We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre Hotel in good location”
Review of Las Piramides

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Las Piramides
Reviewed 9 April 2014

The hotel and it's amenities is not much to write about, cold bare concrete building with inferior facilities, bathroom was flooded several days despite attempts to fix drains. Absolute minimum silverware, glasses, porcelain and cooking utensils in the kitchen, the exhaust was never really completely installed.

The best part about the hotel was the location which you really have to appreciate, walking distance to beach, restaurant and shopping.

All in all on an so-so experience, but don't think I'll return.

Room Tip: Think about the direction of the sun, seems that very few rooms had sunlight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MolterSan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,649 - 1,655 of 3,152 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2014

This hotel is the worst i have ever stayed!
We paid to stay All-inclusive, but there was little to no selection on the drinks! When i asked for Sangria (a traditional Spanish beverage) I was told i would have to pay extra for it! I asked for Banana Liquor and Honey rum (both local Tenerife drinks) - again i was told no we don't have those!
The only two cocktails that the bar staff knew how to make were 'Sex on the beach' & 'Tequila Sunrise' - both which tasted exactly the same! ....Awful!!!!
In the end we went to a local shop and purchased some bottles of Banana liquor and decanted it into spare water bottles!
The pool bar staff were miserable and unhelpful too! I asked for my empty water bottle to be topped up. The female member of staff told me to do it myself!.....then when i tried to lean across the bar to fill the water bottle the male member of staff shouted at me!!!!

The food was not much better either tbh! It was much the same every night.
The snack bar was diabolical! It was white bread ham sandwiches and sausage rolls the one day (none of which were covered i must add)

The towels were only changed twice per week and dirty towels were put back out again. When i asked for clean towel i was asked how i could have dirtied the towels so quickly!!!!????

The hotel is a good position for walking to Adeje and Los Christiano's though. And we met some great people also staying at the hotel.

But i would certainly not recommend this hotel to anyone and wont be returning!

Room Tip: I would ask for an upper floor (as one of the ground floors were broken into whilst i was there) Al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank suworcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

when we arrived everyone was very very freindly...and the hotel room was okay..had a lovley time..food was okay and staff was very friendly. a worker called SHADY HERNANDEZ was fantastic..a lovley gentleman helped us out in the hotel a lot..as young girls in the night we would always get taken to our hotel by the security guard. i think his name is JAMUDE NASSER..young lad very polite and very respectful..the most important thing about this hotel is the staff which were very incredible..thanks SHADY and JAMUDE...great lads .

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Halima B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Nice hotel for a cheap group holiday away. Stayed for a week, the room was quite big and was cleaned when we left the clean room sign up! Paid for a safety deposit box as I read the reviews about the break ins. Got a final written warning on the second night for no reason but the hotel is known for this as they over book an want to re sell rooms. Food was ok abit repeative! Drink wasn't watered down and good measures. Pool area did have a strong smell of sewage but only by the bar so didn't sit there. Good location for nights out on the strip. Just don't go on the mayhem bar crawl it's a rip off nothin is free like the reps say paid 50 euros for it an got no free drinks at all normally a big baldy fella an a little fella from Essex ways selling the tickets along the main strip!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sharneb90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Where to start the hotel is an utter disgrace on arrival we were dumped in what seemed like a block of prison cells, the apartment was dingy smelly and dismal. The kettle and the fridge did not work the toilet seat was broken the shower only trickled and the furniture and beds were hard and unclean all the sheets had holes.TV had to be paid for with hardly any english channels and the balcony led on to a pathway so you had to keep the curtains drawn for privacy and i advise locked as i had a bikini stolen from the balcony and toiletries stolen from the bathroom as no sign of a break in it has to be the cleaning or maintainence staff.
The hotel was noisy all day and night so if you need sleep do not bank on any when guests were quiet the cleaning staff took over with there shouting outside the room window.
Overall if your booked to go and can cancel i would i will never return or recommend it

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Deborah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I would discourage anyone from booking this hotel. We stayed all inclusive but ended up buying food and drinks elsewhere because the food was terrible and the queues for the bar in the evening for drinks in 7 up cups didn't help us feel as though we were on holiday.
On our final day we checked out at 12 and from nowhere appeared an extremely officious security guard demanding our wrist bands be returned. We were made to feel like criminals who were trying to steal food and drinks.
So many people had things stolen from their rooms whilst we were there we locked our cameras and phones in the safe and never used them all week. The man in the next room took an afternoon nap ( he had a few too many beers) and whilst he was asleep someone went in his room and robbed him!
I would never visit this hotel again and wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank helenpHereford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I’ve never stayed in a 1/2 star hotel but if I did I think it would be like this one.
Our rooms weren’t ready when we arrived at the hotel which was fine, so we got changed and left our bags in the luggage room which we were told was locked at all times. We then saw people wondering in and out and when we returned to pick up our bags it was unlocked – you have been warned!
We then ventured out to the pool area, settled for a couple of minutes then we were overwhelmed by the smell of what can only be described as cat poo coming from the drains in the pool… this was the area by the bar in the main pool so avoid sitting at this area if you can.
Somewhere along the line between the hen party and the hotel our rooms were allocated incorrectly. The organizer had asked the rooms all to be together, they were spread over 2 floors. We asked the receptionist whether we can reallocate the rooms and he was very rude about it telling us it’s not his problem there’s nothing he can do.

From the pictures on here you can see the rooms are completely basic – and not very clean. The beds were quite uncomfortable, lumpy, and the pillows had a big dip in them from where other people have spent years laying their heads. We had to track down a cleaner 10 minutes from being in the room to change a friends bed because there was body hair from the previous person. She said she had changed the beds but the washing company they use isn’t very good, she was brilliant, really apologetic and couldn’t have been friendlier. Another friends room had the ceiling falling down and she woke up to white specs of ceiling dust over her face which was hilarious but I guess also a safety issue?
Just to note – there is no air con in the rooms… no problem for March but in the summer I can imagine that would be quite uncomfortable. On the plus side, the shower was quite good – powerful and warm.. we never ran out of hot water.

We got a safe the first day as we read reviews about burglaries, it was 20 EUR for the 3 nights/4 days we were there and you got 15EUR back at the end which wasn’t bad at all. We didn’t have any burglaries but we did come back late one night and saw a local chap ‘lurking’ and it seemed as though he was going to follow up through the locked gates. We held back to let him pass us so he couldn’t follow us in and asked him if he was okay. He told us he was security and to keep on moving but he was dressed in completely plain clothes and we hadn’t seen security wondering any other night. We asked him what time breakfast started and finished and he couldn’t tell us and shortly after he walked (quickly) off.

Drinks & Food – Drinks ARE local so expect the syrupy sugary drinks if you are ordering sprits. The vodka and gin isn’t that bad but the snaps and malibu becomes sickly quite easily. As for the food, it wasn’t THAT bad like some of the other reviews say. It wasn’t great all the time but It was definitely edible and there was always something that was tasty and they had a wide variety. If all fails there is always fresh salad, chips and bread to keep you going. The staff in the restaurant were quite rude, a friend and I went out for a cigarette at about 9.30 when they were cleaning and closing, when we tried to return to our table they said that it was shut and we couldn’t come back in – even though our friends and bags were still inside we were refused entry!

It was a cheap weekend away with the girls for a messy hendoo so our expectations were not high to begin with, but I wouldn't recommend this hotel to stay in, there are plenty others around to choose from.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Josie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa de las Americas hotels
0.2 mi away
Kn Columbus Aparthotel
Kn Columbus Aparthotel
#30 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4,072 reviews
1.4 mi away
Laguna Park 2
Laguna Park 2
#51 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,142 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sol Tenerife
Sol Tenerife
#33 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Apartamentos Oro Blanco
Apartamentos Oro Blanco
#21 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
1,179 reviews
0.1 mi away
Catalonia Oro Negro
Catalonia Oro Negro
#18 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
2,378 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
#26 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Piramides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Piramides

Address: Avenida Americas S/N, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 59 Hotels in Playa de las Americas
Price Range: £58 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Las Piramides 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Las Piramides reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Piramides Hotel Playa De Las Americas
Las Piramides Playa De Americas
Las Piramides Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing