We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Spot”
other travellers have booked this property
The Snug
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Snug
The Snug
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
The Snug
The Snug
Well Equipped Kitchen
The Kitchen
Comfortable Leather Sofa
Bedroom Area
King Size Bed
Dining Area
Shower Room
Luxury Shower Enclosure
Beautiful Stained Glass Window
Cosy Log Burner
The View
View From Our Croft
Some of Our Sheep
Northern Lights & shooting star taken from Kildonan October 2016
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Edinbane, Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
FionaB245...
1 review
“Beautiful Spot”
Reviewed 7 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We have just returned from our holiday in Scotland and can say that our 4 nights at The Snug were fantastic. The Snug is handy to everything and is equipped with everything you need. We really felt it was our home away from home. Thank you Lisa.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1WeeLassi...
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“There is nowhere else you should stay in Skye.”
Reviewed 18 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

The snug is perfect. Very clean and tidy with everything you could every need for a home away from home. The location is great because it's central in the North making it really easy to get to everywhere East or West and only 20 minutes to Portree. Very private and peaceful and snug is definitely the correct name for this wee place. Lisa is lovely and went above and beyond to make our stay just brilliant with guides to the Island, toiletries, fresh food, including tasty eggs from her own chickens. If you are planning on exploring Skye then the snug is definitely the place to stay for a relaxing, cosy retreat.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Apr 2017
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for leaving The Snug very clean and tidy it is really appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnLWard
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great small self-catering with a view”
Reviewed 23 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This is well placed to explore the island, on the main road from Portree to Dunvegan. From here we explored Talisker and the main walks on the Trotternish Ridge. It proved great as a base for walking but also you can get into Portree easily as well for shops and other attractions. The accommodation itself is small but has everything you need. The bed is very comfy and looks out of patio doors onto the fields and hills below. The kitchen has everything you could need. Everything is very clean and of high quality. May want to go more in season though as the weather has been quite fierce.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy W
Denny, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great wee home from home”
Reviewed 22 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Loved our stay at The Snug from 17th to 21st September. A real homely wee place that was a perfect base for exploring Skye. Great facilities and Lisa was a wonderful host. The Snug is spotless and well cared for and has all the amenities required. A small pack with maps and suggested walks and binoculars are an added bonus. Portree is not too far away and property is close to Edinbane (2 miles). Highly recommended and hope to return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality and cleanliness of the property
Liked least: Slow Wifi but who really cares?
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWaterC...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Self Catering accomodation with the hotel touch.”
Reviewed 27 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We stayed for 5 nights and were extremely pleased with the accommodation. The Snug is cozy, compact and caters to your every need. Everything for a comfortable and enjoyable stay really has been thought of. This includes:
Towels Bath Robes Washing Machine/Soap powder Basics for cooking
Starter pack of bread/eggs for cooking Maps Binoculars Mini Toiletries BBQ
Log Burner Puzzles/Jigsaws Local Guides/Tips iPod dock
Lisa and her partner were very helpful however were not overbearing and were more than happy to help if needed. The location was well placed if you have access to a vehicle. However we were able to enjoy walks through the nearby crofts and fields. Wed would definitely stay again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PJ18
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“High quality with beautiful views”
Reviewed 9 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Snug yes but didn't feel small as so well arranged. Absolutely spotless and completed to a very high specification. Had everything we needed in the kitchen and a great bathroom. Comfortable bed and sofa and although we didn't need the woodburner it would be lovely in the winter. Helpful instructions around the property. Great views and close enough to Edinbane to go out for a meal easily. We loved it and can definitely recommend. I booked via Trip adviser which worked v smoothly with deposit being promptly returned and Lisa was easy to contact if needed and is in the B&B next door if needed during the stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality of fittings and cleanliness
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janeyShro...
Shropshire
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“wonderful holiday rental - really snug :)”
Reviewed 23 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stopped here for 3 nights on our first visit to Skye and found the place excellent - really well equipped and warm and cosy - we don't have a dishwasher at home, so that was a real treat! Lisa was really welcoming and when we asked her to book the local restaurant, only to find that it was going to be closed on the day we got there, she offered to leave us a casserole cooking (which we paid her for on arrival) which was absolutely superb! The views are amazing, and although on first arriving the place seems very close to the owner's house, we didn't notice that once we were in the snug. Had the weather been better we would have done a lot more on the island, but the wind and rain is inevitable in October. Have recommended this to our friends who may want to visit Skye. There is no mobile signal but the wifi worked ok so that was fine.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Probably the dishwasher :)
Liked least: Not keen on feather pillows
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing