We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally satisfied customer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Midland Plaza
Ranked #6 of 45 Hotels in Midland
GreenLeadersSilver level
El Paso, TX, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Totally satisfied customer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

Extremely happy in every stay at any Hilton hotel, service is excellent, food is excellent, everybody is friendly and you really feel as a valued customer. I highly recommend staying at any Hilton, you need to be there to notice the difference with other hotels. Thank you very much and keep up the excellent work.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Rafael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helen_futrell, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Midland Plaza, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Thanks for your awesome review. I am so glad you enjoyed your time here with us, I really hope you will be back to see us soon. Please call the Care line if there is ever anything we can do to serve you while you are in Midland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    143
    83
    52
    40
See reviews for
77
70
26
305
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

Listen, this is my 2nd review for TripAdvisor (and 3rd ever). I started my account after a trip to Midland. So, in the interest of being direct, let me get right to the point. This hotel was not bad. It was clean and the staff were not great, but not bad. But, the reason I am writing is one tiny little detail: if I pay a premium for anything, I expect great things. I, personally, have never spent this much on a hotel. At $250+ per night, I would expect a DoubleTree (Hilton property, I think) to be VERY nice. Not just "meh", but exceptional. This was NOT exceptional, nor was it worth $250+ per night! Insane price to pay for a decent hotel. Would I have written this review at all if I had paid $75\night... no. It's not bad at that price and it would have been exactly where I would have expected it to be, in terms of quality and service. Just be aware that you are not getting your $$ worth when you stay here.

Room Tip: Look, this is not a bad place, but is a terrible value at the price they charge. Keep your expectati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJ G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helen_futrell, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Midland Plaza, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Thank you for posting your review of our property. I agree with you that the rates in the Midland and Odessa area are higher than elsewhere in the nation, we are in a oil boom economy here. Our business like any other follows supply/ demand. I also happen to agree that with our rate, you should receive exceptional service. I believe that our staff provides it. With us, you have the option of dining in at our restaurant, room service and two lounges. With high end room amenities, we have more to offer than our competitors whose rates are comparable to ours without the "extras".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

I come to Midland at least once a month for business. I always stay at the Double Tree downtown because of the friendly and helpful staff. They always have a smile when we come in and very quick and efficient in assigning us rooms. They also made great suggestions for dinner and convenient shopping places. I was real happy they suggested that I join the Hilton Honors Club which placed me on a special assigned floor. I would strongly suggest to stay at this hotel as they have never disappointed me...and I am a hard one to please. HaHa...

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helen_futrell, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Midland Plaza, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
I wanted to thank you for your review of our hotel! We love to see that we have made our guests happy. Especially our "regulars". I am glad you are taking advantage of the Hilton Honors program, and working towards your free stays! We look forward to seeing you again soon. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flower Mound, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

I have had a very good history with Doubletree properties. This stay was not up to the standard that I have experienced with this chain. Improvements needed: Walls are not insulated and very noisy, shower did not drain, poor parking, poor location next to train tracks, clock in room did not work.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helen_futrell, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Midland Plaza, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Thank you for taking your time to post a review of our property. I know our downtown location makes parking difficult, as well as puts us in close proximity to the train tracks. Please take advantage of our complimentary valet parking and ask for North tower if the train noise bothers you. I do hope you will return and give us another opportunity to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midland, Tx, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

Service was good but rooms and bathroom cry out for renovation. xxxxx l;kjljln l;ku l o;ih;lkn; lou; gbmb ;kghbjb lky 9 8yhk ;lkn ;0oh;89p7 lkh 98 t;oih;kj vjh lihbjulkjbjhbo kg l uglhvb.k p097ypiugblkjbjhgvciu 8xxx xxxxxsadfesfF SFferFE fFWEFw RWDWrf R4Rfegreag a . aesfaet afedfeatgag a daere.va a gaerteg adfgetga agdgetegdtgr agert3aegd atefa/a gag4wtsg/a aregsdvag.s sdgsd ag sgb5eyrtd fvc

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helen_futrell, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Midland Plaza, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
We just completed a huge renovation. Thank you for posting a review, I am not sure when it was that you actually stayed with us, but I appreciate your time. We have; as I stated, just completed a major renovation building wide. I do hope you will come by, I would be happy to give you a tour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherwood, Arkansas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

I have been a Diamond member for many years but lately.habe been considering changing brands.

This was a horrible stay. PHONES didn't work. Room not upgraded and wasn't even offered cookies when I checked in! Upon complaining about the phone, they came and took one of them, never replaced it, and said sorry, we've ordered new ones. Really Hilton?

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank mmbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helen_futrell, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Midland Plaza, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our property. I do apologize that you didn't get your warm cookie when you checked in. I really don't know how we missed that! Please stop by anytime you are in Midland and I will make sure you get extra cookies! There are two phones in every room, I know we have recently replaced the switch and had some IT issues with some of our phones. Our staff was not lying when they told you we had ordered new phones. I know some of the jacks have to be replaced, but I had not heard we had rooms that neither phone worked in. I do apologize for your inconvenience. We are working dilligently with our IT company to get all the phones up and working as quickly as possible so both phones in every room will work properly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midland, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

The hotel is pleasant and it has a pseudo-Starbucks on the first floor. The breakfast buffet is adequate. The front desk personnel that assisted us didn't appear to like her job as she was antagonistic. However, the restaurant personnel could not have been nicer and more helpful. They were wonderful.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Jean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helen_futrell, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Midland Plaza, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
I am so glad that you like Steam... our coffee shop in the lobby. We do serve Starbucks coffee, I love having that right in the building. I'm sure I am drinking to much coffee now! I am very pleased that you enjoyed the property and hope you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Midland hotels
5.0 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Midland
4.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Midland
4.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Midland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Midland
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Midland Suites
4.9 mi away
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Midland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Midland Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Midland Plaza

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Midland Plaza
Address: 117 W. Wall St., Midland, TX 79701 (Formerly Hilton Midland)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Midland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Midland
#3 Business Hotel in Midland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Midland Plaza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully renovated hotel in downtown Midland. Across from Centennial Plaza and within walking distance of several restaurants and fun night spots! We are just a short 15 minute drive from the airport. We offer two lounges on property, The Reserve on the ground floor and The Overlook Sky lounge a patio bar on our 3rd floor. Steam is our full service coffee shop in our lobby; featuring Starbucks coffee. Eatery 177 is our restaurant on property and offers room service. Complimentary wifi and valet service. Our staff is our biggest asset and we welcome you to come and experience real West-Texas hospitality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Midland Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Midland Hotel Midland
Hilton Hotel Midland
Midland Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing