this review, 24 October 2014
Dear Anne G,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience in our hotel in Tripadvisor.com.

We are happy you like our hotel and you enjoyed your time with us.

Thank you very much for your feedback and your nice words
I hope to welcome you again soon in our hotel

Best regards
Sintu Serra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Just returned from a week at the Oro Negro and have to totally agree with all the positive comments on here. Probably the best 3 star hotel we've stayed in. We had a spacious room on the ground floor looking out on to the childrens play area , lovely and peaceful at night and got a great nights sleep every evening. Rooms cleaned daily and towels changed daily also. Food was good and tasty , if you could'nt find anything to eat then you must be a fussy eater. Hotel in a good position for everything , down a bit of a sloping road to the front but not too strenuous coming back up. Overall we had a lovely stay at the Oro , the weather was brill and Las Americas was very lively with plenty of shops , bars and restaurants. Hope to be back again soon. Thankyou to all the staff at the Oro Negro keep up the good work.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ORONEGRO, Junior Manager at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this review, 24 October 2014
Dear LincolnMez,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience in our hotel in Tripadvisor.com.

It is nice to read that you enoyed your holiday at our hotel and you think this is brilliant hotel.
Thank you very much for your feedback and your nice words

We hope to welcome you again soon in our hotel

Best regards
Sintu Serra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Had a quick pit stop over night as ive been traveling around Tenerife and i have friends working in Las Americas, as i have a few apartments in and around tenerife. i found this place easy to find and a nice play to rest my head for one night. the room was a little bit high up but i managed.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Samuel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ORONEGRO, Junior Manager at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this review, 24 October 2014
Dear Samuel,

Thank you for taking your time to write your experience in our hotel

We hope you come back soon, next time with more time to relax and enjoy your stay in our hotel

Your sincerly

Sintu Serra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verona, Italy
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Took a late deal with Thomson's. Having visited Tenerife many times over the years we knew roughly where the hotel was in the resort.
Food. Breakfast was fine with fruit,salads and the usual full English. Evening meal was very hit and miss with limited choice of meat and very few veg on offer. Cakes were few and far between with jelly and ice cream the main choices. Custard in a big bubbling dish was provided every night but it was a challenge to identify what it went with. Fruit was over ripe so you needed to be careful when you made you're selection. Salads were fine but you can not do much damage to a salad. No waiters seemed to be allocated to an area so dishes were left on the table and twice my husband had to go and fine a waiter to get a drink. We found the staff in the dining room sullen faced and unhelpful. We saw the head waiter clear food from the table by brushing it on to the floor.
Pool Area
The men who looked after the pool area were excellent keeping the pool clear and checking the ph levels regularly. It is a pity they could not use his skills to keep the dining room clean. The gardeners also kept all the planted areas neat and tidy. Sunbeds were plentiful though some needed replacing as they were broken. The beds were chained up till 10.00 probably to keep those who put towels on beds at 6.00 in the morning and come back at 4.00 in the afternoon under control. Good idea but a but of a problem if you wanted to relax early. The animation team worked hard and tried to involve the guests as much as possible. Can not comment on the evening entertainment as were were out every night.
Reception
Staff were helpful and gave a ready smile. They had a trainee on duty when we were there and she was lovely.
Rooms
Basic but clean. We were on the ninth floor overlooking the golf course. My husband loved it commenting on the ability of the golfers over an evening drink on our balcony. As the road was Between the course and the hotel it did get a little noise during peak traffic times but the windows were double glazed. Air condition was poor and this mattered as the temperatures were high.
Hotel Main Areas
These were kept clean and tidy.

This hotel is an average three star. People who praise it as a four star have not stayed at one or they would realize the difference. In Tenerife there is a big difference between these two ratings.
We met guests who could not praise the food highly enough which made me wonder what they ate at home.
There were a number of returning guests and while we had an OK time we will not be amongs them in the future. We paid a knock down price and it is true to say you get what you pay for. If we had paid the full price we would have not been pleased at the standard of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ken G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ORONEGRO, Junior Manager at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this review, 24 October 2014
Dear Ken G ,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience in our hotel with other guests in Tripadvisor.com. Our guests´ feedback helps us to improve our services and avoid mistakes.

I apologize if the quality of the service in our restaurant didn' match your expectations. We will work on it

We hope to see you soon

Yours sincerely,
Sintu Serra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa de las Americas hotels
0.7 mi away
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
#28 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
2,903 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sol Tenerife
Sol Tenerife
#33 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,297 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
2,883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Apartamentos Oro Blanco
Apartamentos Oro Blanco
#18 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
1,008 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ole Tropical
Hotel Ole Tropical
#16 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
1,197 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel-Apartamentos Andorra
Hotel-Apartamentos Andorra
#20 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Oro Negro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Oro Negro

Property: Catalonia Oro Negro
Address: Arquitecto Gomez Cuesta 14, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#20 Romantic Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Catalonia Oro Negro 3*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalonia Oro Negro is located 500 metres from the las Americas de Arona beach, in Tenerife, close to the local leisure centre and the "Las Americas" golf club. The hotel facilities cater to the most discriminating clients, both adult and children: swimming pool for adults, children's swimming pool, children's playground, large terrace, solarium with hammocks, hairdressers and beauty salon, table football, table tennis, private garden, pool bar, live shows in the bar, Daniel's bar, breakfast buffet restaurant and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Catalonia Oro Negro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Oro Negro Hotel Playa De Las Americas
Catalonia Oro Negro Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing