We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never Stay Here” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rodeway Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Rodeway Inn
Ranked #28 of 31 Hotels in New Braunfels
texas
1 review
“Never Stay Here”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2008

We were moving down to New Braunfels. Our new house wasn't quite ready so we had to stay in a hotel for a week. Now we knew this was not going to be a designer hotel, but little did we know how bad it was going to be. Because we were moving, we had stuff loaded up in our car and felt unsafe at leaving it in the car at night , so had to move it into the hotel room. The first room we got had an ant farm running in the middle of it. The ants went across the floor and up onto the nightstand. Not just a few ants, continuous ants.

Okay, so we got a bad room. So we got another room across the hotel, away from the ants. We dragged all the stuff out of the first room and into the 2nd room. Fine. So then that night it got very cold out. We tried to turn on the heater. It did not work. We called the hotel maintenance and they said we just had to move to a 3rd room.

Finally we got to a 3rd (supposedly non-smoking) room, dragged all our extra stuff into that room, and it was all smokey. We just gave up and said, "Oh well."

The next day we found out that they had a weekly special and asked the manager if we could get the weekly rate since we'd had so much trouble and were going to stay a week. He flatly said "No". He never said "Sorry" or anything near it.

Wow, needless to say every time we pass that "hotel??" every time, we all just cringe.

Stayed December 2006
Helpful?
Thank loving-tennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    3
    13
    10
    33
See reviews for
19
9
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2008

I stayed here during my final four trip and I will never make this mistake again. The hotel is extremely run down with extensive mold everywhere and generally unclean. The staff makes zero effort to make you feel comfortable. I booked a non-smoking room and they stuck me in a smoking room as they did not have anything else. Please do yourself a favor and don't stay at this property. Also, the wireless internet is impossible to get access to if you're inside one of the rooms. You have to be inside their lobby in order to get a decent connection.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank will_superman34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New Braunfels hotels

Texas
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2008

Started out that my travel agent failed to place Non-Smoking. The receptionist quickly changed our room after we told her we could not stay in that room because of the strong smoke smell. Rooms were large, things were clean, but as usual we travel with our comforts. Only complaint for the room was the beds were extremely hard. ended up using the comforts to try to soften them up. Breakfast area is larger then most other places. Texas pancakes, cereals, coffee, juice, toast. Overall not bad, only really needed the place to crash after a long day at Schllitterbaun. WI-FI was down according to them due to some storm that came through a couple weeks back.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Hard Beds
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Vato2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tulsa oklahoma
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2008

this hotel is very dirty.no maid service.i sent my son down to get towels and they were very rude, even though they left no towels in our room.my bed was lopsided, but the second bed was okay.there is mold and the bathrooms were dirty upon arrival.they do not use fitted sheets so it made the bed more uncomfortable.talked with the managars angela and she said we had to talk with expedia since that was who we booked with.expedia was very nice. talked with rodeway and refunded 1 nights stay out of 4.. they should of refunded half of our money at least.we work hard for our vacations.the need to train these employees on guest service.the world is tough right now and people need to stretch thier dollars..rode way inn is a good chain but this location is giving them a bad rep. the up side is..i ,love new branfels and i enjoyed my stay outside of this hotel.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — the dirty rooms and unproffesional staff
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kindellmodelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2008

Warning!! Hotel Has Extensive MOLD

The online information for this hotel is misleading. We were first impressed by its supposed 5 star rating -- then when we got there, we found the hotel Horrible. It was so filthy there were years of dust on ceilings, floors, etc. There were stains on sheets, bedspreads, a stink like none other. We had breathing problems and were told by the hotel clerk upon checkout, the hotel was old, and had horrible mold issues. We were NOT given a refund - did NOT stay one more night -- couldn't stay the first night -- there was horrible noise from the freeway, noisy tenants, no morning breakfast as promised, no hot water, noisy air-conditioner, and half the lights worked.

I was horrified that the hotel didn't meet with its own online reviews.

It needs a total remodel to rid it of the mold, dust and they need clean linens, and towels and to repair the hot water. The pipes are old n when you first turn on the water its rusty. I want to WARN others that this hotel organization does NOT care about customer service satisfaction and do NOT offer refunds!!

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
Thank jetboss57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baytown,Texas
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2007

I checked in and went to room , the gnats were so bad they were in our noses and eyes ! The dirtiest , nastiest , stinkiest place EVER! Rotten window seals and mold everywhere !! Dirt floors and bedding stunk like soiled body Oder- Gum stucked to the walls and dried something on the walls that wasn't suppose to be there- Never have I seen someone have a place this NASTY !!!!! The pool was not blue but GREEN !!!!! Nasty - I picked up all luggage and returned to car and went to front and checked out ! You could go to the Best Western and get a room for a few bucks more and think you were in a castle !! Only good thing was the front desk was so nice and understanding - Go figure? Now do I really need to say anything more???? I don't think so ~

  • Liked — N/A
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Nonny-5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marshall, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2007

The room looked decent when we first walked in..Upon going into the restroom it was FILTHY...The toilet was not cleaned prior nor was the tub. The next day they did come in and "pick up" but didnt leave any more towels or soap or toilet tissue and still didnt clean the restroom area.
Other than the nasty bathroom, the staff were friendly, the grounds were in ok shape..
I dont think we will stay here again.

  • Liked — IT was close to where we were going
  • Disliked — The room was nasty...
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank txgal1096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Braunfels hotels
0.2 mi away
Ramada New Braunfels
Ramada New Braunfels
#11 of 31 in New Braunfels
3.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites New Braunfels
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN Inn & Suites
#6 of 31 in New Braunfels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#26 of 31 in New Braunfels
3.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#7 of 31 in New Braunfels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites New Braunfels
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites New Bra...
#17 of 31 in New Braunfels
3.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Property: Rodeway Inn
Address: 1209 I-35 N @ Hwy 46, New Braunfels, TX 78130
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > New Braunfels
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 31 Hotels in New Braunfels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Rodeway Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn New Braunfels, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing