We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic wee place in perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Colon II Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Just returned on 15th August. Just had a fantastic 2 week holiday in this delightful little block of apartments and they were brilliant, from the second we arrived till the second we left, and could not find fault.
One bedroom apartment ( room 218 ) over looking the pool, spotlessly clean and equipped with everything you need. Staff were so friendly and helpful as was Jen the Thomsons rep.
Pool area is also cleaned every morning and it cordoned off so nobody can take sun beds until it's all cleaned and even sun beds cleaned which is normally around 8-45am.
Great little snack bar there too. Wi-fi also there and free.
Location is brilliant for absolutely everything the resort has to offer and the wee restaurant across the road is simply fantastic, Owned by a small Chinese man Chen who is very shy and un confident and doesn't realise what a wee gem he has got and how good it is and Fran a local man who works the floor simply great at his job, they are amazing, food great and the do a 3 course meal for €9-50 and a large beer for €1-50. The more expensive menu is amazing and also great value and the lasagne and steaks are amazing.
Quite simply folks we had a brilliant time and would totally recommend it

Room Tip: 218 over looks the pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank billymacSanquhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (751)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

395 - 401 of 751 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

This hotel is in an ideal location, close to bars and restaurants but far enough away from "clubland" - it can be heard but is not intrusive. The hotel is kept very clean and tidy with friendly, helpful staff. The pool bar does not sell a wide variety of drinks, my daughter wanted ice tea and couldn't get it even though it can be bought in the cafe/bar at the front of the hotel. I also felt the pool closed rather early. These are rather minor things though and do not detract from a lovely hotel. The main disappointment for me were the scruffy brown towels, these really let the hotel down. Better wi-fi would also be appreciated but at least there is some.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the pool and was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Statetravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

I stayed here with my boyfriend n kids..14 yr old twins n boy at 7 n lil miss at 5..we went for 2 wks n we loved it!! Hotel was lovely n clean..we were on top floor room 408 n we had huge balcony with sun loungers too..the sights were beautiful..pool was great n had snack bar not a lot ov choice but service excellent..everything was quite close by..opposite hotel is the beach I say 5min walk n town is quite close by..av plenty ov money though if u av teenagers..surrounded by designer shops..Hugo boss next door n Michael kors bags one after..wifi is only in reception n u av to try a frappealatte with ice cream..bloody yummie! Restaurant close by pretty cheap too..3 course meal for €9.50! Would recommend n would go back to colon 2 again.

Room Tip: 408 great for big family like mine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Eva W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Just returned from a 2 week stay in a 2-bed apartment at Colon 2. These apartments are excellent.
Check-in was extremely fast & friendly. The 2-bed apartment was a decent size and, although there was no air conditioning, the ceiling fans did a reasonable job.
The whole complex is absolutely spotless. The cleaning staff are busy all day long.
The pool area again is spotless and, although we were there in early July, there was absolutely no problem getting a sunbed by the pool. Some were reserved early but on each day there were plenty of unused ones too.
The food at the pool bar was pretty good too.
The location is excellent - very close to the Veronica's area but far enough not to hear any noise from it. It's a few mins walk to the nicer beaches (10/15 mins walk to Las Vistas beach). Plenty of bars & restaurants nearby too.
There's wifi in the reception area only and it's free.
All in all a very pleasant stay and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mellowyellow16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I Stayed here with my boyfriend for a week in the middle of July and we had such a lovely stay at colon 2. Our apartment was extremely clean on arrival and we were we given new towels and tea- towel every day. The staff were very friendly and helpful in pointing us in the right direction for good places to visit. We booked a day trip to Mt Teide through the hotel which I would definitely recommend to anyone visiting Tenerife, the views from the top were spectacular!

The pool area was also very clean and tidy, the pool bar didn't have a huge choice however the food was always good.

Colon 2 is situated in an excellent location with loads of bars and restaurants close by to the left and right of the hotel. To the left of the hotel there is a small alley way which led us to a well stocked supermarket which we visited most days. To the right there was a lovely beach just a short walk away.

An excellent hotel apartment in an excellent location! Such a lovely week away at Colon 2.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank Alice R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Just back from a weeks stay at Colon II with my 16 year old daughter. We had a studio on the 2nd floor overlooking the pool - only got the sun in the morning but that was perfect for taking a break from sunbathing in afternoon. The pool bar didn't have a huge choice but the food was always good & the staff were always pleasant. This has to be the cleanest place I've ever stayed in, everything was spotless throughout, towels were changed regularly & everything was sparkling. Theres no aircon but the ceiling fans really do the trick - in fact we had to switch it off a few times as the room was getting too cool!!!

The location was great, short walk to both Safari Centre & Veronicas with nice bars & restaurant pretty much on your doorstep along the seafront. Even though it was close to Veronicas it was really quiet at night, you could hear the music from the bars if you were on your balcony but it was faint.

There was also a good mix of people staying - couples / groups of friends of all ages, families with young kids, families with teens. The pool was lovely & even though so many people were down with towels first thing, we never had a problem getting sunbeds.

Only improvement I'd suggest was to have wifi available throughout - its free in the lobby but would be a real bonus if it was available in the apartments (just to stop teenage moaning!!!).

Overall definitely recommend these apartments for anyone fancying a holiday in Tenerife.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank leahs694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Just got back from this excellent holiday! Firstly i would like to thank the staff for their excellent service whilst we were on our stay here they couldn't have been more helpful.
This was my 3rd time in Tenerife and most definitely the best hotel i have stayed in!
On the day we arrived we were greeted with a smile by reception who told us everything we needed to know to be then shown to our room (126) which i cannot complain about at all, it was a reasonable size apartment with a cooker, microwave kettle, fridge/freezer and a little toasty maker (perfect for making toast in the morning!) Very clean with everything we needed and our own little garden terrace!
I was first to get a shower....it did leak but not just a small leak it flooded our bathroom with an inch of water but as soon as i contacted reception the handyman turned up within 4 minutes of me putting the phone down with a brand new shower head and it was fixed within seconds, then the cleaner came and mopped up our bathroom and gave us new toilet roll and towels as we had soaked ours - couldn't have asked for a better service! Thank you.
The apartments themselves are located in an excellent central area with a supermarket and chemist just across the road not forgetting to mention a take away chippy open from 4pm-4am! They were delicious after a night on the strip 'Veronicas'.....This is located to the right of the hotel just a 5 minute stroll away but don't forget to stop off at Leonardos bar for live entertainment first - some good singers and some bad singers but overall a good giggle!
To the left of the hotel there were a few shops and a little shopping centre with some good little shops to buy presents, but then the rest of this road is mainly hotels.
We went to Siam Waterpark which as always was amazing an excellent day out we booked this through the travel rep and then we made a trip to Loro Parque which we booked at reception but only to find out if we had booked both with reception we would have saved 12 euro so if you are planning on doing both excursions book them with reception :-)
The only downside to this hotel is if you have children there is no entertainment for them which was no problem for us as we were out most nights!
I recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a chilled out pool area with snacks and beer throughout the day and close to the nightlife and beach!
Also book yourself on a Catamaran boat trip down the marina best 25 euro spent...we managed to see pilot whales and dolphins!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Emma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa de las Americas hotels
0.5 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,166 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
#26 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,171 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Oro Blanco
Apartamentos Oro Blanco
#21 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kn Columbus Aparthotel
Kn Columbus Aparthotel
#30 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4,113 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel-Apartamentos Andorra
Hotel-Apartamentos Andorra
#18 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
784 reviews
0.2 mi away
Catalonia Oro Negro
Catalonia Oro Negro
#17 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
2,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colon II Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colon II Apartments

Address: Avenida Santiago Puig s/n, 38650 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 37 Speciality Lodging in Playa de las Americas
Price Range: £72 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Colon II Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Atrapalo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Colon II Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colon Ii Apartments Hotel Playa De Las Americas
Colon II Apartments Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing