We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and Great people”
Review of The Garlic Press

The Garlic Press
Ranked #8 of 288 Restaurants in Midland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$40 - US$60
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food and Great people”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Garlic Press will standout- food, wine and people are super! It can be noisy so go early. There are no wrong answers here. Trust the staff- they love what they do! We have been eating here for over ten years and keep it on our short list for lunch or dinner. Outside dining is limited- that isn't why we eat there.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    62
    25
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Midland, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Consistently Good”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

I haven't had a bad experience yet, although I wish they served the seared tuna appetizer at lunch and dinner, rather than just dinner. I would eat that as a lunch entrée salad. Sometimes the service can be a bit slow, but this is Midland, and it is really hard to staff people. I would recommend for anyone, whether they are visiting or long time residents.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midland, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Favorite Midland restaurant”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

This is our go-to place for special occasions. Love their food! We even had the rehearsal dinner for our son's wedding party there. Favorites include steak with their delicious toppings, veal and they usually have crème brulee.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Txlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“IT IS THE BEST”
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

My wife and I love to eat, we are what some call foodies. The Garlic Press was worth every bite. The food was cooked to perfection and had great flavor to ever bite. This is now one of are favorite new favorite places to eat. If you do go, order a tender loin steak with Lobster truffle butter. It's ti die for and so soft. You will love it to. It is a little pricey but worth every center.

Helpful?
2 Thank mclpz2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midland, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Very glad we came back!”
Reviewed 6 February 2014

I previously wrote a very critical review on this resturaunt. We went back last week at the urging of our friends and I am very glad we did. Everything was excellent and about as opposite from our previous experience as possible. Service was prompt and courteous, our meals arrived with perfect timing and the food was exceptional. I had the salmon and my wife had flounder, another in our party had the filet. The fish was perfectly cooked and the filet was fork tender and perfectly medium rare as ordered. The Chocalate Chip Raspberry bread pudding was also excellent.

Overall a very pleasant experience!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Garlic Press also viewed

 

Been to The Garlic Press? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing