We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tigotan Lovers & Friends Playa de las Americas
Nearby Hotels
Mediterranean Palace Hotel(Playa de las Americas)
US$167
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Sir Anthony(Playa de las Americas)
US$335
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
H10 Las Palmeras(Playa de las Americas)
US$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gran Oasis Resort(Playa de las Americas)
US$188
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$173
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$199/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Cleopatra Palace Hotel(Playa de las Americas)
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palm Beach Tenerife(Playa de las Americas)
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Iberostar Las Dalias(Playa de las Americas)
US$240
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Apartamentos Oro Blanco(Playa de las Americas)(Great Value!)
US$64
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$60
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 42% below average rates

The price you found is 42% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$103/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Catalonia Oro Negro(Playa de las Americas)(Great Value!)
US$71
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$67
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$82/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

H10 Conquistador(Playa de las Americas)
US$202
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (896)
Filter reviews
896 results
Traveller rating
571
218
69
20
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
571
218
69
20
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsexclusive loungerooftop barinfinity poolromance roomsmart roomnudist areanoelia surhalf boardexclusive serviceguest experiencebali bedsbreakfast and dinneron arrivalamazing hotelstandard roomjacuzzi bathevery night
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 896 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After the rave reviews I was expecting something very special but that was far from the case.
The hotel itself is 'nice' but nothing special, when compared to others we've been to in Tenerife.
The service from most staff was extremely pleasant and helpful.
The rooms are an acceptable size and clean, although the drainage seems to be a bit of a problem, as the bathroom smelt less than 'sweet' and I had to call reception to get the sink to drain. A plumber was promptly on the scene who fixed the drainage but the less than pleasant smell remained.

The food is far from being anything outstanding in any respect. For the first 2 days, every part of the 'cooked' breakfast was stone cold and mostly overcooked. Although there was a range of cooked options, the only options that were acceptable, were the freshly cooked ones and even those were hit and miss. The 'Chef's' were cooking ahead of demand and as a consequence, if you timed it badly the 'freshly' cooked options, were badly overcooked, as they'd been sat on the hot plate too long.
Where the hotel did excel more often than not, was in the fruit, fruit juice and smoothie department but even those weren't 100% consistently good.

When it came to evening meals, it was much the same as breakfast and what made it even worse, was the tinned rather than fresh veg. The readily available (pre-cooked) options weren't particularly appealing and most of the freshly cooked meats, were again hit and miss with regards to how they were cooked, because of the way they were being cooked in advance of demand.
If you timed it right and prevented the Chef from cooking it to 'his' liking, you would get a nicely cooked piece of meat but get it wrong and you ended up with a heavily blackened, dried out piece of meat that you wouldn't eat much of.
Once again the fresh fruit selection was the best part of the range of food.
There was a range of fish dishes and options to suit other nationalities but they didn't take my fancy.

On the third day, the Manageress came round diners asking for comments, which was perfect timing, as I was really unhappy by then. She seemed to take most of what I said onboard and the following day, either by luck or her intervention, all the cooked breakfast options were very hot and the bacon was the best I'd ever tested, as it virtually melted in my mouth.

There's no doubt that if you are lucky or you time your selection optimally, that you could get decent meals at this hotel but they would not be what I'd consider the best I've eaten and it shouldn't be a matter of pot luck.

Despite the Manageresses intervention, the cooking of the meat for the evening meals remained a hit and miss affair and to make most meal worse, there was no gravy available or there was just one 'sauce' that only really suited one type of meat, so the meat was dry.

There was the odd night when most things were good but again, it should not be a matter of luck, whether the meal you choose is cooked correctly or not.

If I was rating the hotel on food alone I've give it 3 but because the service was so good and the staff so helpful, I'm giving it 4.

Other points of interest are;
1) There is free WiFi in every room (contrary to the impression given on their website)
2) They make an additional charge for the use of the same, which I object to on principle
3) They offer a shower room if you book out long before your flight is due
4) It's not the most disabled friendly hotel that I've been in but there were people using wheelchairs and scooters who were staying there
5) The hotel is near the peak of a 'hill' so whichever way you go from it, it's a downhill walk and obviously an uphill walk to get back.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Trevor L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalidadDreamplace, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tigotan Lovers & Friends Playa de las Americas, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear Trevor L,

Thank you for spending your valuable time writing your detailed review about your recent stay at Tigotan here on TripAdvisor. We would like to let you know that your feedback is of great value for us, since our main goal is to meet all our guests' wishes and expectations. We are of the opinion that interacting with our clients and listening to them is the best way to improve our services and facilities.

As you pointed out, our lovely hotel is located in Playa de Las Américas with some very nice shops and bars nearby, and we appreciate the fact that you liked the location. Even the beach is not far away and can be reached within 5-10 minutes walking.

Your comment about our staff makes us extremely happy as they all do their absolute best each day for our guests to leave without wishes, so it is a real pleasure to read that you founfd them helpful and friendly.

In the entire hotel, including the pool areas and the restaurant, we offer free Wifi for all the guests, for surfing in the internet, sharing their photos and videos on social networks with families and friends or for being connected to work. Additionally to all our facilities, we have a good access for disabled people, going from special prepared rooms, access to the swimming pool and reserved sunbeds and Bali beds.

During the day and dining time, our managers make sure that everything is to our clients’ satisfaction. However, we feel sorry to read that the breakfast was not idle four you. Our cooks do their very best to satisfy the different tastes of the clients, this is why we enjoy a huge range of flavours and plates, to reach the preferences of all nationalities. On the show cooking stations you can always order the fish or meat cooked to your taste, so please, on future stays, do not hesitate to ask them for a piece of meat cooked to your exact preference.

Finally, yet importantly, we hope that you will give us a second chance to meet your expectations and provide you with a faultless holiday at our Tigotan.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Me and my partner have been to las Américas twice a year for the last 3 years and this is by far the best hotel we have stayed in. Very clean ,great food,friendly staff. Pools are very clean and it’s a credit to the staff how well it is kept. Never a problem getting a sun bed even if it’s after lunch. Highly recommend and we will deffo be back.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank samasbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalidadDreamplace, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tigotan Lovers & Friends Playa de las Americas, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear samasbury,

First of all, we would like to thank you for having spent your valuable time on publishing your impressions about our Tigotan on TripAdvisor.

It is wonderful to know that you rated our hotel as one of the best in Tenerife. We feel proud of having fulfilled your wishes and could convince you with our excellent services!

The staff is always friendly and attentive to the clients’ issues. The cleaning staff is doing their very best, not only in tiding up the rooms, but also in caring for the common areas of the hotel.

Lastly, it is great to know that you would recommend our hotel and that you will come back. We are looking forward to seeing you very soon at our Tigotan to provide you with another perfect stay.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We have just come home from tigotan ,our first holiday without the children we usually goto Turkey all inclusive .The difference with this hotel is the level of service and friendly staff ,the food quality is unreal and the beds our the most comfy we have ever slept in .thankyou for an amazing time

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank markbryan33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalidadDreamplace, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tigotan Lovers & Friends Playa de las Americas, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear markbryan33,

First of all, we would like to thank you for having spent your valuable time on publishing your impressions about our Tigotan on TripAdvisor.

Our staff is very delighted about your lovely words, especially the kitchen and restaurant personnel, because they place great value on preparing tasty and healthy dishes.

Lastly, we hope that this was just one of many stays at our beautiful Tigotan. We are looking forward for giving you very soon a further warm receiving.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The food was excellent and the hotel was very smart would definitely go again. The rooftop bar infinity pool and Jacuzzi was spectacular and spotless and the hotel was well situated away from the noise of the centre it went quiet at 12

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalidadDreamplace, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tigotan Lovers & Friends Playa de las Americas, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Kevin W,

First of all, let us state that we truly appreciate your wonderful comment about Tigotan on the TripAdvisor website.

We want to thank you as well for highlighting the convenient location of our hotel, placed in Las Américas area within a short walk to the beach and promenade, but also very close to few shopping areas and boulevards but, as you said, away from noisy streets to guarantee a relaxing holiday to our guests.

It would be a pleasure to have the chance to welcome you back to our Tigotan in your visit to Tenerife.

Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very nice Hotel
Gardens and swimming pool are lovely
Food good
Comfortable rooms most with good views
With Tigotan badge even better
In a good position for local bars and restaurants
Staff very friendly and helpful

Stayed: June 2017
Thank Geofftheref2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalidadDreamplace, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tigotan Lovers & Friends Playa de las Americas, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Geofftheref2,

Firstly, we want to thank you very much for choosing Tigotan as your holiday destination and, of course, for sharing your great experience and impressions on TripAdvisor.

Our entire team is very pleased about your lovely words. The staff places great value on the wellbeing of our guests and due to those words they feel rewarded. The hotel is well located, so that you can reach in some minutes the beach, shopping boulevards and bars.

All in all, we would be very glad to provide you very soon with another fabulous holiday in our brand new Tigotan.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews