We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, Comfortable, and a good Value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Suites Mission-Mcallen Area

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Suites Mission-Mcallen Area
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Mission
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
147 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Clean, Comfortable, and a good Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2011

I stayed here for a single night while on business in the Mission/McAllen area recently. This hotel is well located just south of US-83 on Shary Road and is very close to a multitude of restaurants and stores. Check-in and out were handled very quickly by their efficient and friendly staff. I stayed in a very large, decently decorated room that was very clean. The bedding and linens were good, the bed was very comfortable, and the room was quiet. The TV was NOT one of the newer HDTV's but was decent. The room was not equipped with a microwave or small refrigerator. The room rate included a very good continental breakfast that included hot items (eggs, bacon, biscuits, pancakes, cinnamon rolls, gravy, etc.) as well as the usual, coffee, milk, juices, breads, fruit, yogurt, etc. A nice feature was the "Managers Reception" where they provided appetizers (Chicken wings, chips, queso, chips) and beverages (beer, wine, water, cokes, etc) in the early evening hours. There was nice business center with a single computer, internet, and printer. This is a very nice place and I will definitely consider staying here again when in the Mission/McAllen area.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AustinMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    24
    10
    1
    4
See reviews for
27
7
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2009

We stayed for 7 nights at this hotel. The staff was very friendly,pleasant and willing to accomodate whatever your needs were. The rooms are spacious and very clean. The breakfast was above par compared to other continental type breakfast places. We have stayed at many more expensive hotels and did not receive this type of service. I highly recommend this hotel if you are in the area of the Rio Grande Valley. It is convenient to everything with some great golf courses in the area.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evarogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hartford, NY
Level Contributor
223 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2008

My wife and I stayed here in April, 2008. Nice, clean room, comfortable beds. Air conditioner worked fine. Choc/chip cookies at the desk on arrival.
Bkfst in the am was very adequate.
Easy to find.
Only one computer for us to use.

Great place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NYBob6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston TX
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2008

We had originally planned to spend two nights at this hotel but checked out after only one because we experienced so many problems. We stayed in what they term a "junior suite" with two queen beds. The beds were uncomfortable, with hard, thin mattresses, and some of the sheets had holes and stains. Also, the air conditioning unit was the noisiest I've ever encountered in a hotel (although it did cool the room adequately). In addition, there was inadequate lighting in the room.

The bathroom sink was positioned very low, at the height of a small child, not suitable for adults.

On the two occasions I attempted to get ice, the machine on our floor had no ice in it, although it did appear to be running. I tried to get ice on the evening we checked in and again the next morning. The second time it happened, I went to the floor above us (our room was on the second floor), and that machine also had no ice. I FINALLY managed to find ice on the 1st floor.

I went to the front desk to inform them about the ice problem, but no one was present. No one was there when we checked in (mid-afternoon) either. We rang a bell on the desk, and it took several minutes for someone to come out to assist us. This is not the level of service or accommodation I was expecting for a room costing over $100. Trust me, you do NOT want to stay at this hotel!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Uncomfortable beds; noisy air conditioner
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Catbird7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corpus Christi
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2007

I was recently in Mission, Texas for my sons wedding and a lot was going on. I booked a room at your hotel and when I went to check in, the smiling front desk clerk by the name of John Jones was very accomodating. Whether it be directions to where we needed to go or just requesting addtional towels, Mr. Jones was very polite. There was one point where I was at the front desk and Mr. Jones politely excused himself to answer the phone and again, politely asked the person on the phone if he would be able to call them right back. As my friend and I were walking away, we heard him return that phone call and proceed to make contact with that future guest. Everything was "Yes maam, No maam". You just don't here those kinds of manners anymore, unfortunately. I am in Customer Service myself, and it is so refreshing to come in contact with such a delightful young man. Upon checking in, he showed us on a map exactly where my room was, as well as the swimming pool and other areas of the hotel. I would highly recommend Holiday Inn Express, Mission, Texas to any of my friends and look forward to a return visit. Thank you for my delightful stay and for Mr. John Jones and his excellent customer service.

  • Liked — the great customer service
  • Disliked — everything was wonderful
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cindyincorpus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
variety of places
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2006

We arrived at the hotel a bit early at 2 pm so our room was not ready we were told to return at 3 so we went shopping till 3 pm. We went back to the hotel out executive suite was ready. First off hotel is very new on the inside, as well as the outside. We checked in what a breeze. We went to the room and it was a fantastic room very good size and nice size bathroom :) Sofa was comfy as well as the bed. We relaxed and explored the hotel such as the gym, computer room and pool/jacuzzi all nice amenties. The hotel is an xcellent location right across from golf course and near lots of shopping. The hotel is about 35 minutes from Mexico, just close enough but not too close to do soem great shopping over there. Stayed there for two nights, enjoyed also the breakfast in hotel. CHeck out was a breeze. Overall I highly recommend this hotel, very quiet and serene hotel :)

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rickilakefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mission
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mission
1.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Mission at West McAllen
0.7 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham McAllen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 9 in Mission
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.7 mi away
Motel 6 Mission
Motel 6 Mission
#8 of 9 in Mission
3.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
2.1 mi away
Las Palmas Inn
Las Palmas Inn
#4 of 9 in Mission
3.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Suites Mission-Mcallen Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Suites Mission-Mcallen Area

Property: Holiday Inn Express Suites Mission-Mcallen Area
Address: 901 S Shary Rd, Mission, TX 78572-9106
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Mission
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Mission
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Suites Mission-Mcallen Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mission/McAllen is the newest hotel concept to serve both business and leisure travelers, now featuring free wireless high-speed Internet. We are located at the intersection of US Expressway 83 and South Shary Road in the heart of the Mission, McAllen, and Sharyland Trade Zones. We are located across the street from the exclusive Cimarron Golf Club. The hotel offers easy access to all points in the Rio Grande Valley and Northern Mexico. Our hotel consists of beautifully appointed one-bedroom suites, executive suites, or traditional rooms with one king or two queen beds. Relax in our swimming pool and 'Texas-Size' Jacuzzi, or exercise in our fitness room. Our 24-hr. business center with PC, printer also may be used as an Executive Boardroom for up to 7 people. Ask about our Citrus Room for your next meeting, which has a capacity for up to 70 people. The staff members are bilingual in both English and Spanish. Our over sized rooms include a coffee maker, hairdryer, iron and board, full length mirror, vanity bench, large work desk, two line telephone, voicemail, free local phone calls, and a 25-inch television with expanded cable. We look forward to seeing you here at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mission/McAllen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, IHG, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Suites Mission-Mcallen Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Suites Mission-Mcallen Area Hotel Mission
Holiday Inn Mission
Mission Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Suites Mission-Mcallen Area Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing