We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of walking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Torretta Lake Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Montgomery
Lake Jackson, TX
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lots of walking”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Our first visit, stayed in the Golf cottages, nice enough, but very long walk to water park for small kids, wonder why no regular shuttle service??? Also no real path from there to waterpark other than walking in the road, think that should be addressed. Drinks very overpriced at pool area. Grandson loved the waterpark, staff very nice. All in all, it was nice enough, but for the money, improvements need to be made. Husband loved the golf course, but still waiting on refund for being charged two days of golf instead of one.

Room Tip: stay in tower, otherwise you will be walking alot
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hitowr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaTorrettaResort, Manager at La Torretta Lake Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback. We apologize that we do not have regular shuttle service from the golf cottages, there is a path behind the conference center. We will work to make sure guests are aware of that. We apologize for your refund not happening sooner. Please email us at managingdirector@latorrettalakeresort.com. We’d like to know more and finalize outstanding issues. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    460
    353
    248
    167
    119
See reviews for
584
275
16
223
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We reserved a room with two beds through our travel agent. When we checked into our room after waiting for over an hour for it to be ready, we were placed in a room with one bed. When we asked to be moved we were told that there were no other rooms. We asked for a resort credit to offset the extra amount we paid for two beds rather than one and were told there was nothing he hotel could do since we reserved through a travel agent. HORRIBLE customer service!!!

The resort is old and dingy and the grounds are dirty and overused.

We travel a lot and this resort is simply very lacking in all areas.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Khaas10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaTorrettaResort, Manager at La Torretta Lake Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback. We apologize that the evening of your stay there was not a room that could accommodate your needs available. This sounds like mis-communication between the resort and your travel agent. Please know it is not standard or La Torretta to do nothing to accommodate our guests. We’d like to know more specifics about your incident, if you could email us at managingdirector@latorrettalakeresort.com. We’ll work to ensure this does not happen again. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Our first visit to La Torretta and it was much better than expected. We stayed in the cottages on the golf course and the rooms were beautiful with the exception of a few bugs which is to be expected given the fact that we were in the middle of a golf course. Our stay was quiet and relaxing. We enjoyed the water park. Hope to use the spa, golf course and do some fishing next year. Be sure to go to Russo's in Conroe for some awesome pizza by the slice!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaTorrettaResort, Manager at La Torretta Lake Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you so much for your positive feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. There are a lot of bugs due to our resort sitting on Lake Conroe with an very alive eco system. As we head into the fall months the amount of bugs will reduce. We do hope you’ll come visit us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Stayed with my young son for a long weekend. The staff across the resort were fantastic. Never ran into anyone who wasn't polite and looking to help. The water parks and pools were clean and we'll maintained. The hotel was clean, and our room was beautiful (16th fl 1br suite). The self park was a bit confusing first time, but worked out great because we could leave our fishing gear in the car and the parking lot is right on a cove in the lake. A great surprise near Houston!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaTorrettaResort, Manager at La Torretta Lake Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you so much for your positive feedback. It’s reviews like yours that we aim to receive. We do hope you’ll consider visiting us again really soon. Follow us on Facebook for upcoming offers and promotions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I have stayed at La Torretta 6 times in the last 2 years. We just stayed there last weekend. With small kids, the place is so much fun; however, there are some things that could make this place so much better. Our kids love the place and we will probably be back, but as somebody who spends repeat money there - I have to wonder if more can't be done. I am aware of the change in management/owners (a few times) and that it has been redone and I recognize that it is a low cost place (and I don't expect the Ritz), but is there any way to make modest improvements?
1) The furniture and beds: The beds and pillows are uncomfortable that it is hard to get a good night's sleep.

2). The room decor - is circa mid 90's. Couches are uncomfortable. You can see cracks and crevices in the rooms/bathrooms. BTW: thank you for finally adding refrigerators in the rooms!

3) Food quality - mediocre. The main buffet is ok - but could be better. And what is it with all the crap food options for the kids? The pool-side menu could be better.

4) Lakeside - seriously 5 star? No way. I'd give it a 3 (barely). The menu and the wine list (and decor) are dated - period. Plus, why have a patio that you can't sit on due to "bugs". Fix the bug problem. That whole restaurant needs to be gutted and redone....and why do you carry such expensive wine? You have a standard wine list then the "extra fancy" one. Get rid of the extra fancy one and just get a more modern wine list. Call Brasserie 19 for some help.

5) Service - I will say that the poolside service was much better on our recent stay. In the past, it has been pretty slow and shabby. Drinks poolside - wow - not cheap.

6) Cleanliness: This is a tough one. We are there early in the water. We went to use the bathroom in between the pools (the middle one) and it was filled with empty beers, cups, etc and was filthy (that was at 10 AM). Then at 1 Pm, we went to use the SAME bathroom - even more disgusting (because it still hadn't been cleaned nor was there toilet paper) - GROSS!

7) Maid service was better this last time, but usually are slacking. The previous time, they cleaned our room but didn't give us any new towels!

I don't really know how membershps work (because I don't live in the area and don't really care), but can you push the memberships MORE so that you can generate more revenues to fix the place (so you can compete with the San Antonio resorts)? I wouldn't be opposed to raising the prices $50 - $100 per night (if the place is nicer and worth it). Plus, there is still some riff raft that shows up there (all places have it - not a big deal), but maybe a higher price point would help.

The place is old - I get it. It would just be nicer to see the management try to capitalize on the growth of the economy in the area. Make some improvements.....please!

Best of luck.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the lake are much quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TXJ9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaTorrettaResort, Manager at La Torretta Lake Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you so much for your detailed feedback regarding your stay. We do recognize that our resort and it’s updates are a few years past. It’s feedback like yours that is understanding and constructive will help us create a better resort experience for future stays. We will use your suggestions and look to implement change as the busy summer seasons comes to a close. We apologize for any inconvenience during your most recent stay. We do hope you will visit with us again so that we may show you that La Torretta is continuing to improve every season. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

A reboot of del lago? The new owner obviously went with the cheapest possible option to attempt to rebrand the 'resort'. We arrived an hour past checkin to find that our room wouldn't be ready for 2 more hours. The manager comped our dinner as an apology which was appreciate. We are at the lakeside restaurant. The food and staff were very good but that is the only good thing we experienced. The pools were not very clean, all the pool bars closed early on a day of arrival, 3 hours before they were scheduled to close, the lazy river water was very hot, the room appeared nice on first glance but then we discovered ripped stained curtains, cigarette butts left on patio from previous guests, stained decorative pillows on the beds, the towels in the bathroom were ratty and torn, the door to the room was hard to close and required slamming, we attempted the buffet for lunch to find a very minimum selection of food with only pizza for the kids and it was very expensive! Overall a disappointing trip. Not at all a resort. I've stayed at holiday inns that were much better put together.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Voxwagnbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaTorrettaResort, Manager at La Torretta Lake Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
•Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at La Torretta. Clearly we missed the mark with service and room standard from the very beginning of your visit. We apologize that your room was not ready on time. Additionally, we apologize that your room was not up to standard. Could you please email us at managingdirector@latorrettalakeresort.com with more details. We’d like to make sure this doesn't happen again for yourself or any other guests. We are working to improve the overall resort experience and your feedback will help us. We invite you to give our resort a second chance, in hopes of proving that this is not standard of La Torretta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Starting to believe that La Torretta is having (paying?) people to write the raving reviews. Here's the truth: we have lived in the area 20+ years. We know this property very well. The only reason we come here is because we want a place besides our house for our teenage son's birthday parties, and we use a Groupon or Living Social voucher. Here's the scoop on this visit: a previous guest vomited in the bathroom and the dirty towels were still in the floor, and the shower curtain was stained and stunk with vomit. I believe that just about sums it up.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank TexasTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaTorrettaResort, Manager at La Torretta Lake Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Please know it is not La Torretta’s policy to pay anyone any sort of compensations for reviews. In fact that is against TripAdvisor policy, and to make such a statement is slanderous of La Torretta and the employees. We take statements like your’ very seriously and would ask you to remove and not propagate rumors like that. We have flagged your review as it is false information and would recommend its removal. This does not mean we don’t take your complaint seriously; we’d like to know more so we can isolate service issues you describe and ensure they are not repeated. Please email us a more at managingdirector@latorrettalakeresort.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montgomery
4.3 mi away
Best Western Lake Conroe Inn
3.9 mi away
Super 8 Montgomery/ Lake Conroe
10.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Conroe - I-45 North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Houston Conroe Near The WoodlandsR
9.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Conroe
9.7 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Conroe
WoodSpring Suites Conroe
#250 of 510 in Houston
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Torretta Lake Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Torretta Lake Resort & Spa

Property: La Torretta Lake Resort & Spa
Address: 600 La Torretta Blvd, Lake Conroe, Montgomery, TX 77356-5309
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Montgomery
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Montgomery
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — La Torretta Lake Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 445
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed as the perfect retreat for a team building experience or a family getaway, La Torretta Lake Resort & Spa is an escape destination located on beautiful Lake Conroe an easy hour north of downtown Houston that provides the ideal setting for highly productive business functions, extraordinary social gatherings, rejuvenating family vacations, and romantic couples getaways. La Torretta is an easy getaway – a place to go for a great meal, a workout, a round of golf, or for some pampering at the Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your La Torretta Lake Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Torretta Lake Resort And Spa, Lake Conroe, Texas
La Torretta Lake Resort & Spa, Lake Conroe, Texas Hotel Montgomery
La Torretta Del Lago Hotel
La Torretta Del Lago Resort
La Torretta Lake Resort & Spa Texas/Montgomery

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing