We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed Jan. 18, 2009. Okay hotel for the price...”
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
Ranked #29 of 33 Hotels in New Braunfels
New Braunfels, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Stayed Jan. 18, 2009. Okay hotel for the price...”
Reviewed 30 January 2009

What can you expect for $22 + tax w/AAA discount? I've stayed in worse motels than this one. Yes, the bed wasn't soft & cushy like in 'finer' hotels but it was a bed & as long as you didn't try to sit on the edge (leg tucked under type sitting) then it was okay, otherwise the hard "seam" along the top edge would cut into you. It was okay to sleep on. The sheets & pillowcases were clean looking & smelled okay. The towels smelled okay but one washcloth was dingy & lightly yellowed, I didn't use that one. Someone obviously had smoked in the bathroom so we left the fan on in there for a while to hopefully dissapate the smoke & it did eventually. The bathroom wasn't unbearable but beware, the door opens outward & can smack someone standing at the sink so we did the "coming out now", "okay I'm away from the door" routine. The a/c & heater worked fine. The room was obvious old & dingy but wasn't 'nasty', gross or unberable. I've stayed in a similar older Holiday Inn in a different state which was similar in the state of dingyness & location but again, it was bearable. The advertised laundry area here was, according to my husband, outside & was nasty & filthy-dirty. They had a courtyard area w/tables & seats which were clean but the courtyard was in the center of the complex but behind the building & didn't really seem to be a place I'd actually sit w/o a group of people I know with me. We were there just to spend the night & that was it. It served it's purpose. The front desk person wasn't rude or anything. I think they offered a continental breakfast but we just ate at Wendy's in the next parking lot adjacent to the hotel. All in all, don't come here expecting 4-5 star hotel. It's an older hotel that was okay to stay in, towels & linens were okay as was the front desk person but I may bring my own towel & washcloth next time anyway. An additional note would be that the location is right off Hwy. 46, if you turn on 46 (or straight on 46 if coming from Seguin) you can turn up into the parking lot from the Mexican restaurant & go thru to the hotel w/o having to travel up I-35 to do a turnaround. I did the turnaround the first time & then discovered if I had just gone straight, I cudda turned up thru the Mexican restaurant since it ajoins each other.

  • Liked — Just off of Hwy. 46 & Wendy's next door w/in walking distance.
  • Disliked — People smoked in non-smoking rm. Bed not comfy, washcloth dingy, internet didn't work. Felt unsafe walking thru corridor outside. Just needs good remodling.
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cecilschick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    3
    14
    10
    33
See reviews for
20
9
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
texas
1 review
Reviewed 19 December 2008

We were moving down to New Braunfels. Our new house wasn't quite ready so we had to stay in a hotel for a week. Now we knew this was not going to be a designer hotel, but little did we know how bad it was going to be. Because we were moving, we had stuff loaded up in our car and felt unsafe at leaving it in the car at night , so had to move it into the hotel room. The first room we got had an ant farm running in the middle of it. The ants went across the floor and up onto the nightstand. Not just a few ants, continuous ants.

Okay, so we got a bad room. So we got another room across the hotel, away from the ants. We dragged all the stuff out of the first room and into the 2nd room. Fine. So then that night it got very cold out. We tried to turn on the heater. It did not work. We called the hotel maintenance and they said we just had to move to a 3rd room.

Finally we got to a 3rd (supposedly non-smoking) room, dragged all our extra stuff into that room, and it was all smokey. We just gave up and said, "Oh well."

The next day we found out that they had a weekly special and asked the manager if we could get the weekly rate since we'd had so much trouble and were going to stay a week. He flatly said "No". He never said "Sorry" or anything near it.

Wow, needless to say every time we pass that "hotel??" every time, we all just cringe.

Stayed December 2006
Helpful?
Thank loving-tennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New Braunfels hotels

Los Angeles
1 review
Reviewed 7 September 2008

I stayed here during my final four trip and I will never make this mistake again. The hotel is extremely run down with extensive mold everywhere and generally unclean. The staff makes zero effort to make you feel comfortable. I booked a non-smoking room and they stuck me in a smoking room as they did not have anything else. Please do yourself a favor and don't stay at this property. Also, the wireless internet is impossible to get access to if you're inside one of the rooms. You have to be inside their lobby in order to get a decent connection.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank will_superman34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
1 review
Reviewed 17 July 2008

Started out that my travel agent failed to place Non-Smoking. The receptionist quickly changed our room after we told her we could not stay in that room because of the strong smoke smell. Rooms were large, things were clean, but as usual we travel with our comforts. Only complaint for the room was the beds were extremely hard. ended up using the comforts to try to soften them up. Breakfast area is larger then most other places. Texas pancakes, cereals, coffee, juice, toast. Overall not bad, only really needed the place to crash after a long day at Schllitterbaun. WI-FI was down according to them due to some storm that came through a couple weeks back.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Hard Beds
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Vato2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tulsa oklahoma
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2008

this hotel is very dirty.no maid service.i sent my son down to get towels and they were very rude, even though they left no towels in our room.my bed was lopsided, but the second bed was okay.there is mold and the bathrooms were dirty upon arrival.they do not use fitted sheets so it made the bed more uncomfortable.talked with the managars angela and she said we had to talk with expedia since that was who we booked with.expedia was very nice. talked with rodeway and refunded 1 nights stay out of 4.. they should of refunded half of our money at least.we work hard for our vacations.the need to train these employees on guest service.the world is tough right now and people need to stretch thier dollars..rode way inn is a good chain but this location is giving them a bad rep. the up side is..i ,love new branfels and i enjoyed my stay outside of this hotel.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — the dirty rooms and unproffesional staff
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kindellmodelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri
1 review
Reviewed 5 January 2008

Warning!! Hotel Has Extensive MOLD

The online information for this hotel is misleading. We were first impressed by its supposed 5 star rating -- then when we got there, we found the hotel Horrible. It was so filthy there were years of dust on ceilings, floors, etc. There were stains on sheets, bedspreads, a stink like none other. We had breathing problems and were told by the hotel clerk upon checkout, the hotel was old, and had horrible mold issues. We were NOT given a refund - did NOT stay one more night -- couldn't stay the first night -- there was horrible noise from the freeway, noisy tenants, no morning breakfast as promised, no hot water, noisy air-conditioner, and half the lights worked.

I was horrified that the hotel didn't meet with its own online reviews.

It needs a total remodel to rid it of the mold, dust and they need clean linens, and towels and to repair the hot water. The pipes are old n when you first turn on the water its rusty. I want to WARN others that this hotel organization does NOT care about customer service satisfaction and do NOT offer refunds!!

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
Thank jetboss57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baytown,Texas
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2007

I checked in and went to room , the gnats were so bad they were in our noses and eyes ! The dirtiest , nastiest , stinkiest place EVER! Rotten window seals and mold everywhere !! Dirt floors and bedding stunk like soiled body Oder- Gum stucked to the walls and dried something on the walls that wasn't suppose to be there- Never have I seen someone have a place this NASTY !!!!! The pool was not blue but GREEN !!!!! Nasty - I picked up all luggage and returned to car and went to front and checked out ! You could go to the Best Western and get a room for a few bucks more and think you were in a castle !! Only good thing was the front desk was so nice and understanding - Go figure? Now do I really need to say anything more???? I don't think so ~

  • Liked — N/A
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Nonny-5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Braunfels hotels
0.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - New Braunfels / San Antonio
Americas Best Value Inn - New Br...
#27 of 33 in New Braunfels
39 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ramada New Braunfels
Ramada New Braunfels
#16 of 33 in New Braunfels
352 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#26 of 33 in New Braunfels
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites New Braunfels
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites New Braunfels
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites New Bra...
#19 of 33 in New Braunfels
52 reviews
0.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham New Braunfels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Property: Rodeway Inn
Address: 1209 S State Highway 46, New Braunfels, TX 78130-2718
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > New Braunfels
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 33 Hotels in New Braunfels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Rodeway Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn New Braunfels, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing