We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good stuff and bad stuff”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Gala

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Gala
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good stuff and bad stuff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

I would say that the hotel is average considering that it has 4 stars. As architecture and interiors is really ok, but our room did not deserve 4 stars. We had ants (not only 2 or 3), i found a hole in my sheet and some small holes in the curtains. The door from the bath had big transparent sripes, so you could see the person in the bathroom.
I liked that the personel is very friendly. The restaurant has very good food and very varied at the dinner (we only had breakfast and dinner). They have thematic food dinners, but they try to satisfy many nations. :) They serve french cuisine, british, italian, chinese, libanese and so on.
They also have shows and activities in every night. Some of them are boring and some are interesting, depending on your taste. They have shows for children, so it is great for families with kids.

Room Tip: Try to book rooms on the back side, because on the front side you will hear all the merry, drunky, l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dorina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    370
    594
    321
    120
    94
See reviews for
502
650
34
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leven, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Just came back yest. And half board with two kids 5 and 6 and we loved it..clean..very nice pools views from the pool top...spa was great....food was great chief was so helpful friendly...room at first was no views just a wall with flowers cracked step.....but dident matters because ur never in it...alot todo around and in hotel...the bad reviews id read wasent the case for us..maids do a fab job..some reception staff wasn't pleased when asked to get up and open luggage room..but that was one stuck up women the rest was plesant and helpful....dont be put off this is a top class hotel..and would say give it a try...u wont be disappointed...yes music played loud outside but stop at 12 every night we was their....but it is a holiday resort come on !!!

Room Tip: Rooms are clean and beds comfy...but ur only in room to sleep...loads todo and sit in hotel its self
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Annaelsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

I would recommend this hotel to anyone, it wasn't too loud, it's in a great location, staff are very friendly, although they didn't have our room ready in time, we were satisfactorily compensated with an upgrade from the simple bed and breakfast to half-board and full use of the spa. Facilities were good, and the food was very nice. It is close to the strip but the drunken atmosphere did not enter the hotel, we were still able to take nice late strolls with the only bother being the promoters but other than that I cannot fault the location.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
2 Thank RJ_112014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Just returned from staying at this hotel! The hotel is absolutly amazing, the staff at the restaurant and bar are really friendly. (hello to the boys there) We met a lot of people and we going back there in October. Everynight after dinner there was different shows each night and a disco later on. During the day there's a lot of activities going on and if you win any of it you will get an award before the show. The activities are: water polo, aqua gym, coctail game and lots more!!

The rooms are really good. You could chose if you want the cleaners each day. We always had new towels, sheets, shampos and shower gel provided.

The food was good! Breakfast was the same each day but you had lots to choose from. Cereal with hot/cold milk, lots of different bread and rolls and crosistans, eggs, baked beans, bacon, sosagues, fruits, tea, coffee, 5-6 different juices, salads, vegetables, and lots more.
Lunch and dinner was good too!! Different cultural food every day, for example mexican, spanish.

It's also perfect for families with kids, it has mini club two or three times a day, where they sing, dance, draw. Also a seperate swimingpool for the children.

There are two swimingpools one is up to 1.20 but I'm sure its was even 1.40. And the other one was 1.80. Plenty of free sun beds. You had to pay for the matteras but it's not essencial.

There's 6 floors, we were on the ground floor, and we didn't complain! we had garden, with chairs, and tables and sunbeds.

Overall you didn't had to leave the hotel to go to the ocean as the entertaintment was simply amazing.

Can't wait to go back!!

Room Tip: We were at the ground floor and we didn't hear anything, I assume everwhere at the hotel is good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank someonee19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skelmersdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Just spent 9 days at this hotel with my partner and step daughter from 22nd june 1st july 2014 very good hotel in a great location food absolutely fabulous rooms very clean and staff very pleasant would definitely stop here again and would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone very enjoyable stay tony turner skelmersdale

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Tony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Senlis
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Just returned from a week staying in this hotel, meeting some friends. To be honest, the hotel itself was pretty good and have no substantial complaints about the standard or the facilities. My room (aside from where it was) had everything I could have expected of it, and was kept spotlessly clean throughout my stay by the housekeeping staff. I stayed on a half board basis, and have to say the food was not bad at all. Breakfast had reasonable selection (cooked breakfast had the normal continental twist to it!) and the evening meals were varied night on night and were generally pretty good for a hotel buffet. The staff were on the whole helpful, but would not say over-friendly (with the distinct exception of the guy working the grill in the evening - always pleasant and friendly).
I only caught a bit of the evening entertainment after dinner, but have to say it seemed pretty good. The pool facilities were also pretty good, although spent little time there. If you want to use the gym and spa facilities downstairs, it will cost €15 per day to use unless you upgrade to a sea view room for a similar price. There were none available for me, and decided not to use the spa. Internet was slow, but there is a McDonald near the hotel with faster and free internet (or for the price of a coffee).

The biggest complaint for this hotel is unfortunately it's location, which short of moving the hotel is nothing that can be easily resolved. The hotel is more or less on the 'strip', which is awash with relentless noisy clubs, bars and lap dancing clubs. My room unfortunately was facing the two pubs across the road, playing loud music until around 0400. You are unable to walk down the street after 2000 without being constantly accosted by PRs pushing you to visit the places as above, as well as an army of guys that do not seem to understand you do not wish to buy sunglasses at night or a watch when you are already wearing one!! After midnight, the pushy prostitutes are out in force and unfortunately for my friend was pick pocketed by them for his phone. I was also awoken at 0500 one morning by a mass brawl with police intervention. The better beaches and restaurants for the daytime are located towards either Los Christianos or Costa Adeje.

In summary, not a bad hotel but beware the unsavoury occurrences outside the hotel at night. Might be worth considering getting non street facing room particularly if staying as a family. Sorry to grumble, but hope this might help....

Room Tip: Higher rooms, definitely not street facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Graham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel was stunning, rooms were left spotless after maids had been in daily. If I had any complaints it would be the fact that sun bed mattresses were not provided with the sunbed as you had to rent them. Also if you go bed and breakfast be prepared to eat out a lot as you are only provided with a small minibar and no cooking facilities. The breakfast selection is brilliant: a lot to choose from. We didn't have a sea view room therefore didn't get any sun on our balcony at any time of the day and we were worried about the noise from pubs across the street however I am a light sleeper and had no issues with this. The location of the hotel is around 15 minute walk from the main streets with restaurants and shops however there are restaurants/pubs located near hotel not as good. Very close to beach 5 minute walk. Overall everything we desired was within 15 mins radius and had a great time.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ChloeBM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa de las Americas hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Troya
Hotel Troya
#26 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,388 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ole Tropical
Hotel Ole Tropical
#16 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sol Tenerife
Sol Tenerife
#34 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Vanilla Garden Hotel
Vanilla Garden Hotel
#2 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,789 reviews
0.3 mi away
Catalonia Oro Negro
Catalonia Oro Negro
#19 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gala

Property: Hotel Gala
Address: Avda Arquitecto Gomez Cuesta, 3, 38650 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#21 Luxury Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#23 Family Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gala 4*
Number of rooms: 308
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Jet2Holidays , TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Gala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gala Tenerife Hotel
Hotel Gala Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas
Gala Hotel Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing