We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinbane
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ashaig Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 12 Edinbane B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 March 2014

I stayed at this BnB with my wife and daughter and my parents. We had two separate bedrooms. The bedrooms were small and the decorations slightly outdated, but very clean. They were quick to change out my mother’s mattress upon request.

Breakfast was very nice and the hosts, consistent throughout Scotland, were very pleasant. The only complaint I had was that we were actually told to be out of the rooms/BnB during certain hours of the day. This was the only location I have ever stayed at with this requirement. While not a problem (as we spent all of our days touring the island) it would have been frustrating to deal with had we stayed more than two days.

Kathleen, the proprietress, introduced us to a young woman who owns a farm nearby (and races rallye cars!). Her name escapes me but she was very friendly and let us feed the baby sheep and showed us around.

We stayed here two nights and thoroughly enjoyed our visits throughout the Isle of Skye. An amazing island indeed.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freedyvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
There are newer reviews for Ashaig Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 144 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2014

Visited Ashaig last week for 5 days. Great place to stay if you need to relax and get away from it all. Greeted by friendly hosts Kathleen and Colin who couldn't have done more for us to make our stay comfortable.

The weather wasn't very good, but Kathleen suggested the tea dance and the Bollywood dancing at the AROS center in Portree which I would recommend. We really enjoyed it.

Good choice of menu for breakfast using free range eggs from their own chickens. Well presented and very tasty!

The views are spectacular from all bedroom windows. Photographer's dream!

Will miss Breagh and Cassie, their two dogs which are friendly and well behaved.

Will definitely come back again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stella B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

My wife and I stayed a couple of nights in June 2012. We enjoyed our time in the country. A great view. Wonderful hosts who were very helpful with things to do and see. Breakfast was awesome. A great base camp for Skye.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerimiah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We were in Ashaig for 3 nights. This place is magical. The location is fantastic and the view is breathtaking. This place is perfect if you are looking for peace. Colin and Kath thank you for the wonderful time spent in your small heaven.
I am sure that soon we will see you again.
huge kiss for Bria :)))))

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaggieRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed 2 nights in September, and could not have chosen a better B and B. From the moment we arrived to the morning of our departure, Colin and Kathleen were perfect hosts. The room, breakfast and amazing view were everything we had hoped for, and made this an ideal place to stay. We would recommend Ashaig to anyone looking for a place to stay on Skye.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slops42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

When we were looking to book this B and B for three nights, the reviews on Trip Advisor appeared a bit OTT. We booked. I'm so glad we did. Fantastic location overlooking the Loch. The room was fantastic. We were greeted with tea and scones after a long drive up. Kath and Colin (and the dogs) were great and ensured we had everything that we needed or may have needed. Rooms very comfortable and homely and the location is jst great. We did have excellent weather on our four days on Skye and Kath provided us with booklets which we used as our foundation to tour the Island.Breakfasts were first class and nothing was too much trouble for the owners. Really nice touch to bring us mince pies too. We will be back. Thanks again. Any one reading this review and thinking I've gone a bit OTT, book, stay and see for yourself. Just wish we could have smuggled the dogs back home with us!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Humphriesout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

My wife used this B&B for 2 nights as a base for exploring the Isle of Skye.
When we arrived the wind was howling and most of our drive from Glasgow had been in rain and mist, although by the time we pulled up the weather had cleared up. So we weren't too sure quite what to expect. But Ian and Kathleen very quickly made us feel most welcome, showing us our room and offering a lovely light afternoon tea.
The room was clean and comfortable and offered the most extraordinary view of the loch below. The only criticism was that my wife could hear the man in the room next door from time to time if he raised his voice at all. But it's only a small point.
The breakfast was wonderful and plentiful, - it included fresh eggs from their own hens as well as yoghurt and bread which Ian made himself.
Ian and Kathleen were most generous of their tiime and kindly helped us to work out the best use of our time.
This B&B is almost in the centre of the Isle of Skye so serves as a great base for exploring the area.
Should we ever return, we would have no hesitation at all in usingf this B&B again and in recommending it to our friends.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BarryJose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edinbane
0.8 mi away
Redwood House Hotel
Redwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Greshornish
184 reviews
10.4 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,069 reviews
4.9 mi away
Skeabost Hotel
Skeabost Hotel
#1 of 6 in Skeabost
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Ardmorn Holiday Accommodation
10.1 mi away
Gleann An Ronnaich
Gleann An Ronnaich
#4 of 95 in Portree
241 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ronan House
Ronan House
#4 of 22 in Portree
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashaig Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashaig Bed and Breakfast

Address: Ashaig Bed and Breakfast 3 Kildonan, Edinbane IV51 9PU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Edinbane
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Edinbane
Price Range: £52 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ashaig is a modern bungalow offering comfortable and spacious accommodation on the Isle of Skye in Scotland. Graded with a prestigious 4 Star Gold Award by the Scottish Tourist Board, Ashaig has an elevated position, peacefully overlooking a sea loch and also affording superb views across the Minch towards the distant Western Isles. The B&B is also a member of Scotland's Best - a collection of only the top Scottish 4 and 5 Star Bed and Breakfasts. The Isle of Skye scenery is magnificent and whilst on the island you are never more than 5 miles from the sea. The Cuillin Mountains are rugged and dramatically beautiful - climbers come from all over the world to meet their challenge. There are walks and climbs to suit everyone in the locality and there are several excellent books and maps at Ashaig, which will help you plan your holiday. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ashaig Bed And Breakfast Edinbane, Isle Of Skye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing