We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Midland Plaza
Ranked #11 of 46 Hotels in Midland
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 16 February 2014

The rooms are very quiet and very clean. You can get anything you need all at the hotel with all the amenities offered. Great place to stay on business trips so that you can go straight to your room to continue work and order room service. I would highly recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helen_futrell, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Midland Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

I am so glad you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for the review you posted of our hotel! I do hope you will return and allow us to care for you again in the very near future. Have an excellent day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (589)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

433 - 439 of 589 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2014

I should rate between average and good. The rooms are nice size and very clean. It just seems like every time I stay here, the hotel is under construction or renovation. The food in the restaurants is average at best, room service is just OK. Parking can be a hassle; find the underground parking entry off the alley on side next to the main parking lot. I think the rooms are too expensive. The bar downstairs is cool but the service is not so good. There is another small bar on the second (or third?) floor at the north tower that has a nice large area that you can sit outside.

Room Tip: South tower faces the train tracks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helen_futrell, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Midland Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

You will be pleased to know that our renovation is over! I hope when you come back to see us that you will enjoy the modern updated look. We are so excited to share it with our guests. I am sorry for the slow service you experienced in the bar downstairs, it does get very busy in there at times. The Overlook is on the third floor of the North tower and does have the incredible outdoor patio area! We are looking forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Wow. What a hotel in need of a facelift. For some reason hotels in the Midland area are expensive, but for $224 a night I expect the wallpaper to be in place and the room to have been remodeled after 1980. Aside from the cosmetic defects, I was just never comfortable. I couldn't get the temperature right - it was either freezing cold or blazing hot. I was so cold in the middle of the night that I grabbed the quilt off the unused bed to shiver my way to sleep. The heating/cooling unit was right next to the computer desk and you couldn't direct the vents away from your eyes, so I had either hot or cold air blasting right into my face as I worked. Breakfast was served in a nice enough restaurant on the first floor, but I was looking for a saw so I could get the hard french toast into mouth-sized pieces. I'll be looking for an alternate place next time I come.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helen_futrell, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Midland Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

I would like to thank you for bringing these things to my attention. I will report your room issues to our Engineering department to take care of immediately. I would like to offer my apologies for the condition of your room. I would like to say that the rooms were just renovated within this past year, and are updated. I understand your frustration with the bathroom wallpaper and grabbar, it was not loose. The decorative screw cover is loose, we will take care of that immediately. Please feel free to call our Care line to have your room temperature adjusted. I hope you will reconsider us in the future. I would like to have an opportunity to make this right for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Extremely happy in every stay at any Hilton hotel, service is excellent, food is excellent, everybody is friendly and you really feel as a valued customer. I highly recommend staying at any Hilton, you need to be there to notice the difference with other hotels. Thank you very much and keep up the excellent work.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Rafael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helen_futrell, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Midland Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

Thanks for your awesome review. I am so glad you enjoyed your time here with us, I really hope you will be back to see us soon. Please call the Care line if there is ever anything we can do to serve you while you are in Midland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Listen, this is my 2nd review for TripAdvisor (and 3rd ever). I started my account after a trip to Midland. So, in the interest of being direct, let me get right to the point. This hotel was not bad. It was clean and the staff were not great, but not bad. But, the reason I am writing is one tiny little detail: if I pay a premium for anything, I expect great things. I, personally, have never spent this much on a hotel. At $250+ per night, I would expect a DoubleTree (Hilton property, I think) to be VERY nice. Not just "meh", but exceptional. This was NOT exceptional, nor was it worth $250+ per night! Insane price to pay for a decent hotel. Would I have written this review at all if I had paid $75\night... no. It's not bad at that price and it would have been exactly where I would have expected it to be, in terms of quality and service. Just be aware that you are not getting your $$ worth when you stay here.

Room Tip: Look, this is not a bad place, but is a terrible value at the price they charge. Keep your expectati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CJ G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helen_futrell, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Midland Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

Thank you for posting your review of our property. I agree with you that the rates in the Midland and Odessa area are higher than elsewhere in the nation, we are in a oil boom economy here. Our business like any other follows supply/ demand. I also happen to agree that with our rate, you should receive exceptional service. I believe that our staff provides it. With us, you have the option of dining in at our restaurant, room service and two lounges. With high end room amenities, we have more to offer than our competitors whose rates are comparable to ours without the "extras".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I come to Midland at least once a month for business. I always stay at the Double Tree downtown because of the friendly and helpful staff. They always have a smile when we come in and very quick and efficient in assigning us rooms. They also made great suggestions for dinner and convenient shopping places. I was real happy they suggested that I join the Hilton Honors Club which placed me on a special assigned floor. I would strongly suggest to stay at this hotel as they have never disappointed me...and I am a hard one to please. HaHa...

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helen_futrell, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Midland Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

I wanted to thank you for your review of our hotel! We love to see that we have made our guests happy. Especially our "regulars". I am glad you are taking advantage of the Hilton Honors program, and working towards your free stays! We look forward to seeing you again soon. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I have had a very good history with Doubletree properties. This stay was not up to the standard that I have experienced with this chain. Improvements needed: Walls are not insulated and very noisy, shower did not drain, poor parking, poor location next to train tracks, clock in room did not work.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helen_futrell, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Midland Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

Thank you for taking your time to post a review of our property. I know our downtown location makes parking difficult, as well as puts us in close proximity to the train tracks. Please take advantage of our complimentary valet parking and ask for North tower if the train noise bothers you. I do hope you will return and give us another opportunity to serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Midland hotels
4.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Midland
5 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Midland
4.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Midland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Midland
1.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Midland, TX
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Midland
Hampton Inn Midland
#7 of 46 in Midland
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Midland Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Midland Plaza

Address: 117 W Wall St, Midland, TX 79701-5246 (Formerly Hilton Midland)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Midland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Midland
#3 Business Hotel in Midland
Price Range: £79 - £253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Midland Plaza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully renovated hotel in downtown Midland. Across from Centennial Plaza and within walking distance of several restaurants and fun night spots! We are just a short 15 minute drive from the airport. We offer two lounges on property, The Reserve on the ground floor and The Overlook Sky lounge a patio bar on our 3rd floor. Steam is our full service coffee shop in our lobby; featuring Starbucks coffee. Eatery 177 is our restaurant on property and offers room service. Complimentary wifi and valet service. Our staff is our biggest asset and we welcome you to come and experience real West-Texas hospitality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Midland Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Midland Hotel Midland
Hilton Hotel Midland
Midland Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing