We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Compostela Beach Golf Club
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Just returned from a fort nights holiday in the Compostella Beach Golf. We had a fantastic time with friends. We were self catering so cannot comment on the food in the Restruant . Snacks were good. We ate out in the numerous bars , pubs and Restaurants close to the hotel.
The pool area is spacious with plenty of sun beds but you need to be early to get your spot.
Day time and night time entertainment available with kids club.
Recommended to families and couples. Nightlife in Las Americas is only a short walk from the hotel. New shopping centre due to open across the road from the complex with a large supermarket on site.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel overlook the golf course with sun in the morning .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,314)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

511 - 517 of 1,314 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed here from 24th-2nd of July with my husband 27 year old his 24 year old partner 17 year old daughter and 14 year old son, in a double room and a single room.

ROOMS
Rooms are kept nice and clean, cleaned everyday apart from Wednesday and Sunday, also had swept and mopped floors, clean bathroom and new towels. In the double room, there was a kitchenette, bathroom, living area, double bedroom and balcony and then a flight of stairs took you to another bedroom with two beds with small living area and another bathroom. There was also two sofa beds. The showers were great, hot and powerful, and the beds were quite comfortable, however the fans weren't the best so it did get quite hot, so we rented a fan. On one of the nights we had a problem with some cockroaches, but when we told the hotel they had someone come and use cockroach killer to get rid of them all and we didn't see anymore from that point on. The single room had kitchenette, bathroom, double bedroom, living room, balcony and two sofa beds and again was clean and spacious. There is no hairdryer and it is 10 euro deposit and 6 euro for the week so make sure you take a hairdryer if you don't want to pay. Overall the rooms were great.

POOL AND DINING AREA
The pool area was smaller than it looked on the pictures and the pool was quite shallow and small, however was clean. The sunbeds aren't put out till 8.30 and people reserve spaces by putting a towel down. There is also a lack of sun loungers, however this is being fixed. The dining area is also quite small and cramped as is the stage area, but it was fine.

FOOD
Food was repetitive, but nice. They serve fish and chips every night with some form of pasta dish and a different meat every night. It was always cooked well and was hot, but there is more choice with self catering. Breakfast there is a choice of continental or English and is again nice and warm. The bread rolls are a little hard so putting them in the microwave for 30 seconds is recommended to keep them soft.

STAFF
The staff work very hard, especially Sylvia and Curtis from the front desk. Sylvia even rang a nearby hotel to ask if my son and daughter could use the gym and at what price. They couldn't do enough for you. David on animation works very hard as the only entertainer with pool games and entertainment at night in which he works very hard. Most of the waiting staff are very nice, especially the blonde lady who, rather than leaving people to queue in the heat for a drink will leave a selection on the bar for kids to take. They also clean up plates very quickly, however, we did find the tall waiter with the glasses to be quite rude to guests and when we asked for an extra chair he replied with 'Oh for gods sakes I'll be back with it in a minute bloody hell' which was very rude, but overall they were very nice.

About a fifteen minute walk from the beach and shops and about 10 minutes from Siam park, so is in an ideal location, we would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank kirky1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Have returned from a family holiday about two weeks ago. We had a great time and made some amazing new friends. The hotel is lovely, clean and spacious. The staff are very friendly.The food wasn't the best but our five year old son still managed to eat at every meal and enjoy what he had eaten so not that bad. Beer and spirits are ok too. I must Just say a big thank you to David the entertainer who was absolutely amazing. The entertainment that he provides gets all ages involved. he was tireless and always found time in his very long days to make everyone very welcome and get everyone involved. I must say he made the holiday one to remember. Our son's Jack and Lewis Really got involved every day and night in all the activities. Had some great laughs. I would definitely recommend this hotel as a great place to stay and relax

Room Tip: Try and steer clear of rooms around restaurant area noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coral-Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Compostela Beach Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Dear Andy,

We would like to thank you for your review and for having spent your holidays with us. I am glad that you had a good time and so did your both children. Certainly, for a family holiday it´s most important that children enjoy themselves and have a good time. Your thanks will of course be given to David and he and we all are pleased that we have been able to make your holiday a pleasant and enjoyable experience. We all hope to see you all again and thank you from our side for your confidence.
José María Galarza
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed hear for two weeks with friends and our two young boys. Rooms was very clean and updated. The pool was a nightmare kids not allowed floats in or balls. We stayed self catering and found the food outside of hotel very nice surfers bar for food was excellent. And frankies bar for entertainment at night. The hotel was very nice but for the price we paid we would have expected more. I would stay again but not with children. Tenerife is a fab place and so cheap. We will visit a again but different hotel. Waring to people booking with Thomas cook the kids club in this hotel is not run by them so English kids don't have any fun. My kids didn't meet any friends which is very strange for us. Happy holiday people

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank missladyfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coral-Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Compostela Beach Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for your your review and for staying with us. I am glad to read that the room and cleanliness were up to your expectation, however, there seemed to have been some issues with the kids, which were not to your liking. Indeed, it´s true that children are not allowed in the adult pools with floats and balls, due to security reasons. We regret that your children did not enjoy the hotel´s children facilities and did not make friends, because we have a large playground, sand corner, children pool and kids play room with plenty of toys, games etc. Children entertainers speak also English and look after kids of all nationalities. Therefore, I understand that there shouldn´t have been any reasons for the kids not to enjoy themselves. I regret very much that they did not have fun, because it is our aim to provide a great stay to all our guests, especially to the kids.
​Gloria de la Roza
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

The rooms are excellent,huge & very clean,but what really lets the hotel down is the food,breakfast good except toaster doesn't work properly,lunch & evening meals terrible,the ice cream ran out so went 3 days workout something I had paid for in my all inclusive & not offered an alternative,kids club needs improving although David did his best but worked solo,reception have out different pieces of info all which was wrong!! Would go back to Tenerife but not to this hotel!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lols29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coral-Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Compostela Beach Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your review and for having spent your holiday with us. As we appreciate, you liked the rooms, but apparently you were not quite happy with our food offer. Just allow us to clarify that the issue with the ice cream was due to the fact that our usual supplier went on strike. But our colleagues from our sister hotel helped us out and as far as I know there was always ice cream available for our guests during the whole strike period. About the food in general, we are aware that not all dishes are always to the liking of all of our guests. It´s more, we have to adapt the buffet to the different nationalities of the costumers staying with us. We have been quite well booked during the current season and according to most of the questionnaires received from our guests, the satisfaction scores of what food choice and quality are concerned are quite good. We are sorry that this has not been the case with you. Further, we also would like to point out that we do not offer a kids´club nor do we feature one in our descriptions. We have a play ground and our entertainer is looking after the kids and again according to our costumers, he is doing a real great job. We regret once more that you holiday has not been entirely up to your satisfaction.
José María Galarza
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

We arrived at 2.30 am very tired to be told there was no food or drink available so we just had to wait til breakfast time
Breakfast, I have to say is the best meal of the day with the usual bacon, eggs, pancakes and bread but fill your boots at breakfast because after that because all you get is chips, chips, chips oh and more chips.... with battered squid which looks like onion rings and fish fingers and chicken nuggets. Even the kids were fed up with the food and we went out for 3 of the evenings... couldn't afford to do every night unfortunately.
However ...the staff were lovely. Manuel does a fantastic special sangria in a jug.. so make sure you try that!.
The hotel is very clean. The rooms are massive and you have everything you need there. The only few things with the room was. It was soooo hot and muggy and it was hard to sleep. Beds were very uncomfortable but that doesn't mean it isn't perfect for someone else.
No air conditioning made us sleep in the day more as we didn't sleep at night... so we didn't really go far. We did go to siam park!! Wondeful day. Bit expensive but well worth it.
Last day of our holiday we were expected to be out our room at 12 noon and have our wrist bands cut off which was upsetting cos we we're not being picked up til 11 pm and not flying til 3 am.
We had to see the manager to explain our situation .we had no money left with 3 children and no drink or food for nearly 24 hrs was unacceptable. .he agreed to let us stay on all inclusive.. but as we explained we didn't arrive til 2 am on 23/7 we felt that we should at least be allowed 7 days drinks and food!
To sum it up...we wouldn't go again..feel it's a 2 star hotel. Shame cos with a few tweaks it could be great!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Andyandjennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coral-Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Compostela Beach Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear guests
We would like to thank you for your review and for having staid with us. We regret that apparently you were not quiete happy with some of the aspects of your holiday. Just let me clarify some of the issues: obviously at 2.30 am no Hotel restaurants or bar are providing food at this time. We also regret very much that you did not like lunch and dinner buffets. Obviously chips are included the same a squid, fish fingers and chicken nuggets, because these are very popular dishes for kids and very demanding. Beside of these dishes, our buffets offer another large variety of food. Indeed, these`past days it has been quite hot and we regret that you haven´t been able to get much sleep. Anyhow, there at our reception guests can rent fans at the reasonable price. We also want to point out that in none of the descriptions air conditioning is featured. Once again we regret that your stay with us was not to your entire liking, although, certainly myself and all my team are doing our utmost to make our guests stay as pleasant as possible.
​Jose María Galarza
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

After reading the bad reviews I was certainly nervous, the coach drove past a deserted area with graffiti, but that was towards the roads and mountains, the hotel itself was nice and had everything you needed, we upgraded to all inclusive when we arrived, which was 27 euros (£21)for adults (over 12's) per day Kids were half price, this included set buffets for breakfast 8-10.30am, lunch 12.30-2.30pm and evening meal 6.30-9pm, all local alcoholic drinks ( & discounted branded drinks too) and soft drinks, as well as the 3 meals there was also 2 separate snack times late morning and late afternoon, which was just chips and nuggets, fish fingers, salad, meats, but the main choice of food was really nice, so those saying it wasn't must be fussy eaters, there was always a choice of salad, pasta dishes, rice, potatoes, fish, meat and vegetables so you could end up with a bit of a concoction on your plate, but what else is a kitchen suppose to do when catering in mass ! and of course there's chips for those who are fussy eaters! there's light daytime entertainment such as aqua fit in the morning and volley ball in the pool which was always for young kids and adults together, there's also a small playground, pool table and football table outside next to a small games room, in the evenings usually bingo and music quizzes and the usual reptile and parrot shows come in too, the main Spanish entertainer David sorts all this himself and does a great job, the sunbeds do all get taken so you do have to get them first thing, but that's usually the case at most hotels, there's a range of English, German and Dutch which again is quite general and everyone gets along as the entertainer involves everyone. The cleaners do a fab job everyday and also the bar staff and kitchen staff are brilliant and friendly. The hotel has a small shop but bigger supermarkets are close by, within 5 mins, either towards las Americas or Cristianos, the walk down to the beach is about 15 mins, those saying it was in the middle of nowhere mustn't have gone further than the end of the road as there's loads of bars and restaurants within a 5 min walk. We had room 142, which is one of the best, a ground floor 2 bed facing the pool and had the sun all day so if you can request this then I would, the rooms at the front and pool side do get the sun all day but others don't, however the main seating area is nice and sunny all day and early evening so you can always sit there. You can book All inclusive for a few days and then eat out a few days if you prefer which is what we did. Don't be put off by the bad reviews and do book here, we will definitely be returning and would recommend it. We were with 2 teenagers and they made lots of friends, there was also lots of young kids too and couples, so this hotel is good for anyone. Overall a nice cosy hotel with a lovely atmosphere within easy reach of everything in Tenerife.

Room Tip: Room 142 was the best room, ask for a sunny balcony if that's what you want, or you can always s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coral-Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Compostela Beach Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Sam,

Your detailed and interesting review is greatly appreciated. Thank you! It certainly will be of help for many travellers. It´s great that you and your family enjoyed staying with us and that our facilities and services did meet your approval. Yes, my team is doing a great job, because we all work towards one main aim, which is, to make our guests´holiday as pleasant as possible. Certainly, when we get this kind of reviews, we are most satisfied, as this means that we have been able to provide an enjoyable holiday to our guests. We agree with you when are saying that the property is not too big. This allows us to create a somehow familiar atmosphere. Once again thank you for your confidence and for spending your holiday with us and please feel free to come back to stay with us again whenever you return to Tenerife.
José María Galarza
Hotel Manager ​

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de las Americas
0.5 mi away
Apartamentos Oro Blanco
Apartamentos Oro Blanco
#21 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
1,154 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel-Apartamentos Andorra
Hotel-Apartamentos Andorra
#18 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
763 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Mandi Golf Resort
Villa Mandi Golf Resort
#6 of 13 in Los Cristianos
990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sol Tenerife
Sol Tenerife
#33 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,688 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
#26 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,092 reviews
1.7 mi away
Laguna Park 2
Laguna Park 2
#51 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Compostela Beach Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Compostela Beach Golf Club

Address: Calle Arenales, 16, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range: £61 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Compostela Beach Golf Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Compostela Beach Golf Club is a complex of low rise apartments situated on the northern perimeter of the Las Americas Golf Course. Within a short distance from the complex a variety of restaurants, shops, supermarkets can be found as well as the Club House of the Golf Course. The Las Vistas Beach is only 800 m away. Without doubt the complex is perfect for golf lovers, families or any clients wishing to spend their holidays in a tranquil and familiar environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Compostela Beach Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Compostela Beach Golf Club Hotel Playa De Las Americas
Compostela Beach Hotel Ii
Compostela Beach Golf Club Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing