We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Customer Service.”
Review of Heidelberg Lodges

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Braunfels
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Heidelberg Lodges
Reviewed 25 August 2014

This is a family place. Right on the river, two pools, game room. The rooms are kinna dated but you arnt living there. Very clean and staff is so helpful. We will make this an every year stay. In the middle of everything from landa park to the Gruene hall. Many food places also!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TracyEchols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris M, General Manager at Heidelberg Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2014

Tracy,
Thank you so much for the kind words. We are happy that you enjoyed your visit with us and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

Everything was relaxing-checking in and out-getting day passes for my friends, etc. The room was cozy and I am very happy to have it so close to everything. It took a minute to find everything- the maps they have weren't too helpful. I will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ciara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris M, General Manager at Heidelberg Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thank you so much for the kind words. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and we will look into making changes to the maps to make them more helpful. We hope to see you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

70 of our 100 member family stayed here for our reunion. The ages were from 4 months to 83yrs. We served breakfasts and dinners which we brought and cooked on the covered patio. Other family members stayed in local motel but were allowed as guests.The large swimming pool and game room provided lots of hours of fun plus fishing in the Comal river. Arrangements were made for a day of tubing down the Comal and a day at Schlitterbahn. The younger kids loved experiencing McKenna Children's Museum.

The Negative was not having an air conditioned large room for gathering.

Room Tip: The A frame cabins are old but kept up fairly well. They come well stocked for cooking. The first fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yankee070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris M, General Manager at Heidelberg Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Thank you so much for the nice review. We were happy to host your family and glad to hear your reunion went so well. You are right, we don't have an air conditioned space for larger groups but find that most people enjoy our arcade/game and store areas opening directly onto the pool area for easy in and out. However, as we discuss upgrades to the property overall, we will keep that in mind!
Thanks again for your visit and we hope to see you all again soon--or at least next year for the Reunion!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed on Friday and Saturday night in April. The wedding was held on Saturday with rehearsal and dinner Friday evening. This place was AWESOME. It was a gorgeous setting for the wedding and there were fun activities like arcade games, pool tables, ping pong, paddle boats and canoes! I didn't partake since I was the maid of honor and I was off doing wedding things, but I know other guests had a great time with all the amenities. Our party went until late and, although the cops did show up, we didn't seem to be bothering others for most of the evening. I understand it was a bit bumpy reserving the entire grounds for our group, but once we were there everything was great. I will say the rooms are a bit dated, but if you consider that it's sort of a "roughin' it" type accommodation, it's not bad at all! There are also two homes on the property that can be rented for guests who wish to have an entire home at their disposal. I believe most or all of the lodges have a kitchen.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veronica1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris M, General Manager at Heidelberg Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate the nice review. We hope you come visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Each spring break for the last 6 years we have brought our kids here and oh my what fun. The Winter Texans are so nice. We enjoy talking with them when they all gather in the evenings. Heidelberg has a small town feeling and kid friendly. Over the last few years I have noticed more single adults visiting which brings loud music but for the most part it has been safe. Our kids have developed a friendship with other kids that also stay during that time period. The staff has always been friendly towards us and are ready to help. Last year I called a head of time and asked if they could fill the pool (they usually fill on the second Monday of March) before we arrive since we normally get there on Friday before Spring Break and they granted our wish.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris M, General Manager at Heidelberg Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Robert,
Thank you for the kind words and we are thrilled that you have stayed with us for the last 6 Spring Break weeks. I will pass along the compliments to our staff, they work very hard to ensure every guest is treated well. We look forward to seeing you very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We joined several families who have been going to Heidelberg Lodges for years and years. Our group numbered about 70, half adults and half children. The pool is steps away from the Comal river. The pool is nice, cool in temp and large in size. The river is fairly shallow and clear until lots of people get in it. Kids jump off a tall rock structure, swing from a rope swing, and jump out of a tree into slightly deeper sections of the river. Bring inflatable tubes, canoes, kayaks, paddle boards and do a little excursion down the river to the island and maybe the yellow rope swing beyond. The kids enjoyed the game room too.

The A-frame cabins are basic with a capital B. We were in the unit on top - which has two double beds. The lower units are larger. The walls, floors and ceilings are paper thin. You hear everything so request a top unit if your group will fit... and bring ear plugs. Our cabin was in a great location - close but not on the pool. Too close to the pool and it's noisy. Too far and it's a trek whenever you need something from your cabin and you'll be closer to the noisy train track.

The kitchens and bathrooms are basic and small but functional. I brought my own bedding and pillows and a few of my must haves for the kitchen - pyrex for the microwave, sharp knife, wine opener, etc. Schlitterbahn and the Chutes are nearby as are the cute town centers of Gruene (see a band at Gruene Hall) and New Braunfels (get pastries at Naegelins - oldest bakery in Texas). Grab a group of friends or organize a family reunion and go! Be prepared for basic accommodations but lots of family fun!

Room Tip: cabin 8 is in a great location
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Suzanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris M, General Manager at Heidelberg Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

We love it when large groups come for a reunion of any kind and are so glad you all choose us year after year. We appreciate your business and enjoy having you. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. See you next year! (Do remember, however, that Fall and Spring are the loveliest, and most quiet, times of the year here at Heidelberg--would love to see you before next summer)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I have been coming to Heidelberg Lodges for many years and it needed updates then. But now, it really needs it. The electrical outlets need to be replaced with more sturdy outlets. The current ones are old and the plugs don't stay in the sockets. It's so loose due to the amount of usage it gets over the years. And with cell phones, and chargers for all electronics, it's really needed now more than ever! On the bright side, it's a very relaxing place with beautiful pecan trees, awesome pool, and the picturesque Comal River is breathtaking! I love to ride my kayak on the river. I'll be back!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hillsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris M, General Manager at Heidelberg Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Thank you so much for your continued business and your comments. We appreciate the feedback about the electrical sockets and will look into that as we begin to do our off season maintenance. Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Braunfels hotels
2.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott New Braunfels River Village
1.0 mi away
Gruene Outpost River Lodge
Gruene Outpost River Lodge
#24 of 33 in New Braunfels
110 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Resort at Schlitterbahn
The Resort at Schlitterbahn
#1 of 33 in New Braunfels
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hill Country Cottage and RV Resort
1.8 mi away
WorldMark New Braunfels
WorldMark New Braunfels
#2 of 31 in New Braunfels
69 reviews
2.3 mi away
Gruene Cottages
Gruene Cottages
#5 of 31 in New Braunfels
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heidelberg Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heidelberg Lodges

Address: 1020 N Houston Ave, New Braunfels, TX 78130-4097
Region: United States > Texas > New Braunfels
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 31 Speciality Lodging in New Braunfels
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heidelberg Lodges is located on the beautiful Comal River in New Braunfels, Texas within easy walking distance of Schlitterbahn. The riverside resort has been offering accommodations to tourists visiting New Braunfels since the 1930s. Heidelberg Lodges offers a unique setting to visitors any time of year.Our cottages offer all the conveniences of home and are nestled under towering pecan trees, overlooking the crystal clear Comal Springs where the Comal River actually begins. In the summer, relax by the pool or float in the cool, crystal clear waters of the Comal River. Perhaps you’d like to spend a quiet morning fishing or reading by the bank of the river. Take a leisurely canoe ride in the afternoon. Then head out to a great dinner at one of the many nice restaurants in New Braunfels within close vicinity to the resort. Heidelberg Lodges is open year round and we cater to Winter Texans. We offer extended stay packages to those traveling to the Hill Country for the winter months. Heidelberg Lodges is located just minutes from many of New Braunfels’ attractions, so it’s easy to load up and head out for some fun anytime. We hope to have you visit Heidelberg Lodges soon and enjoy some Tranquil Relaxation on the Comal River! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Heidelberg Hotel New Braunfels
Heidelberg Lodges New Braunfels, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing