We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still closed” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blaketree National Golf Club - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Blaketree National Golf Club
Attraction details
Montgomery, Texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Still closed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Blaketree closed in October 2012 and, to the best of my knowledge, has never re-opened (although the website is still online). It had a nice layout but had suffered from lack of maintenance in recent years. Disregard the "when did you visit" date since it wasn't possible to backdate to my last golf outing there.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Fred Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    3
    1
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Connroe, TX
Level Contributor
99 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Heard It Closed!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2013

This course always had a lot of potential, but it was so remote that it probably couldn't generate enough revenue to keep it in shape. The lack of cart paths was always a problem to some, but the founder, Blake, wanted it that way.

Unfortunately, just learned that the course has closed and haven't heard if there are any plans to reopen.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Phillip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Challenging layout”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

The only problem with the course is its dry and that hogs root up the fairways. I go to gab with the pros there - very customer oriented and always fun to talk to

Helpful?
1 Thank allergydoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I have seen better greens at putt putt”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

The greens are a mess, rock hard with bare spots every place. The practice green is a joke, there is more grass growing in the parking lot. The fairways are about the same bald spots and ruts from the hogs, I don't think there is a level tee box at the place. Its now wounder the course is in bad shape, the only grounds crew guy I saw was sleeping under a tree in a golf cart. The cart paths are dirt, the are rough, rutted and dusty. Not to mention most of the carts are missing windshields so you are covered in dust by the end of the day. Their "famous" grill wasn't open either, make sure you bring a drink. The kid running the pro shop was kicking back with his shoes off and feet up in the air watching tv. I guess that's what I should have expected after everything else. The only bright spot was the old man that brought a cart to my car when I arrived. If your coming to Blaketree to golf dont bother wasting you gas, time or money. There are at least twenty course that are closer to Houston that are in much better shape for your money. This place is deffinatly one of the 10 worst golf courses I have ever played

Helpful?
1 Thank Hornsgolf2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring, TX
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Challenging layout, low rates (now). This place could be great - but....”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

This place has great potential. I'm thinking between the drought, the remote location, and teh feral hogs that feast on the course, there is not enough traffic to generate the revenue needed for upkeep. A few of the holes layouts are some of the best in Texas and in your imagination you can't help but think of what could be.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank rsc1911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blaketree National Golf Club also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing