We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful room but not the cleanest” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Candlewood Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Candlewood Suites
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Monahans
Watertown, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful room but not the cleanest”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

The service was very nice and friendly and answered all our questions and were so very helpful. Our room was beautiful! It had a big long desk, nice flat screen tv, the beds were very comfortable, full size tv, kitchenette. Everything was very nice but there was a dirty pillow case left on the floor between the bed and window area and the shower looked like it wasn't cleaned because of the chrome having water spots. I use to be a housekeeper when I was younger so I know if the chrome isn't shiny, it wasn't cleaned properly. Other then those few things, it was very nice. If your not familiar with the area, I recommend you book early. Monahans is a small town between bigger oil boom towns so hotel rooms sell out fast. They do give military discount so ask if your military. We could hear the highway a little bit and we were on the 2nd floor.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank e5wife01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda S, Public Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to do a review of our hotel the Candlewood Suites in Monahans, TX. We really appreciate your feedback.
We are so happy that you liked our hotel but we sincerely apologize for the issues you had. Your comments are what helps us get better. We will be addressing these issues with our Executive Housekeeper to make sure it does not happen again.
If you are in this area in the future, please stop by and stay with us again.
Sincerely,
Linda Snow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    4
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
6
2
6
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

This is actually a really nice hotel, really comfort bed and pillows, I stayed here for a couple of days and made me feel myself at home, the front desk attendants are really nice people always showing of their best no doubt, even though theres no breakfast in the morning but still i would rate this hotel the best one from monahans
p.s the pool is very warm

Room Tip: rooms on the 4th floor are quiter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda S, General Manager at Candlewood Suites, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to do the great review for our hotel here at the Candlewood Suites in Monahans. We really appreciate it. We hope that on your next visit to our area you will stop by and stay with us again.
Sincerly,
Martha Harris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ebensburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
305 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

A new hotel, this place has anything a traveler could need. The rooms are spacious and well appointed. Being that it is located in "oil city", I didn't expect such cleanliness. No smells or stains as happens in well used hotels. Even though it is right along I20, the traffic noise didn't keep us awake.
Highly recommend.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank plbbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda S, Public Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from our guests. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for the Candlewood Suites in Monahans, TX. I will share your comments with the housekeeping staff so that they will know there hard work does not go unnoticed. We appreciate you sharing your experience with us. We hope that you will stay with us again when you are in our area. Thanks again.
Sincerly,
LInda Snow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

All decent lodging in Monahans is ridiculously expensive. However we stayed at the Candlewood for $127 the night. The hotel is faily new so it has a fresh clean look; the room was spacious, clean and equipped with a small kitchenette to do your own cooking. Laundry room is available and they have additional appliances such as blenders, juicers and toasters for guest's use. We were very pleased.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ruth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda S, Public Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about the Candlewood Suites in Monahans, TX. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed our Lending Locker and our complimentary guest laundry. Yes, the kitchenettes are great too if you feel like cooking. Hopefully, you will stop by and stay with us again when you are in our area.
Thanks again.
Sincerly,
Linda Snow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athens, ga
Level Contributor
79 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Monahans is experiencing one heck of an oil boom so lodging is quite pricey and needs to be booked in advance if you want a chance to stop for the night there. This is a great location for an extended stay - but just okay for an overnight stop. The rooms are really set-up for the extended stay traveler and the hotel offers very few amenities for the overnight traveler - not even coffee in the lobby.

I am not upset with my stay here and it is a good hotel that is brand new, but I am still suffering from sticker shock for what I got.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank accbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda S, Public Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Thank you very much for the review you wrote for the Candlewood Suites in Monahans, TX.. We very much appreciate and value your feedback. Even if you are here for one night or several nights we want you to have a great experience with us. I am so sorry you missed our complimentary coffee, hot chocolate and assortment of teas. These aminities are located in the Cupboard. We are a new hotel and we are still working out all of the kinks, but we will make sure that in the future we let all of our guests know about our complimentary drinks.
Thanks again and please stop by and stay with us when you are in our area.
Sincerly,
LInda Snow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

About 2 weeks ago we were on our way to Phoenix, AZ from Tyler, TX and the sun was starting to set. My wife looked at trip advisor on her iPhone for local hotels and this one came up as a recommendation. The price seemed reasonable, so we decided to stop in. Since we had kids with us, we chose the one bedroom king suite and let me tell you, we were pleasantly surprised. Everything looked brand new and seeing a full kitchen & bedroom with a door you could shut put a smile on everyone's face. I've never felt more at home than at this hotel. There were two LG flat screen tv's(one in the living room & one in the bedroom). The kids slept on the queen sized pull out sofa bed and my wife and I slept on the comfy king in the bedroom. After our relaxing night we continued our journey the next morning. The hotel we stayed at in Phoenix had nothing on this one, but you can guess where we stayed at on the way back! :-) No breakfast, but McDonald's is right across the street. The staff was friendly and accommodating. Wonderful experience!! 5/5 Don't miss this Gem. Thank you Candlewood Suites!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda S, Public Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with a review of your recent stay with us at the Candlewood Suites in Monahans, TX. My staff and I really appreciated all of the kind words you had to say about our hotel. Nothing makes us happier than to hear we are doing it right. Hope to see you again soon.
Sincerly,
Linda Snow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

After a drive from Dallas, we arrived late one night before a wedding. The receptionist Chelsea was gracious and speedy. We had a hungry/sleepy/cranky 3 year old in tow and she offered items from The Cupboard which stock items such as snacks, easy prepare meals, and even medicine. They have a FREE video library that has everything from children movies to action packed ones. We opted for Madagascar and Rio. The rooms are SO SPACIOUS. They have a 2 burner range, microwave, full size refrigerator and REAL dishes. The beds are pure Heaven. Just soft enough while still giving great support. Additionally, when returning from the wedding we saw a few people grilling steaks next to the pool in a covered seating area. The only thing I would have liked would have been a hot breakfast provided in the lobby. However, I must say the Cupboard items more than make up for the missing breakfast. There is also a McDonald's directly across the street. Overall, this was a beautiful new hotel (you can even smell how new it is), more reasonably priced than others around and the hospitality is phenomenal. We originally were booked for one night but decided to stay one more night. Will definitely stay again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Areial S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda S, Public Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Thank you so much for your gracious review of our hotel. We are so excited that you enjoyed your stay with us. Pleasing our guest is what we are all about. Please stop by and stay with us again when you are out in West Texas.
Sincerly,
Linda Snow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monahans
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Monahans Inn & Suites
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
1.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Monahans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Monahans
0.5 mi away
Texan Inn
Texan Inn
#1 of 2 in Monahans
3.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
22.0 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites

Property: Candlewood Suites
Address: 1902 S Stockton Ave, Monahans, TX 79756-6508
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Monahans
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Monahans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, IHG and Odigeo so you can book your Candlewood Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing