We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful trails”

Mineola Nature Preserve
Ranked #1 of 10 things to do in Mineola
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Mineola Nature Preserve on the Sabine River encompasses 2,911 acres located in Wood County, and is home to East Texas species of critters that can fly, walk, crawl, and slither, and home to more than 193 species of birds, numerous wildlife, buffalo, longhorn cattle, and a pristine wetlands environment. Imagine walking along a railroad bed built in the 1860s as you step back in history. Owned by the City of Mineola, this is part of a comprehensive development plan to protect our natural wildlife and habitat for future generations. This pristine area is an escape to the quiet of nature and the solitude of yesteryear.With construction beginning in 2002, the Preserve is being constructed with matching grants from Texas Parks and Wildlife Department and others and maintained by funding from the City of Mineola. Walking, hiking, biking, birding, wildlife viewing, equestrian trails (over 20 miles), fishing ponds, picnic areas, primitive camping areas, Recreational Vehicle Utility Connections at THE DERBY, two pavilions with restrooms, playground and educational opportunities abound. Don't miss the active beehive on Johnnie Bendy Trail that can be viewed behind safety glass. There is an abandoned rail bed that lends itself well to accommodate walkers, and a history of that era that romanticizes the area that is recognized by historical markers, such as the Hasinai Tribe of the Caddo Indian Nation. This area is an ideal corporate retreat with facilities to support either a short term or long term stay.According to an article in the November (08) Texas Parks and Wildlife Magazine, this Preserve is in the top 15 city parks in the nation for its size. The goal is to make the list as a top 10 choice destination for educators, birders, hikers, bikers, equestrians, local, regional, and national groups. In many respects, the site is still in the visionary state, with both progress and plans continuing to develop.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful trails”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

If you're looking for a really peaceful place to walk or ride your bike this is it. There are also miles of equestrian trails if you're traveling with horses. The view at the top of the hill is gorgeous and there are facilities to grill and picnic, both covered and in the open. Everything from totem pole to bee hive display to quaint garden can be found here. There is no charge to enjoy this awesome place.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    8
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Quitman, United States
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“As a fairly new resident in Quitman, I found this park”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We've been to this Preserve many times in the past two years. We belong to N.E.T.A.S.A., a horseback riding club and find it to be a great place to bring our horses for a 3 or 4 hour ride, even on Texas summer days (after rains it can be less fun because of the mud!)They have many trails which are very well marked and are well maintained. The facilities include corrals, clean rest rooms with showers, hoses for washing the sweat off the horses, water spigots for drinking water, a handicap mounting area, picnic tables and all for $5/horse! We heartily recommend the Preserve for riding.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dorene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockwall, Texas
Level Contributor
72 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Free Family Fun”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This is a great place for easy hiking. We took our 4-yo twins & they didn't have any trouble. Much of the trails are shaded, however, it was still pretty humid & we were done after a couple of hours. We took the loop from the pavilion to Beaver Pond to look for the alligator but we didn't find him. It wasn't far and the trail was large and cleared of debris.
Things to know before you go:
There aren't any concessions.
There are bathrooms at the pavilion but they were out of toilet paper.
You can take a lunch, there are picnic tables both at the pavilion and along some of the trails.
The map seems confusing but the trails are well marked. I advise you to take a picture with your phone of the big map at the pavilion. It's more detailed than the one I printed from the website.
The GPS found it well from the address on the website.
You can take bikes and ride all the way down to the Sabine River which is 2.5 miles from the pavilion.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank hmnichols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Little Gem in East Texas”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We went here on a cool, rainy day in early June. For a little town place it was wonderful. It was beautlfully maintained. We walked for over two miles on anold railroad bed that was cleared for walking. We would walk with plenty of room and not be concerned about getting into poison ivy or anything like that. The history was written on signs too, which made it all the more interesting. There were other little things to look at, a working bee hive, historic bridges, etc. I think there are horse and biking trails too. I want to go again on a cool Spring or Fall Day and walk some of the other trails. There were no trail guides in the designated box, but there were signs.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Itchyfoot2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mineola, Texas
Level Contributor
93 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Very Nice for all ages”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

The Mineola Nature Preserve has it all. Camping, hiking, fishing and a playground. Not very far from downtown, but once you arrive it is like you are far away from the hustle and bustle of the city. The areas are very well maintained. If you are lucky you may even see the alligator that lives there. An added plus is the many events they have scheduled. If you have the chance to go please don't miss out on the Mineola Nature Preserve.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jerry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mineola Nature Preserve also viewed

 

Been to Mineola Nature Preserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing