We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice if you don't mind a walk into town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Marylanza Suites & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Last day here. Accomm good with spacious rooms. Very clean. Food was good standard throughout the week . If you are obsessed with your gadgets you will be disappointed to find wifi ONLY at reception - none in rooms or around pool. Hotel itself is slightly off the beaten path, a good 15 min walk to the beach all downhill. We always got a taxi back costs about 5 euros . Lots of families and kids which doesn't bother me - and you can choose a lounger away from the busy areas if it does!!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LOLS171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,779)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,223 - 1,229 of 2,779 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2014

The Marylanza is a marvellous hotel situated in a relatively quiet location but within easy walking distance of both Los Cristianos and Playas de las Americas.

We knew that this was not an adults only hotel but we thought that with travelling outside of the school holidays we would not encounter too many children - how wrong we were ! They were everywhere and even though we adjourned to the larger unheated swimming pool which incidentally was absolutely freezing and impossible to swim in, the children still impacted heavily on each and every mealtime with so many of them running amok and unchecked by parents or staff and it was the final straw to see children poking their fingers into the cakes and sweets and in one particular case when there was this fabulous hot chocolate fountain in the dining room, one child accompanied by their mother, dipped their marshmallow in the chocolate, bit a piece off and then dipped the remainder saliva covered piece of marshmallow back into the chocolate fountain – yuk !

Although they had their own entertainment in the evenings, many children remained throughout the entire evening until completion of the adult’s entertainment and subsequently it was spoilt for us because of this. The holiday was not cheap and we felt that it catered solely for families and therefore they were the main priority but we were were entitled to an enjoyable stay too !

We requested a room overlooking the golf course and were more than prepared to pay the additional supplement that these rooms incur, but were advised that these rooms at this particular time of the year were block booked by the Scandinavian tour operators. As you can imagine we were not amused to find out whilst there that this was not in fact the case as we spoke to some British holidaymakers that had been allocated these rooms and had not even had to pay the additional supplement !

We were allocated a ground floor suite that led out onto to the “warm” pool which was quiet enough late at night but during the day the noise from 40+ children and parents in the “warm” pool was enough to drive us almost mad which was the main reason for adjourning to the larger, unheated pool at the end of the complex but at times the children manage to even infiltrate that. Plus we had a family with two small children above us that ran up and down the length of the suite continuously as early as six o’clock in the morning – fortunately we are early birds but we are sure that on hearing what sounded like a herd of elephants above would daunt those expecting a lie in !

The suite itself was lovely and well equipped. It was great to have a separate bedroom to the lounge and kitchen area. The TV was disappointing – the only British channel was the Stock Market (and the reason for this was ...???). Of course we do not go on holiday to watch TV but it would have been nice to catch up on the news not only in the UK but around the world too. Our Northern European cousins had TV channels in their language as indeed did the Russians and Spanish so why didn’t we ? The room was cleaned every day – we didn’t request a towel change every day as we thought this was not necessary. However, the towels were a little threadbare to say the least and some were rock hard and stained which was disappointing. We have ripped up better quality towels for rags at home !

The staff were absolutely wonderful and a real credit to the hotel. They were very friendly, always smiling and nothing was too much trouble for them. The food was of an exceptional standard and there was a huge variety to choose from. We preferred to eat in the dining room as the pool bar, although convenient, did not offer the variety and being outside it did attract a lot of flies and pigeons which obviously cannot be avoided.

Talking of the pool areas – these were kept absolutely spotless as indeed were all the communal areas. At times the sunbeds were uncomfortably close to each other and even thought the management clearly advised holidaymakers that sunbeds could not be reserved, they were. We saw the usual - towels going down on the beds before breakfast and on-one making an appearance until after lunch. It wasn’t a problem when we were there but can imagine it would be during the three main holiday seasons when every sunbed is required.

The bar was situated in the main foyer opposite the reception desk which gave it an odd feeling of being in a transport waiting area, with the doors opening and closing all the time with people going in and out wafting in tobacco smoke by those standing immediately in front of the automatic doors. Consequently there was zero atmosphere and at times there were simply not enough chairs to go around. The main entertainment room was only available on function nights which is a shame as it was an ideal space with plenty of room for everyone .

Wi-fi was patchy and painfully slow and we could only access it in the main foyer area which again contributed to the shortage of chairs at times !

There were just so many positives to this hotel but the one major drawback for us was the amount of children that were there and the fact that our holiday was somewhat spoilt because of this. For that one reason alone we would not return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beekeeper29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarylanzaSuites, Director General at Marylanza Suites & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Since we are not an adult-only hotel and children are allowed we cannot control how many are booked in. We have 217 units and they can accommodate up to 2 adults and 2 children, so just just figure out. OMG, you better don’t…

During the whole winter season all our golf-view rooms may be booked by certain tour-operators within their allotments, it is therefore beyond our control whether we will have some, one or none of these rooms available on a specific date. Thus, we do not give the possibility to upgrade (not even with a supplement) to any guest having booked a standard suite. We then handle this as a request, subject to availability. These customers were not misinformed, the British holidaymakers they talked to were lucky enough as to arrive on a day when a golf-view room was available. These particular clients were not unlucky either, they were upgraded to a pool-view also for free, even though they also incur a charge. We are nice, aren’t we?

We are about to find a solution to the lack of British channels, in the meantime you may use the stock exchange channel to speed up the process of falling asleep, thus ensuring a longer and better rest for a true recovering holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Had a great 11 night stay here during March/April 2014. We had heard it was popular and whilst we were looking for a 7 nighter we managed to get 11 nights for less cost through Thomson at Carlisle. I couldn't match that on the internet so booked it on the spot. What a great deal. The hotel was much better than expected and it had been recommended highly, the food being a highlight but the staff from top to bottom were magnificent, friendly, caring and professional throughout. A gem of a place, nicely off the tourist track but within easy walking distance if you want that sort of night life. Would definately go back.

Room Tip: All rooms are suites. All are as good as each other and top quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

This is a lovely hotel - fantastic staff, great food, beautiful room (one we had was outstanding). Only thing that didn't suit us was there was so many young children who seemed to scream and cry whole time we were there! Don't get me wrong I love to see kids enjoying themselves but also love to see responsible parents keeping their kids in check - mmmm wasn't quite the case when we were there. However this does not distract from fact that this is a lovely hotel - the staff are one of the best I have ever experienced and there have been many. I probably wouldn't return unless they make it adult only or designate some adult only areas within hotel! Would like to thank staff for excellent customer service they were first class.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnonymousTyneandWear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We booked Marylanza through a Swedish travel agency called Fritidsresor and stayed there for 14 nights with our 3 kids. The overall experience of the hotel was great - although there were many minor flaws one can remark with. So, here are the pros and kons:

- Location - good and quiet location, altough a 10 min walk to the main shopping and restaurant street, 12 min walk to the sea.
+ If you like golf, the hotel is just upon the golf coarse!
- The pool(s) was cold! -non heated, which prevented me from even dipping my toes in the pool(s)
- There were small ants that attacked all food (except for in the fridge!)
+ Spacoius rooms with many beds, although uncomfortable pillows and hard mattrasses.
- Really unstable Wifi connection by the pool. A bit better in the Reception area, but still slow according to Western standards.
- Unfriendly and slow bar staff. High prices on bad coffee and ice cream.
+ Great cleaning (except for on Tuesdays and Sundays, when there is no cleaning)
+ Fantastic Spa that costs €15 per person per 2h session
+ Great Gym for a low cost
+ Good breakfast (did not try it myself, but my parents did)
+ Nice. big and clean pool area - easy to get a lot of sun beds
- Bad capacity fridge/freezerSpacious

Close to supermarket Mercadona + golf resort + bus central
7-10 minutes walk to main shopping and dining street + beach walk + kids play park

Room Tip: Contact the hotel beforehand to ask for a hotel room overlooking the golf coarse or pool area (as op...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Amazing food , great resort with friendly staff. Only thing with would be of help would be a welcome pack of information on what resort has to offer, apart from that book yourself a holiday there won't be disappointed. Travelled with 9 month old two 18yrs olds and four mid 30s!! Enjoy

Room Tip: Lovely room e 108 e 109 e 107
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Zoe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We have enjoyed a lovely 10 nights stay at this hotel. The staff are the most friendly, efficient and professional we have ever experienced. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble for any of them and their smiles and good humour never wavered. The rooms are very spacious, we requested a quiet room on an upper floor and this is exactly what we were allocated. I agree the room was a little jaded but spotlessly clean as indeed the hotel is throughout, inclyding the pool area which is hosed daily. The food was good an varied. We were a little daunted when we saw all the sunbeds lined up cheek by jowl regimental style but we always found sufficient area to move and create our own space, however, this would have been difficult if the hotel was full. Sun umberella's were plentiful. It is approximately at 10 minute walk into Los Christianos and the walk along the coast to Costa Adeje and beyond is very enjoyable.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sussex14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa de las Americas hotels
0.7 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,136 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
#26 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,139 reviews
0.3 mi away
Green Garden Resort & Suites
Green Garden Resort & Suites
#9 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
1,822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
HD Parque Cristobal Tenerife
HD Parque Cristobal Tenerife
#2 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
1,702 reviews
0.6 mi away
Apartamentos Caribe
Apartamentos Caribe
#35 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
579 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tigotan Lovers & Friends Playa de las Americas
Tigotan Lovers & Friends Playa d...
#6 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marylanza Suites & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marylanza Suites & Spa

Address: Los Arenales 20, 38650 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#6 Romantic Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#8 Family Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#9 Luxury Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range: £77 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marylanza Suites & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Alpha Holidays Limited, LoveHolidays, getaroom.com, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Marylanza Suites & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marylanza Hotel Playa De Las Americas
Marylanza Suites And Spa
Marylanza Resort
Marylanza Hotel Tenerife
Marylanza Tenerife
Marylanza Golf Resort Tenerife
Marylanza Suites & Spa Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing