We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Midland
Ranked #13 of 45 Hotels in Midland
Houston, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We were very happy with our stay here. The staff was efficient and friendly. The room was spacious and clean. Housekeeping did a through job on the room every day. Breakfast was very good--omelets, waffles, fresh fruit among other typical selections. I have stayed in many hotels in Midland and this is one of the best. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    36
    14
    12
    12
See reviews for
43
14
6
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hunstsville, AL
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Arrived in Midland at sundown last night and couldn't find the Comfort Inn because it no longer exists. So, we stopped at the Country Inn and Suites. There is a new hotel being built in front of the Country Inn and Suites and it's a construction zone, and clearly some of the crew is staying at the Country Inn or next door at a low-quality inn. The problem was the immediate appearance was one of blue collar Motel 6. Tired, we asked for a room and the rate was $129.00! That was $30 higher than the stellar Comfort Inn and Suites we stayed at the night before. The lobby was badly in need of sprucing, and the parquet floor bore the scars of scuffy boots and too many roller bag wheels. The room itself was clean and cozy, but the bathroom door kept sticking and there was piece of baseboard tile missing at the tub, so a concrete section, complete with mold, was visible. The swimming pool was small, and the fence covered with green mesh, one presumes to keep the dust out. We chatted with a couple and their kids, who promptly informed us they weren't staying at the hotel but come there to swim because they live nearby. So, the pool was not secure and open to anyone who wanted to drop by. A couple of times in the night I went out to my car to find construction workers in the parking lot chatting with women who were clearly working girls of the oldest profession. Indeed, at 3 a.m. I had to go to the car to retrieve some medicine and the visitors were still visible. The overall effect of this place was to resemble staying at a Motel 6 next to a roadhouse bar. Despite the clean room, the lack of secured premises outside and the presence of what appeared to me to be illegal activity -- and most likely this was bleeding over from the low-quality motel next door, gave me a bad impression and and I won't be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thecowboylawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Stopped overnite for a place to lay our head after a long day on the road. When we arrived the exterior is nice enough even though construction works were taking place directly opposite. The foyer/entrance and breakfast area is a little too cluttered with ornaments etc for my liking but that's a personal thing. Can't say we were greeted with a smile or friendly manner either on check in and check out wasn't much better. The rooms are fine. Clean, tidy and comfortable. The breakfast is ok. Parking was good. Quite expensive for what it is I felt considering its in the middle of nowhere and no real tourist attractions that we could see and the rooms are standard.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dragondiva10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morris County, NJ
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Country Inns are typically pretty good, and this was typical in most respects. It was expensive, which all hotels in Midland are and I don't know why, especially when we were there and occupancy was low. Internet in the room would die sporadically. In the business center, it would die almost every time I tried to load a webpage. Very frustrating. Maybe most hotel Internet service is bad, but I'm road tripping through Texas, staying at lots of hotels, and the others have all been pretty good. This one was very poor.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mie61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Midland is a very expensive place to stay. This hotel was a great value. It is back off the interstate enough that you don't hear the noise. It is close to shopping and places to eat. The hotel seemed fairly new. The grounds were very clean. Checkin was fast and easy. Our room was clean and comfortable. The AC was cold and the fridge and TV worked. Free wi-fi. The breakfast area was large. The breakfast was a little better than typical in today's market, waffles, eggs, bacon, potatoes, danishes, cereal, juice, milk and coffee.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Old_age_explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Pleasant, Texas, United States
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Overall this was a good choice. The rate was a little more than we usually pay but for this location it was an excellent rate. There was no restaurant, but they served a huge variety of hot and cold foods for the continental breakfast. We were there for a family funeral. Midland is a nice city but is a place I would go only to visit family or for business.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richardson, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Not a typical Country Inn & Suites that caused me to pick this joint. It's not easy to mess up a stay as well as this place did. The hotel was a simple stopping point on a return trip to Dallas. It was a typical clean no frills room. And that's when the noise started. It was windy out and the untrimmed bushes beat on the windows all night. The air conditioning unit switched on and off every two minutes at airport runway sound levels. Whoever was in the rooms above me did jumping jacks all night. We saddled up at 5:30 unable to sleep and hit the road.

Room Tip: Pick a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ptbyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlson Hotels C, Carlson at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Midland, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to reach out to us. We understand how important a quiet environment is and apologize specifically for the A/C and the noise outside your window. Your feedback helps us prevent situations such as this in the future. We hope you will give us another chance if you are in the area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Midland hotels
1.2 mi away
Mainstay Suites
Mainstay Suites
#17 of 45 in Midland
18 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Midland Suites
4.2 mi away
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Midland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Midland
2.0 mi away
Wyndham Garden Midland
Wyndham Garden Midland
#31 of 45 in Midland
262 reviews
5.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Midland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Midland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Midland

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Midland
Address: 920 W Interstate 20, Midland, TX 79701-2001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Midland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 45 Hotels in Midland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Midland 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are 2 miles from downtown off Interstate 20. We offer complimentary hot breakfast, free long distance calls, large fitness center, business center, and more!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Midland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Hotel Midland
Country Inn And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing