We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Crystal clear but super cold!”
Review of Comal River

Comal River
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A two-mile river (the world's shortest) that offers sites for family picnics and gatherings.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Crystal clear but super cold!”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Beautiful river and scenery, but a little cold for me this time of year. Summertime would be a better time to play here.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank patbmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    98
    29
    8
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Floating the Comal River”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Floating the Comal has become such a great experience since the "can ban", or disposable container ban, has been in effect. It has always been a beautiful river and great time, but had become completely overtaken by a few out of control toobers, driven from their usual Guadalupe floats, due to the drought. Nowadays, the people are much more family oriented, even though there are plenty of teens and twenties floating. They're just the ones that are happy to have a good time without finding it necessary to include everyone, including cops, in their day. Hope the Springs continue to flow for another few years!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cibolo, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great for Scuba when tubers go home to passout”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We love to go scuba here. Sadly, the tubers make that near impossible during daylight hours. But, once the fools go home to pass out or nurse their sunburnt hang over, the river belongs to the bubble makers!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Busy_Traveler3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Caney, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fun”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

we floated down the comal river and it was so much fun we went back a 2nd time on our trip.The water was clear you could see to the bottom and a bit shallow but was enough to have fun.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank NewCaney_TexasTerri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtown, Connecticut
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Easy tubing - Need to be able to swim”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Went tubing on the Comal River. Started in the park. A two hour + trip. Great day for the kids. We bought our own tubes. Makwe sure you get a pump.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank nwtwnfmly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Comal River also viewed

 

Been to Comal River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing