We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Catalonia Oro Negro
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Just be aware all rooms are not good.we emailed just before we went asking for a top floor room if possible,when we arrived for our 2 week stay in July we were given room 114 on the bottom floor on the corner of building,this room was very grubby with a double bed single wardrobe tiny bathroom and totally depressing could only fit my husbands clothes in there mine had to be folded on the shelf's.we asked for a room change and told we had to go on a list so we spoke to Thomsons rep who got the room changed next day (thankyou Jen).we were moved to 556 which was a lovely room,so please be aware some rooms on bottom floor are not nice.everything after that very good.

Room Tip: No bottom floors ,pool view best
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
11  Thank DERRICK B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,385)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,263 - 1,269 of 2,385 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

just returned from a 10 night stay at this hotel, was there last year about this time and what I would say is that in my opinion it has improved. if you want a nice relaxing hotel away from all the hussle and bussle but close enough to enjoy the resort then you cant go wrong staying here. all the staff were friendly and there is no mad rush in the morning for a sun bed, there are plenty to go around even when poolside is busy. the food is enjoyable, does get repetitive but that's the case no matter where you stay. the rooms could maybe do with a freshen up but they were cleaned everyday and towels were changed on request. for a 3star hotel its great value for money and will definitely return in the future.

Room Tip: ask for a high floor pool view you then have a great view of the whole area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank jaybee267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Arrived 5 hours late as we were delayed. hotel had food in the dinning room plated salad and a cold drink. reception ist class room lovely, maids cleaned everyday and freash towels. food beautiful this hotel is rated 3 star from my experience of 3, 4, and I have done a couple of 5 star places, down fall no entertainment and no music round the pool if u can call that a downside. wud return again x

Room Tip: 8th floor fab view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Gail D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

just booked this hotel for the sixth time my friend and I leave our husbands at home and always enjoy this hotel and resort ,We go in November for ten days its got everything you need nice clean rooms comfy beds friendly staff buffet meals with loads to choose from meat and fish cooked just how you like it in front of you ,brilliant pool and always get sun beds drinks are a good fair price free wi fi in reception .There is plenty to see and do in the resort the hotel is in a good position shops bars and restaurants are all close the buses are just around the corner from the hotel different market days in close resorts lovely promenade that's all very flat and clean ,we cant wait to get back so what are you waiting for get booked and enjoy you never know if your there in November from the 7th we will be there god willing Cant wait.

Room Tip: the high floors are our choice if you like views we have stayed here six times and have just booked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank fabhotel4273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Just got back from here July 2014. Hotel is beginning to feel its age one feels. In need of a little modernization to bring it back to life. Rooms are very basic and some of the equipment i.e. showers, fans, electrics were faulty or didn't work properly. Lots of missing/broken tiles around the pool detracts from the overall demeanor of the place now. Still, quite good value. Also as one ages (only slightly!), it is quite a walk down to the beach and into the main part of the resort so may start to avoid in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank BigtenoFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

spent 2 weeks there with my friend - just sleeping and breakfast.
lot's of teens on our floor - noisy around 11-12 a.m.
rooms are clean, furniture is acceptable. not big bathroom but for 2 persons in OK.
Ocean could be seen but just small part of it.
10 minutes to the beach with black voulcanic sand and 15-20 min walk to the biggest beach on the resort.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 654mariaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Me and my boyfriend have just got back from a week in this hotel and couldn't really fault it. Food was excellent and there was always a good choice - deserts however were not great! Rooms were always clean and spacious with great views of the sea. The pool was great and we would like to make a special mention to the lifeguard who always managed to sort us out with sunbeds if we couldn't find any. The staff were always willing to help and even went to the extra effort of giving my partner a birthday card and bottle of champagne on his birthday :) -great touch! There were a few downfalls to the hotel. Wifi hardly ever worked in the hotel, the noise from the strip was a little noisy but nothing unbearable and finally the entertainment at night was really poor! Overall we both agreed that the hotel was fantastic and great value for money. Would definitely return :)

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bettyjean44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa de las Americas hotels
0.7 mi away
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
#26 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,143 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,139 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sol Tenerife
Sol Tenerife
#33 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Apartamentos Oro Blanco
Apartamentos Oro Blanco
#21 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
1,181 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ole Tropical
Hotel Ole Tropical
#15 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
1,420 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kn Columbus Aparthotel
Kn Columbus Aparthotel
#31 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Oro Negro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Oro Negro

Address: Arquitecto Gomez Cuesta 14, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#20 Romantic Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range: £63 - £240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Catalonia Oro Negro 3*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalonia Oro Negro is located 500 metres from the las Americas de Arona beach, in Tenerife, close to the local leisure centre and the "Las Americas" golf club. The hotel facilities cater to the most discriminating clients, both adult and children: swimming pool for adults, children's swimming pool, children's playground, large terrace, solarium with hammocks, hairdressers and beauty salon, table football, table tennis, private garden, pool bar, live shows in the bar, Daniel's bar, breakfast buffet restaurant and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Catalonia Oro Negro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Oro Negro Hotel Playa De Las Americas
Catalonia Oro Negro Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing