We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cafe” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Colon II Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Colon II Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Tredegar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Great cafe , had very bad sun burn after using factor 50 ,lady serving told me to put yoghurt on ,it worked a treat .
Went there most days after a walk ,very clean wifi inside cafe.
Very friendly staff

Room Tip: We did not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elizabeth l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    347
    217
    66
    18
    8
See reviews for
169
372
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Just returned back from our first visit here and we were astonished at the attention to detail of the daily cleaning and the impecable appearance of absolutely everywhere.
Whilst we all expect to have cleaning standards as high as here its very rare that our expectations are lived up to so Colon 2 is every bit as good as its own (and everybody elses) word. The staff are super friendly and always have a smile without going over the top and being over friendly to the point of always there when you turn around, they just let you get on with your holiday the way that you want to live it, whether that be by the pool, in the cafe/brasserie or at the pool bar.
The location is excellent, we booked here intentionally because its close enough to all of the action without being in the thick of it. Countless pubs, bars, restaurants and clubs are all a matter of a few minutes walk away in either direction of the hotel.
The on-site restaurant Mama Rose was closed whilst we were there but we took a 5-10 minute stroll around the corner to the 2nd of the two restaurants who are affiliated with the hotel; Michelangelo's offers a discount for patrons of the hotel and there was no concerns either way with the food or drink from the restaurant, it was a welcome break to the glitz and glamour and lights and hustle of everywhere else.
One point that I must point out are the rock hard beds. I'm not going to mark the hotel down or hold it against them for these as its just a matter of personal taste. I understand that its a classic 'one size fits all' situation where some people are going to love them and other hate them, sadly I hated them and didn't sleep for more than 2-3 hours at a time all week so be prepared if like me you dislike rock hard beds.
Although the quantity of sunbeds around the pool can easily accomodate everyone there is the classic bug bare of reserving sunbeds at precisely 9.00AM every morning. The hotel does have signs up stating that it is forbiden but nobody paid any attention to them. The same goes for the parasol's too. When we first arrived we played by the rules and only 'claimed' sunbeds and parasols at the time we went out to use them but this left us either in a rubbish spot around the pool or litterally burning in the midday sun whilst a number of parasol's and sunbeds which had been reserved were left unused. Seeing that things weren't going to change we resigned ourselves to the "if you cant beat 'em, join 'em" motto and from that day onwards we had no further problems so take a tip from us, PLAY DIRTY; reserve sunbeds, get a parasol, get a table, get whatever you want because if you dont, there'll be someone right behind you that will !!
We were fortunate enough to be in an appartment with a pool view so we could see exactly who the culprets were and on one such day 5 sunbeds and 2 parasols were reserved at 9AM and were not used until 3.30.
As a final point I want to point out that both my wife and I are young, fit and able bodied but were appointed an appartment on the ground floor without any physical access problems yet we witnessed numerous people who were either on mobility scooters or who struggled with stairs/walking who were appointed appartments on the 1st, 2nd and 3rd floors......very confussed by this allocation to say the least.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Katie_wayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from our week holiday here and all I can say is perfect. This is our 2nd visit and won't be our last.Perfect location absolutely spotless rooms,lovely pool area lovely staff the list goes on.very close to all bars the. beach shops etc if you are thinking of going to Tenerife stay here!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank maddieloz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Stayed here 2 to 9 May 2014, what a really nice place, very friendly staff, spotlessly clean, lovely room, brilliant pool area, had no issues getting a sunbed regardless of the time of day. The apartments are in an excellent location and I can't wait to go back. The restaurant and pub on site was closed when we went but there are so many places to drink and eat it didn't bother us. If I were to give one bit of criticism for the Colon 2 it would be the beds were a little uncomfy.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo-Joxwakey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Well we got there pretty late, got through check in pretty quick and the family that run it are very helpful. It's a very mixed aged group that stay there. The wee restaurant beside it can't remember the name, it's okay and you get a wee discount for staying there. Rooms are always cleaned and the maids go that little but extra to clean the room as well

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank William N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Me and my boyfriend stayed here in June last year and we absolutely loved it and am currently looking at going back here this year! we loved the pool as it was a nice size to sit around and socialise with new people. The bars have a lovely selection of cocktails that you can take by the pool. I would definitely recommend this hotel as the location is perfect. As soon as you walk outside the hotel you are on the strip and there is so much you can do, so many resterants, bars, shows and the beach is literally a five minute walk infront. Cannot wait to go back here!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michaela J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

This was our first time staying at the Colon II apartments and liked it so much we've booked again for March 15. Everything that previous reviewers have said about the cleanliness of the place is absolutely true. Spotless with a capital S.
We found it amusing to stand on the balcony of a morning and watch the stampede for sunbeds. People held back by ropes whilst the staff completed their very thorough wiping and mopping of the pool, beds and brollies. We never went to the pool until the afternoon and always found somewhere to toast. The pool bar was excellent offering some welcome shade if required. Good prices too.
The reception staff were attentive and very helpful. If there was one thing that gave me some concern, it was the black shiny floor in the reception. It looked like black ice, very scary.
We slept well every night, not hearing a thing once the lights were out.

Room Tip: Apartment 217 suited very well. Overlooking the pool and quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KannyDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa de las Americas hotels
0.5 mi away
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
#28 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,798 reviews
0.2 mi away
HD Parque Cristobal Tenerife
HD Parque Cristobal Tenerife
#7 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,184 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#11 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Europe Villa Cortes
Europe Villa Cortes
#4 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,077 reviews
0.2 mi away
Catalonia Oro Negro
Catalonia Oro Negro
#22 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,888 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Oro Blanco
Apartamentos Oro Blanco
#20 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colon II Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colon II Apartments

Property: Colon II Apartments
Address: Avenida Santiago Puig s/n, 38650 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Colon II Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Also Known As:
Colon Ii Apartments Hotel Playa De Las Americas
Colon II Apartments Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing