We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of This World!”

Clear Springs Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 100 Restaurants in Nacogdoches
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$18
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Nested in the middle of the Piney Woods of East Texas, this Clear Springs location occupies what once was the first refrigerated warehouse West of the Mississippi River. Located next to a busy rail yard, this warehouse was ideal for getting food and supplies to people all over Texas and the United States. Stop in and see history on the walls and enjoy the Best Fried Catfish in Texas as voted by Texas Highways Magazine.
Waco, Texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Out of This World!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

This place was absolutely awesome! My husband had a rib-eye steak and I had a sirloin steak. Both of us had garlic mashed potatoes, sweet corn, house salad and Texas toast. Everything that hit our taste buds was a delight! It's located in an old warehouse building that is superbly decorated with an amazing assortment of antiques. We only wish we had a Clear Springs in OUR hometown! Awesome!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kristi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    112
    29
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fish Tacos”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Believe it or not they actually serve the best Fish Tacos in Nacogdoches. They tend to get busy on the weekends and the wait for a table can be lengthy but it's worth it. It never disappoints, my wife and I love it.

Helpful?
Thank CphtCRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nacogdoches, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great onion rings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

They have the best onion rings I have ever had. Their fried shrimp is wonderful also. I have never had a bad meal there.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not as good as I expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

My mom and I were traveling through Nacogdoches and decided to try Clear Springs. It has very good reviews. The onion rings, catfish, and beans were good. The french fries, hush puppies, and my mom's baked potato were nearly cold when they arrived at our table. We also had a very long wait for our food, and the place was not that crowded.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lori82364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richland, Washington
Level Contributor
110 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great family place and service with a smile”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

We enjoyed dinner with a large party. The food was enjoyed by all and the service was great. The place has great character and great food.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DannyandhisMisty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Clear Springs Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Clear Springs Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing