We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perhaps it's "really more of a weekend thing (or place)?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Torretta Lake Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Montgomery
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perhaps it's "really more of a weekend thing (or place)?”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

We take a family vacation with my wife's family every year, and this was is the fifth year of that tradition. We all have young kids (5yo & under), and the resort's website made La Torretta seem like a good place to try. Last year we went to the Hyatt Hill Country Resort in San Antonio, and we were hoping for a repeat "great experience". Online, the resort "categorically" met our list of requirements (room with a bed, pool for the kids, and on-site dining). In reality, we were disappointed. The hotel rooms are nice, but I've paid less for more amenities in more popular locations. I would not consider the rooms kid friendly (except for the decent-sized tv's). The bathroom floors get very slippery when wet (somewhat concerning when you have young kids). The balconies are narrow, have no furniture, and are not really "usable relaxation space". If you want a view, make sure to get a higher floor (5-6th at least?) otherwise you'll probably be looking at trees or the driveway. A working meal situation, for young kids, was NOT available away from the CoCo Cove Grill (not available after 5pm) which is (conveniently) right between the lazy river, toddler pool, and "tipping bucket" pool. The second-best food option was Restaurant 157...but that restaurant didn't have a kid-friendly menu, and the setting (glass stemware, oversized plush chairs) was also not kid friendly, although kids eat free there (and only there). The other food options were cloth napkin, glass-stemware, trendy-upscale steak/sushi menu restaurants....great for adults (I love sushi and steaks) but not for kids, and not if the kids have to sit still on a couch and eat off a coffee-table (sushi restaurant). Concerning activities, at least the kid pools were a hit with the kids, because there was really nothing else for the kids to do. Miniature golf (a worn-down course, and don't fall in the water) is ok, but even further from the hotel/pools than the 157. The "sand beach" is more of a sand/mud/algae beach (although that is not surprising as it is on a freshwater lake). We made one mistake..our stay was during the week. The resort's website advertises many activities, and we saw some of them on Youtube videos...s'mores/campfire, movie night, poolside games. In the words of a young slender guy at the check-in counter (who answered "no" to every request I made), "those activities are more of a weekend thing". The young guy at the check in counter had the demeanor of a nightclub bouncer--extra friendly to the young ladies checking in, but shoulder-shrugs and a move-them-along attitude for the rest. Perhaps I should not be surprised, but it's supposed to be an upscale hotel. Most of the people at the resort were friendly, even if the physical resort was not. I give special kudos to "Charlie", with the valet/ welcome crew. Charlie had the not-so-fun job of pointing out the parking location for those who do not valet park- a ten minute walk around the lake (but at least that parking is free). Charlie was especially friendly, kind to the kids, and helpful. I also give kudos to the staff at the CoCo Cove. They were quite friendly and generous, but short-staffed and worked hard (I had a conversation with one of the waitstaff about his workload, rude patrons, etc). I also got to watch an unfinished meal-basket (not ours) sit for a few hours, fill with rainwater, and then be picked clean by birds....and the birds picked up lots of food in the CoCo area. Some parts of the resort seemed new (pool area). Others seemed very old (a semi-abandoned, cobweb-filled game room next to the tennis-courts and mini-golf). The fitness area is very spacious and well-stocked with equipment....some seemingly new, and some (treadmills) rather worn out. The resort also doesn't offer any way to play on Lake Conroe, other than paddle boards, which is surprising. Fishing might work from some of the very empty docks. The hotel grounds are nice, but look like they too are served by an undersized staff. Details, like a broken hose on the tipping bucket at the bucket pool; abandoned, wet clothes in puddles sitting under poolside chairs for three days; cracked poolside chairs; the dirty uppermost row of windows in the check-in area; small pave-stone shortcuts in the pool area (tripping hazard, should be a sidewalk); the abandoned landscaping area inside the lazy river (basically a lazy-loop); an unused shack/building between the lazy river/bucket-pool/lake; and the very sad-looking s'mores fire-pit (a glorified backyard patio fire pit) hint of a place that is struggling. All in all, we will most likely not go back, even when the kids are older. There are far too many other places to go and try or revisit.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank mrmonroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaTorrettaResort, Manager at La Torretta Lake Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you so much for your detailed review of your recent stay. It is feedback like yours that will help us improve the overall resort experience. We have taken your comments and will address them with the different departments in an effort to isolate the shortcomings and improve them immediately. We apologize your front desk experience was not pleasant and we will work with our team to ensure that no guest is treated in a similar fashion. We are also taking your notes to our Maintenance and Engineering department to fix any aqua park issues. If you would like to discuss your stay further, please email us at managingdirector@latorrettalakeresort.com. We do hope you’ll reconsider and give our resort another chance to improve upon a fun and relaxing family vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    460
    353
    248
    167
    119
See reviews for
584
275
16
223
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My Husband and I stayed here for his surprise 40th weekend gettaway...kids loved the ammenities (especially the pools)...room was clean and beautiful and we got to experience paddleboarding for the first time together. I was a little worried reading some of the reviews, but we absolutely loved the resort and will definitely return. The kitchen area in the room was large enough for us to bring a lot of our own food which saved $$$. We did eat at 157 however thought it was a bit pricey for the amount of and food selection. Otherwise, we did not want to leave! The putt putt golf was fun, grounds were clean and staff and guests were friendly! Our boys did want a basketball court, but they had fun with the tennis courts. They have a military discount as well! We will be returning for sure!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the lake were quiet with a gorgeous view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GomezSA7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaTorrettaResort, Manager at La Torretta Lake Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you so much for your positive feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay. Please follow us on Facebook or Twitter for upcoming promotions and specials. We’ll look forward to having you and your family back really soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We regularly stay at La Torretta because of its great location on the lake and we are able to dock our boat and jet ski. This week end, we had an unfortunate experience with the valet as they lost our laptop. Not impressed with the valet service; however, the hotel management staff did everything they could to find our laptop, and finally were able to retrieve it. To compensate us for the trouble they put us through, they gave us a 2 night free stay for our next stay. No question that they will make some changes with their valet service. The hotel stepped up to the plate, and we will definitely come back.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ghislaine411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaTorrettaResort, Manager at La Torretta Lake Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback. We do apologize for the inconvenience of losing your laptop. We are working with the appropriate team to ensure that type of incident never happens again. We look forward to having you with us again, and showing you our true standard of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prosper, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

A friend notified me of the Groupon for this resort back in April and we both thought it would be a great place to gather and let our kids play while the parents enjoyed the 'resort' part. Driving up during the day, it looks as though the property is straight out of the 70's. Before even stepping foot in the door I was a little concerned. We checked in to our room and was pleasantly surprised by the size of the room and the updates made, the modern furniture and spacious area were perfect for our family.
Our first night there, we chose to walk around the property and check out the pool for a bit. The landscaping was truly lacking and their were bugs and spiders covering the furniture at the pool. Not to mention that the plastic lounge chairs at the pool were nothing to be excited over. In fact, all images of the resort online show them covered with a lovely padding - of which they are not now. We grabbed multiple extra towels to pad our tushes.
First full day there, we hung out at the kid pool area. Our children 4 and 2 loved the area. The lazy river being heated was plus, but the bugs and leaves that were all over ended up inside my bathing suit and left me itching all evening.
We only ate onsite 2 times. Once at the pool and once at the sushi restaurant. Being mid summer, there weren't near as many people here as I imagined there would be. They aren't busy enough to successfully run 5 restaurants on site while keeping their food fresh, so we chose to eat of site for the majority of our stay. The service pool side was severely lacking. I think they had one server for each pool area, of which there may be 3 - and extremely overpriced drinks.
Friends who came along, attempted to enjoy the 'beach' one morning and simply walked away. There was a visible pipe the ran from near the hotel into the water. Not sure what it was, but maybe a sign there reassuring visitors of what is coming out would be beneficial.
Our friends stayed in the cottages and for the most part enjoyed that part of their stay. Pulling up to the cottages is less than to be desired and the outside of them gives no feeling or clue to how they are on the inside. Also, after a server thunderstorm hit on afternoon, they waited for approximately 45 minutes to get a ride on the 'shuttle' back to their room because it was allowed to run out of gas.
My family, on our last evening, decided to visit the putt putt area. It was somewhat enjoyable besides the fact that it smelled foul the entire time because I'm not sure when the last time the water feature there had been cleaned. The tennis court pro shop area hasn't been touched and years and you can tell it was left out of the renovation.
Overall, would I recommend this resort? Sure, if you have never been to a real resort like the Hyatt Hill Country or the JW Marriott Hill Country. I agree like another reviewer and think it's not appropriate to label this place a resort. I received the government rate on our room for being a teacher and wouldn't have been happy paying more than that.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaTorrettaResort, Manager at La Torretta Lake Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you so much for your detailed feedback of your recent stay. Our resort is several years old and underwent a $135 million dollar renovation recently. Some of the exterior was not touched but we are continually trying to update each area as much as possible. We will take your notes into consideration and work to improve the overall guest experience. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

A recent business event was my first time to stay at La Torretta. I was impressed by the clean and spacious rooms, and the very pretty facility. The front desk staff were always kind and helpful. Food was very good as well. The breakfast buffet is extensive and tasty. Dinner at the Lakeside restaurant was outstanding!

The quiet and relaxing atmosphere, the good food and overall nice experience led me to make a reservation to return with my wife in the near future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AggieYellowJacket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaTorrettaResort, Manager at La Torretta Lake Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback. We are so pleased that your recent business stay was both enjoyable and productive. We are very excited for you and your wife to return to the resort. Follow us on Facebook or Twitter for upcoming events and promotions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

My husband and I live in Houston and wanted to stay at a resort that we could drive to. We found La Torretta online and it was exactly what we were looking for :) it has been completely renovated and everything is brand new. All the rooms are beautiful suites with a huge bathroom and living room. Beautiful lake view too! And there was an adult pool for those wanting that, but my husband and I lounged at the main pool and had wonderful bar service poolside.
It's so much fun for kids too. Waterslides, lazy river with tubes, and lots of activities.
The staff was really friendly and my favorite part was the piano bar :) and beautiful ballroom for weddings too overlooking the lake!
We had a wonderful weekend!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luv2travelordine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaTorrettaResort, Manager at La Torretta Lake Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
This feedback is music to our ears. We enjoy all feedback, but are especially pleased when our guests have had a relaxing getaway. We are so happy that you and your family enjoyed you anniversary stay. We do hope you’ll follow on Facebook and Twitter for upcoming promotions and offers. Please come visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pearland, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I took my kids to La Torretta for a short overnight stay. I could not have been more pleased with the hotel cleanliness and atmosphere. The pool and water adventures were great! We'll Definitely go back!

Room Tip: Resort View: we could see resort and lake! Beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaTorrettaResort, Manager at La Torretta Lake Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We are so glad you and your family enjoyed your stay and can’t wait to have you back. Please check our facebook & Instagram for special offers and promotions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montgomery
4.3 mi away
Best Western Lake Conroe Inn
3.9 mi away
Super 8 Montgomery/ Lake Conroe
10.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Conroe - I-45 North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Houston Conroe Near The WoodlandsR
9.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Conroe
9.7 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Conroe
WoodSpring Suites Conroe
#250 of 510 in Houston
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Torretta Lake Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Torretta Lake Resort & Spa

Property: La Torretta Lake Resort & Spa
Address: 600 La Torretta Blvd, Lake Conroe, Montgomery, TX 77356-5309
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Montgomery
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Montgomery
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — La Torretta Lake Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 445
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed as the perfect retreat for a team building experience or a family getaway, La Torretta Lake Resort & Spa is an escape destination located on beautiful Lake Conroe an easy hour north of downtown Houston that provides the ideal setting for highly productive business functions, extraordinary social gatherings, rejuvenating family vacations, and romantic couples getaways. La Torretta is an easy getaway – a place to go for a great meal, a workout, a round of golf, or for some pampering at the Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your La Torretta Lake Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Torretta Lake Resort And Spa, Lake Conroe, Texas
La Torretta Lake Resort & Spa, Lake Conroe, Texas Hotel Montgomery
La Torretta Del Lago Hotel
La Torretta Del Lago Resort
La Torretta Lake Resort & Spa Texas/Montgomery

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing