We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Baronial Splendour with food to match” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rushton Hall Hotel and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rushton Hall Hotel and Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rushton
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Baronial Splendour with food to match”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

Rushton Hall is a magnificent Grade I Listed Four Star and Two Rosette Hotel and Spa bordering the counties of Northamptonshire and Leicestershire. It's visually stunning. As you drive past the gatehouses and wind your way down the serpentine gravel driveway, you will get your first glimpse of the magnificent 16th century facade, so very much the 'grand country house' arrival experience.

From the inside it doesn't disappoint either with cavernous rooms adorned with art and tapestry and huge lead glass windows. From window seats the view is akin to looking out of a Cambridge college or a Royal building onto a green quadrangle and you can't escape that feeling that you are just another more recent visitor in the footsteps of a long drawn out historical drama. The place is steeped in history and atmosphere.

I attended here and ate here twice as part of an overnight visit by titled family friends, a Baron and Baroness, their daughter and a staff member. On the first occasion, on arrival we had a late impromptu 'lunch', well after the normal sitting. Eccentrically the entire party chose hamburgers, as a 'quick' option. These, when they arrived were superb, challenging in thickness and well presented with excellent standard potato chips or 'french fries' and salad garnishes, and better than most restaurants specialising in this menu item. The only drawback was the long long long wait, which was the longest I have ever waited for any food ever..!! and so much so that the head of the party had to go enquire as to whether they were flying the beef in specially from some exotic foreign location?

A later more formal dinner that evening was by contrast smooth and efficiently prompt, with two added family guests arriving took us to 7 persons in the main restaurant with the a la carte menu. All the food in a very varied order was of the highest quality, I ate Corn Fed Chicken & Foie Gras Pressing Truffled Brioche - Apple & Fig Compote - Pickles £12.50, followed by Fillet of '28 Day' Scotch Beef Oxtail & Nettle Tortellini - Fondant Potato - Nutmeg Spinach £29.00 and declined the beautiful desserts in favour of Selection of Artisan British Cheeses £12.00 which for once, unlike so many miniscule offerings from London restaurants, was generously portioned with an open selection from an abundant cheeseboard. With coffees in the vast comfort of the main seating hall surrounded by vast art canvases and mirrors this was an extremely fine dining and atmospheric family group evening. Wines chosen by the Baron were of exceptional quality with no doubt matching cost.

If you are looking for a family, friends or romantic treat experience or simply used to very high quality lifestyles and want to stay in this area this is clearly the venue to choose. I didn't stay overnight as I live only 9 miles from here and the bill wasn't (fortunately) mine on this occasion but from my own menu choices estimate upwards of 50-60 per head for food alone plus wine, taxes etc...but with a very smart and efficient service level and superb atmosphere. I will definitely go back with a companion and review again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Solo_Thailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    649
    280
    87
    64
    38
See reviews for
154
632
17
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012 via mobile

We visited on a fixed spa break with treatments, dinner, bed and breakfast.
We had a suite with separate bedroom, lounge area and a huge bathroom. It was lovely and clean but so warm even with the radiators turned off, which had been on when we arrived. It was very difficult to open the windows so we did struggle to sleep initially.
The spa areas are lovely and the treatments were relaxing. Very pleased with this.
The bar area before going in to dinner was lovely - its like a huge grand banquet hall with traditional features. Dinner was lovely, a good choice of dishes and everything was very tasty and well presented.
The restaurant manager who served us was a little patronising and had odd service techniques but overall it was an enjoyable meal. The desserts in particular were lovely.
Breakfast was also lovely, cooked items ordered and brought over to the table and continental buffet as well.
I would visit again for a relaxing nights stay and thought it was good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank k8ti32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aguadulce, Spain
Level Contributor
119 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

This review wouild have been given a 'excellent' status but for a slip in standards on our day of visit. The Hotel had been booked exclusively for my nethews wedding. The building is a stunning example of a stately home. Opulant and very comfortable in a great setting. Our four poster bedroom was to die for and the bathroom was luxury. I swiped a credit card at reception and joined the other guests. Drinks on the lawn to start, but slow service. Into the wedding ceremony in a room that was again beatiful but on a hot day was unbearable. Guests had to sort the ventilation out themselves. On to the wedding breakfast, beautiful room well set out. Food was good. Proceedings were led by a young man who was either duty manager or maitre d' but who could tell, dressed very scruffily in a crumpled and ill fitting grey suit and string tie with no badge or insignia. The rest of the staff were smart , efficient and liveried, he was the reverse. He seemed unsure about the order of events, his announcements were too quiet and his accent difficult to understand. A well groomed confident proffesional was what was called for at these prices. The champagne was warm! One guest commented about bathwater! Again at these prices that should not happen but if Mr scruffy was the person in charge well need I say more!!!
The evening reception party starts and I order a round of drinks surrounded by my family at the bar. I ask to charge it to my room, "Sorry sir, your credit card has been blocked, a problem with your credit. I can only take cash from you." I was embarrassed in front of my entire family. I went to the receptionist, a different lady to the one who checked us in, and swipped the same card again and all is in order this time. It appears the first lady did not press the right buttons to get card approval into the hotel system. Mr Scruffy appears and intervenes, no appology no explaination, just a minor lecture about how they value security checks on credit cards. I stated that I would make a complaint and his reply was "do that then, so what". Hardly my idea of customer relations in a service industry. At the end of the evening I returned to my table, while the bar was still open, to find two drinks had been removed from my table by a waiter collecting glasses, witnessed by my wife. I went to the bar and was given two replacements by the barman who was efficient and appologetic, however another young member of staff stated " how do we know it wasn't another guest that took your drinks" !!!!
The overall impression is of a great venue and mostly good staff but a few young and inexperienced members amongst them, led by an indifferent and inefficient supervisor (Mr Scruffy) who lacks the tact and communication skills essential for such a position. I hope that this was just an off day and that standards are usualy higher than this.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VicNorthampton W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

My Gran was 90 so decided to take her someone nice and local for afternoon tea. 3 of us went one saturday afternoon, you needed to book. She was in a wheelchair, but the staff couldnt do enough to help us, letting us drive around the back so that we could access the hotel easily. They had placed us at a table in the main room, and i have to say it was a wonderful afternoon. The afternoon tea was very well presented, and free refills of coffee and tea. We sat there for a few hours taking in the views from the windows. The grounds are well kept and the general hotel looked lovely, there was some general repairs needed around the buildings but considering the age and the history with the venue. Would definately go back and recommend. We have also used it for work events too.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank unhappy2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

Booked our stay through secretescapes.com we also booked treatments at the spa and had dinner in the restaurant. From start to finish it was a brilliant break away, the staff were warm welcoming and very helpful, our room was beautiful. The meal we had in the restaurant was delicious and our treatments at the spa were fantastic we came away feeling relaxed and very satisfied. The whole package was amazing Highly recommended, The surrounding villages are lovely too, just fantastic.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonJaffa_cake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

My wife and I had three days in this amazing hotel and can't recommend it enough. The room had bags of character as does the whole hotel. Sitting in the grand hall with a glass of wine listening to Tom the concierge talk about the history of the building and bringing it all to life is almost as de-stressing as the swimming pool and spa. All the staff deserve a mention as they all put so much effort into ensuring we had a good time. If you love historic buildings and the finer things in life you will love this hotel.

Room Tip: Thomas tresham room has a lovely view at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chantry63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

What a place. We loved it, so relaxing. We stayed here for three days and couldn't fault it. We had two massages and time in the pool. Afternoon tea was brill, just a little bit on the pricey side. We went out to eat at the Torres Steak House which i strongly reccomend. Food was fantastic.

Paul

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rushton
23.5 mi away
Fawsley Hall Hotel & Spa
5.1 mi away
Kettering Park Hotel and Spa
4.6 mi away
Barton Hall Hotel
Barton Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barton Seagrave
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Talbot Hotel
Talbot Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oundle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
10.6 mi away
Highgate House Hotel
Highgate House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Creaton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
14.5 mi away
Hopping Hare
Hopping Hare
#3 of 29 in Northampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rushton Hall Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rushton Hall Hotel and Spa

Property: Rushton Hall Hotel and Spa
Address: Desborough Road, Rushton NN14 1RR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Rushton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rushton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rushton Hall Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rushton Hall is a Grade I Listed 4 Red Star Hotel and 3 Rosette Restaurant, surrounded by the cities of Kettering and Market Harborough. Guests will find this convenient location is just minutes from Wicksteed Park, Stoke Albany Golf Club, Rockingham Castle, Rockingham Speedway, Rutland Water, Telford Way Industrial Park and Kettering Business Park. The nearest train stations are Kettering or Market Harborough. Beauty and elegance abounds to enhance the guest's experience. From beautiful gardens for an afternoon stroll to the sparkling pool for a quick dip to relaxing with spa services, this hotel offers a variety of luxuries to enhance any getaway. All rooms are individually designed in keeping with their country house decor. Bed sizes vary per room and all rooms are ensuite and feature tea and coffee making facilities, bathrobes and slippers and turn down service is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, SpeedyBooker.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Rushton Hall Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rushton Hall Hotel Rushton
Hall Hotel Rushton
Rushton Hall Hotel And Spa Northamptonshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing