We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For the money they paid, the least they could do is clean the room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Texan Hotel & Convention Center
Ranked #37 of 46 Hotels in Midland
Reviewed 27 June 2014

If you are stuck in Midland and need an overnight stay, prepare to pay through your nose. This was a cheaper hotel than the rest of the budget ones, just $170 a night (sigh...). We had a suite booked. The suite was ok, but DIRTY. Really, looked like a cat had gone through and swished its tail. Hair tangled around faucets, a long black hair in the microwave, stuff that previous guests left in the drawers (luckily they were candies and not condoms), greasy hand marks on the fridge door. The floor had not been vacuumed- it was very obvious. We did address the issue with the front desk at check out. Like they care.
The breakfast was good, and the Indian dinner was great. But those are not what I was looking for. I did not care for the pool- 1000 people floating in it, noisy and dirty, with unfinished floor and cement crumbling all over,
If I cannot have a clean room, you can polish your lobby till you drop. This hotel needs ATTENTION.
At $170 a night one would expect a bottle of water at least at reception. Nada.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adelina14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed at this Hotel this weekend and it was just a fun, friendly place. It needs some updating and they are working on that. We had a great time. Family friendly. Indoor pool with a great slide, putt putt golf, pool tables, ping pong, whirlpool and large areas for families to hang out. Great complimentary breakfast and did I mention how terrific the staff is. This is also a convention center so lots of great rooms for events. It is really worth your time to check this place out.

Room Tip: Our room was an outside entrance and for the most part quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Honeydoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

My husband got with Isabel the girl who helps set up the suite he really wanted the honeymoon suite but I cant climb stairs really well so they help him by fix up a BRAND NEW SUITE they just finished remodeling for him as a Surprise. Isabel was awesome and so was everyone else involved with the most wonderful surprise. When we got there he went in to get the key and make sure the room was ready for us. Isabel was there to at the room to greet us and we both was blown away by what they did to make our 30th anniversary so special. John had them get me a Texas dozen of Yellow Roses my favorite to be there for us he knew about the bottle which was 2 bottles of non-alcoholic apple cider, but didn't know about the 2 huge piece if double chocolate cake, Rose petals leading from the living room to the bedroom and on my bed then there was 2 wine glasses with the bottle in ice with a box of Whitman's sampler choc box. We had a jets in our big bath tub for 2. They went on and above in my sight to make my day so special. When we checked out the front desk personal ask how was our stay and said hope you had a wonderful Anniversary and congratulation to you both. That made my day.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TeresaKight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We were booked into this hotel for a recent tennis tournament. My first impression was of unease. The check in took 20 minutes and the PHOTOCOPIED my credit card. The woman behind the counter was extremely rude. Finally we made it to our rooms, passing through their pool area. The entire place smelled of mold and carpet replacement pieces were everywhere. The work out room is made up of two old treadmills, a weight bench, and bike all of which are worn and old. It is in the middle of the pool area and also smells of mildew and old sweat. The rooms are not cleaned between guests. Each of our families had crumbs and old sheets in their rooms, a few with stains. One family actually went to get lysol and cleaning supplies just to be able to stay there. Another of our families had their room resold twice in the night. Once at 11:00 and once at 4:00 in the morning there were other guests trying to get into their room. There was no breakfast at all in the morning. They said they were having a late state. We left at 8:00 and still no breakfast. Every employee we met there was rude and dismissive. We were thankfully moved to a different hotel but the Grand Texas refused to discount any of our rooms because we didn't complain "soon enough". For 100.00$ a night, this is unexceptable. Find a different hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pgc3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

The Grand Texan Hotel was a very nice place to stay during the week, during the weekend it would get pretty noisy with the workers who had their families come in. The hotel had a very nice free breakfast buffet. They had a indoor swimming pool, hot tub, a exercise room, pool table, ping pong table, a couple video games, mini golf for anyone to play who was staying there. All of these were indoor. Even with them re-carpeting the place it was nice. The price was high but in that area it was normal.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theresa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Place looked like a vacuum or mop hasn't touched the floors in months. Found previous occupants drinks under beds. But we were tired and the bed sheets looked clean. Hot tub gritty from sand. Indoor pool COLD. Clean breakfast buffet tho and nice staff

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meatandpotato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Kayla H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Midland hotels
1.5 mi away
Wyndham Garden Midland
Wyndham Garden Midland
#33 of 46 in Midland
264 reviews
2.6 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Midland
2.2 mi away
Residence Inn Midland
Residence Inn Midland
#13 of 46 in Midland
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Midland
1.8 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel
5.3 mi away
Plaza Inn Midland
Plaza Inn Midland
#29 of 46 in Midland
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Texan Hotel & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Texan Hotel & Convention Center

Address: 4300 W Wall St, Midland, TX 79703-7722
Region: United States > Texas > Midland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 46 Hotels in Midland
Price Range: £79 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Texan Hotel & Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In addition to a complimentary water park, Grand Texan Hotel & Convention Center features a waterslide and an indoor pool. Dining is available at one of the hotel's 2 restaurants. A bar/lounge is on site where guests can unwind with a drink. Guests can enjoy a complimentary breakfast each morning. A computer station is located on site and wireless Internet access is complimentary. Business-related amenities at this 3-star property consist of a 24-hour business center and meeting rooms. Event facilities measuring 21969 square feet (2041 square meters) include conference space. This family-friendly hotel also offers a children's pool, a spa tub, and a 24-hour fitness center. A roundtrip airport shuttle is complimentary to guests (available 24 hours). Complimentary self parking is available on site. A total renovation of this property was completed in 2014. Grand Texan Hotel & Convention Center is a smoke-free property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Texan Hotel & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel And Conference Center Midland
Clarion Midland
Midland Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing