We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only place in Nacogdoches for fine Chinese food.”
Review of Szechuan Chinese Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Szechuan Chinese Restaurant
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout
Nacogdoches, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The only place in Nacogdoches for fine Chinese food.”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We started eating at Szechuan's when it was in Tyler, Texas and were very happy that we had some influence on their opening here in Nacogdoches and we have eaten there ever since. Their Vegetable beef soup is a family favorite. I have never had a bad meal there and their service is very good too.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    7
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
312 reviews
287 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“better than before”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I had lunch here with friends and it was pleasant surprise. I stopped going to this restaurant a few years ago because the food wasn't very good. Now everything seems better or maybe it was just a good day. The dining room is lovely (but empty) and the service was wonderful. Trevor went out of his way to make things terrific for us. Most restaurants in this town suffer from bad service. Overall, I thought this restaurant had improved. The prices at lunch are very low. I will return, which is something I said I would not do in the past.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank corsicus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Expected More”
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Had driven buy the restaurant a million times and always thought it looked promising. Imagine, a Chinese restaurant in East Texas that wasn't a buffet or drive through! Upon visiting I was suprised to be let down. Perhaps its a function of my expectations with the place. I ordered the General Tso's chicken - a pretty standard order - with a side of fried rice. The chicken was ok...thats it ok. I mean it was adequate..singularly unimpressive..indisctict. In fact it was so average that it was bad...I mean at least with a bad meal I can get the satisfaction of having experienced SOMETHING..not in this case...the chicken pieces were too large (a problem if you eat with chopsticks) the sauce had a vaguely sweet flavor without a hint of heat as I have come to expect to counterbalance the sweetness of the dish...in fact I could have had chicken covered in syrup and been equally as uninpressed. All in all a disapointing expereince.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bmg1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Bargain”
Reviewed 12 December 2012

Had the 2 for $19.99 meal which includes an appetizer, soup, entree, and dessert for 2. Great value and decent food :)

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank jobro912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Union, Kentucky
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Szechuan Restaurant Nacogdoches Texas”
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We had one meal at the Szechuan Chinese Restaurant in Nacogdoches. We had a party of six and the meal was okay but not outstanding. The wait staff was obviously from Stephen F. Austin University and not particularly well trained in service techniques.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Qedavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Szechuan Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing