We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 09:00 - 19:00
Save
Review Highlights
we saw 'em all

Super nice trip! We saw whales and dolphins, a lot of whale families by the way. Such a beautiful... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
jasygarciamartinez
Wonderful experience

My experience in December 2020 was a wonderful trip on the Freebird Catamaran which was very stable... read more

Reviewed 19 December 2020
916sally
,
Leeds, United Kingdom
Read all 1,313 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Tenerife
from US$60.61
More Info
from US$61.84
More Info
from US$30.92
More Info
from US$72.98
More Info
Reviews (1,313)
Filter reviews
1,313 results
Traveller rating
747
277
115
82
92
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
747
277
115
82
92
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pilot whales great trip potatoes hour trip rice paella sandwich saw dolphins mac and cheese free drinks bread rolls enjoyable trip bottle nose dolphins recommend this trip whale watching swim in the ocean set sail
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
376 - 381 of 1,313 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile

We holiday a lot in teneriffe but this is the first time we have booked via our hotel the freebird catamaran excursion. We were picked up albeit a little later than advertised via free transfer on air conditioned coach with a few more collections on the way ( to be expected )
We arrived at Port in a timely manner and waited a short time under a cover to protect from sun along quayside ( very we thought out )
In no time at all the fleet of 3 boats arrived from am excursion with previous customers getting off so we could embark.
The crew are extremely organised as I should know as myself hold a level 1 day skipper qualification.
As we headed out the harbour the cool breeze help to bring the teneriffe temperatures to a very comfortable level and having children with us we chose to sit under shaded area on boat , there is also a net VIP area at front with small extra charge.
The complimentary drinks were in good supply in the from of soft drinks selection , cool beer wine and suchlike.
The food was plentiful and nice with chicken mix salads and bread this was hand to you but once everyone had there fill they allowed you to help yourself to second serving if you wish .
Ice creams are available at extra cost .
Later we anchored in sheltered bay allowing for a swim , again very well organised with no swimming other than at rear of boat under carful watch from crew ( no jumping off the roof of boat ect )
The onto dolphin and whales, we managed to see plenty of both and this company offers another free booking if you don't see any on the trip.
We recommend this company to anyone wishing to try of all ages , we ourselves have two children 11 & 5 and it was very suitable.
Not wishing to sound rude or a prude but the last thing we wished for was a beer fuelled booze cruise .
10 or of 10 to freebird
We will most definitely be seeing you again.

Date of experience: August 2017
2  Thank Lawson1014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

Supposed or sold to us as a 3 hour trip which turned out to be 2 and a quarter hours! Advertised as free sandwiches and drinks, we were offered 1 sandwich each (ham and cheese) if you were vegetarian I assumed you removed the ham? anyway that was the food. Drinks were offered and there if you wanted them but the sea was a bit choppy when we went out so stayed off the booze.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank brian n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

We went on this as an excursion booked through TUI at our hotel.
The rep at the hotel told us if you pay the extra for the Freebird Gold then you get a VIP section on the boat which is adults only and with a subbed. Also told you get drinks and a three course meal included.
Firstly our coach was the last one to arrive. This meant we were pretty much last on the boat. We heading straight towards the front to get settled on our sunbed to be told rudely no, gold just gets you on the boat, you have to pay an extra £20 to go there and you can't anyway because they're all taken.
We would have then got off the boat however it was already pulling out of the harbour before we had a chance to think.
The only seats left available were in the shade. They were also rock hard little benches which left you uncomfortable and with a numb bum by 15 mins in.
The guides were unnecessary- passengers were spotting whales before them. We saw a few whales and that was it. Dolphins didn't even get a mention.
Food was not a 3 course meal- it was chicken and rice not temperature controlled and a rock hard bit of bread. If you wanted ice cream you had to pay extra.
Toilet is down a ladder which somebody fell down
At the swimming spot they said stay within 5m of the boat and only stopping for 10 mins so most people had a quick dip and then got out and waited. However we then wasted half an hour just sat there before a quick ride back to the harbour.
The main purpose of this boat trip was to give you the hard sell for photos and DVD and then to stand with the begging bowl held under your nose asking for tips at the end.
There were a lot of unhappy passengers who had been conned out of their hard earned money

Date of experience: August 2017
5  Thank sarah1305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

This is not whale watching. They take you to see some dolphins which are there in the same place year round - all while hard selling ice cream, photos and videos.

Avoid

Date of experience: August 2017
2  Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017

We went there today 12/817. Well organised, weather glorious and had brilliant views of Pilot Whales and pods of dolphins. Crew of ship were extremely friendly and helpful, Drinks and food were included. Marta was very knowledgeable about the marine wildlife. I would highly recommend this trip.
Jim & Anne from Edinburgh.

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank jimheron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews