We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real Find!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinbane
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Lodge at Edinbane
Ranked #12 of 12 Edinbane B&B and Inns
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Real Find!”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Like a lot of the other reviews we had a very nice stay in the Lodge with Hazel and Peter. The lodge is dated but that is the character of the lodge and if it were modern it would not fit with the age of the lodge. Our room was clean and oozed character. The bathroom was modern and shower was great. Hazel was able to give us advice where to take a spin that evening and we got some of the best photographs of our stay in Scotland that evening. We returned to the lodge and had a lovey meal in the bar while Peter kept us entertained. Hazel served up a delicious breakfast and again was able to advise us on "must dos" while in Skye. If we ever go to Skye again we will definitely stay with them.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Highswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    32
    14
    6
    19
See reviews for
24
58
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Located in a good central location for short trips. Our room was over the bar with a four poster bed, new flat screen TV, and a new shower. Yes it can be a bit odiferous, but so what. That man can draw a nice ale. The Lodge Ale was most excellent. The owners were quite nice and welcoming. The meals were good. Had to leave early so they made us Breakfast to go. For those who have issues with The Lodge. Go stay at a Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JoyceeC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
133 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

This is an historic inn and quite nice. It could have been much more. The beds were not terribly comfortable and there was a definite mustiness in the rooms. The look of the room was exactly as I thought it should be. The breakfast was delicious and substantial. Dinner in the bar was also quite good. The area is lovely and we had peaceful nights!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weheckman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knutsford
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We called in with a view to eating and nearly choked on the smell of old dog as we opened the door. The pub maybe old and have plenty of history which would be wonderful if it wasn't so run-down and dirty. The owners also have 'character' but need to up their game somewhat to make people feel more welcome. We hope people coming from abroad do NOT judge this as the standard British/Scottish hospitality - you don't have to go far to get much, much better than this. The Scottish Tourist Board should be ashamed of themselves allowing a place as bad as this to operate as a business on Skye. We cannot judge the food or the rooms as we did not extend our stay, but hurried on after only one drink, which was more than enough in this dreadful place!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sandypandyxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Had a great nights stay at The Lodge, Edinbane. The owners are lovely, interesting and welcoming people who did their best to make our stay as comfortable as possible. The Lodge its self is very old (1500s) and has the look and sense of a really old building (but well maintained) full of history and character and the owners have furnished it with lovely period pieces and curios which really add to the atmosphere of the Hotel. We chose to go to another restaurant for an evening meal, however the menu at the Lodge looked varied and traditional and if breakfast was anything to compare by will be superbly cooked and tasty. Our room had a period feel to it, clean and comfortable bed, en suite with clean and adequate facilities. Would definately book here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allisonmcculloch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013 via mobile

Called here for a drink in the afternoon with a view to eat there in the evening!UGH! Didn't bother booking a table because the smell hit us as we walked in the door! Stale beer, dogs and sweaty old men- my advice - steer clear - eat over the road.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Vixen1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

I had such a fabulous stay at this B&B! It was literally exactly what I was looking for. I like authentic places to stay, rather than chain hotels. I like places with character. Added to that, I was travelling by myself and that can get quite lonely...You end up sitting at the bar by yourself much of the time. This place was the PERFECT solution to both issues.

The Lodge itself was a blast from the past...It's an old carriage house and while it is still clean and has modern amenities, there is still a lot of history there. The decor was lovely, my room was so cute! The bathroom was nice and modern...very clean. I had the cutest stain glass skylight. The common room was very comfortable as well, with big leather couches and wifi (which you will be thankful for because reception in that area is awful). The bar was probably the best part. They have an excellent seleciton of scotch and beer, as well as some wine and other spirits. It's the kind of place where locals actually do come and hang out, and they were very friendly to me. Peter and Hazel introduced me around and I had some rounds with the guys. I also ate in the bar (you can eat in the dining room, but I didn't really want to). The food, prepared by Hazel, was outstanding. Traditional Scottish fare, but VERY well done (now I'm craving toffee pudding...). Also, Hazel and Peter were so nice and friendly...They made sure I had everything I needed and (as I mentioned) introduced me to everyone. The rest of the staff is super nice as well. It's really like staying with a family as opposed to a full on hotel. It is exactly how I imagined a Scottish B&B to be...friendly and welcoming and homey. I totally want to stay here again.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper and tend to go to bed early, try not to get a room above the bar. I went...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edinbane
1.9 mi away
Redwood House Hotel
Redwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edinbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
15.0 mi away
The Flodigarry Hotel
The Flodigarry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flodigarry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
32.6 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Toravaig House Hotel
9.9 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
9.4 mi away
Marmalade Hotel
Marmalade Hotel
#5 of 6 in Portree
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Edinbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Edinbane

Property: The Lodge at Edinbane
Address: Old Dunvegan Road | Edinbane, Edinbane IV51 9PW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Edinbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Edinbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Food, drink and accommodation in an historic and allegedly haunted 16th Century Hunting Lodge and Coaching Inn on Scotland's stunningly beautiful and romantic Isle of Skye. A romantic refuge steeped in history where you can enjoy the very best food, friendly atmosphere and be ideally placed to visit all of the tourist attractions of northern Skye. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Edinbane Isle Of Skye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing