We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hosts on a Grand Coast”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinbane
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ashaig Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 12 Edinbane B&B and Inns
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Hosts on a Grand Coast”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We've just spent our first ever holiday in the Highlands and Islands, and Skye was part of the itinerary. We made an inspired choice with Ashaig. Colin and Kathleen are warm-hearted, witty and highly experienced guesthouse proprietors. Their house is modern, spacious, and bedecked with tasteful pictures and artefacts to please the eye. And staring out of one of the beautifully appointed bedrooms or standing in their front garden, your eyes feast on a magnificent, narrow sea loch that is mesmerizing and becalming at the same time. You sense you're being drawn into an almost mythical landscape on the remotest edge of Europe. No wonder all the guests we met during our four days at Ashaig hailed from different regions of Europe, as if on some pilgrimage to wondrously scenic and spiritual landscapes. And you don't leave Ashaig for your daily Skye adventure with only a pilgrim's basic fare in your belly. Colin and Kathleen are terrific cooks and bakers of their own bread, cakes (and yummy pancakes), and provide an amazing selection of breakfast options, priding themselves on top quality food and mega portions for the non-faint hearted. All these elements together ensure a Skye high level of satisfaction!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    10
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
16
105
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed at this lovely bed and breakfast end of May for two nights and can thoroughly recommend it,the location is beautiful with views over the loch. The hosts Kathleen and Colin most welcoming and their attention to detail, even down to booklet made up by Colin that you can take out on drive around the island very useful indeed. On arrival we were given a tray of tea and home baking with homemade lemon curd/jam , a lovely wee treat after driving. The breakfasts were great, good choices and the way presented again spot on. Two lovely dogs Cassie & Bria (who was in plaster with broken leg) both so friendly,hope she is on the mend now are there to greet you with wagging tail! I can definitely recommend to stay here , perfect place in Skye !

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jinty72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magdeburg, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

A great place to stay at the Isle of Skye. Kathleen and Colin are great hosts and made us feel welcome right from the start. We've been there for the second time, what says it all. And we will be back at our next visit in Scotland. Thanks for the little talks at the breakfast table and for all the homemade stuff like your great scones, the marmelade or the bread. We had a great time at your home and we would definitely recommend this B&B. Everything was perfect just like the last time.
Kathleen and Colin are great people and the Dogs are lovely. The view from the rooms is stunning and the Isle of Skye has so much nature to offer that you can easily fill a hole week or more. So I hope to see you next time.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tigerdini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

We stay at Ashaig 4 nights, and it was unforgettable. First of all, the view to loch Greshornish is beautiful. The place is very clean, and they have everything. When we arrive we received tea and tasty cakes served in a lovely service. Colin and Kathleen are very pleasant and friendly. It's a lovely place, and we had a special experience there. If you visit Scotland- you must go there.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ofreeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

I stayed at this BnB with my wife and daughter and my parents. We had two separate bedrooms. The bedrooms were small and the decorations slightly outdated, but very clean. They were quick to change out my mother’s mattress upon request.

Breakfast was very nice and the hosts, consistent throughout Scotland, were very pleasant. The only complaint I had was that we were actually told to be out of the rooms/BnB during certain hours of the day. This was the only location I have ever stayed at with this requirement. While not a problem (as we spent all of our days touring the island) it would have been frustrating to deal with had we stayed more than two days.

Kathleen, the proprietress, introduced us to a young woman who owns a farm nearby (and races rallye cars!). Her name escapes me but she was very friendly and let us feed the baby sheep and showed us around.

We stayed here two nights and thoroughly enjoyed our visits throughout the Isle of Skye. An amazing island indeed.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freedyvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Visited Ashaig last week for 5 days. Great place to stay if you need to relax and get away from it all. Greeted by friendly hosts Kathleen and Colin who couldn't have done more for us to make our stay comfortable.

The weather wasn't very good, but Kathleen suggested the tea dance and the Bollywood dancing at the AROS center in Portree which I would recommend. We really enjoyed it.

Good choice of menu for breakfast using free range eggs from their own chickens. Well presented and very tasty!

The views are spectacular from all bedroom windows. Photographer's dream!

Will miss Breagh and Cassie, their two dogs which are friendly and well behaved.

Will definitely come back again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stella B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elko, Nevada
1 review
Reviewed 11 March 2014

My wife and I stayed a couple of nights in June 2012. We enjoyed our time in the country. A great view. Wonderful hosts who were very helpful with things to do and see. Breakfast was awesome. A great base camp for Skye.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerimiah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edinbane
0.8 mi away
Redwood House Hotel
Redwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Greshornish
163 reviews
5.2 mi away
Toravaig House Hotel
33.7 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,026 reviews
13.0 mi away
The Flodigarry Hotel
The Flodigarry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flodigarry
360 reviews
4.9 mi away
Skeabost Hotel
Skeabost Hotel
#2 of 6 in Skeabost
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashaig Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashaig Bed and Breakfast

Property: Ashaig Bed and Breakfast
Address: Ashaig Bed and Breakfast 3 Kildonan, Edinbane IV51 9PU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Edinbane
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Edinbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ashaig is a modern bungalow offering comfortable and spacious accommodation on the Isle of Skye in Scotland. Graded with a prestigious 4 Star Gold Award by the Scottish Tourist Board, Ashaig has an elevated position, peacefully overlooking a sea loch and also affording superb views across the Minch towards the distant Western Isles. The B&B is also a member of Scotland's Best - a collection of only the top Scottish 4 and 5 Star Bed and Breakfasts. The Isle of Skye scenery is magnificent and whilst on the island you are never more than 5 miles from the sea. The Cuillin Mountains are rugged and dramatically beautiful - climbers come from all over the world to meet their challenge. There are walks and climbs to suit everyone in the locality and there are several excellent books and maps at Ashaig, which will help you plan your holiday. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ashaig Bed And Breakfast Edinbane, Isle Of Skye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing