We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Braunfels
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lazy L and L Campground and Store
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed Fri night thru Tuesday. We had 2 nine year olds. Atmosphere and language were a bit rough on the weekend for kids. Monday night was perfect since all the drunk tent campers were gone. We were in 108, right on river and large spot perfect for a popup.....but a really long way to bathrooms. The pavilion. bathroom is the nicest. I would suggest staying closer to it if you don't have a. RR in camper. Also away from river seemed more family oriented. Kids can ride" devils rapids" over and over again without leaving property which was fun. I would suggest bring your own tube, get in river at store and ride to devils playground. Nice fun 3.5 hr float without paying shuttle or tube rental.overall nice. I think it is a bit of a rip off to pay extra per person in rv rather than spot only. I also think they should have soap paper towels and free showers since you have already paid a per person price. Also doors on bath stalls rather than clear shower curtains to go private would be good.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KimBoutwell22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    7
    6
    3
    21
See reviews for
20
5
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Great place for friends and family. Dont know why they are complaing about the 5 mph speed limit, any faster and I might have to keep my kids on leases. There are alot of people here any there is nothing wrong with safety. Maybe the area is in a flood zone...........Great river, currently a little low, but we had a great trip. owners provide the campers a free live band on most Fridays and Saturdays, cant beat that. There are all kinds of washers pits, horseshoes and volleyball to go around. Yes there are a few bugs in the bathrooms, but your camping, what do you exspect. Plenty of shade and room. Ok no music at night, no big deal, and yes they are strick about that. but come on.. there are probely 1000 drunk people in here, so it sounds like maybe some of these reviews were a little exaggerated. If you feel you are being watched you probely are loud and waking people up...
We will be back again, other places on this river dont come close or are as nice as this place. Good job.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bobby l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Beautiful campground on the Guadalupe river. We had a fun time when we went in May and flouting was relaxing. Had a great time at the dance hall and the food was good!! Recommend staying at lazy l and l campground.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Floaters be ware!!! I was with a group of about 6 and our overall experience was horrible. The first night we had people coming up to us asking if we wanted to smoke meth. When it was time to float the river the next day we had a good time for the first couple of hours. When we were nearing the edge of lazy l and l property and about to hit the first rapid, we knew there was going to be trouble. Lined up on both sides of the bank were lines of people (adults a few kids) with squirt guns. Mind you the water was freezing. Every tuber that went down the rapids was shot all over, numerous times, sometimes at point blank in the face (like me and 2 others in our group alone). We ended up leaving right there and then mind you after people trying to fight us and all sorts of nonsense. I complained to a uniformed officer at the front telling him there needed to be more security down there to protect paying customers from drunk idiots shooting you in the face with water guns and trying to fight you. He basically called me a liar and said he'd been down there the whole time and there was only kids with water guns. Please trust my advice and never go here. No respect. Horrible CS. Way overpriced.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Tobyroth123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

There were 4 of us wanting to camp for the night and the Lazy L&L is usually our go-to spot; nice location, good fishing, and decent campsites. However, this last time was the last straw. They raise the price every time we visit, this time it was $50 for one night. I better be getting a continental breakfast and HBO for that kinda money. On top of that, the staff always seems pissed off to have another customer. Like they'd rather you kept your money and went somewhere else, which would explain the price. Anyways,I wouldn't recommend it, there are better places up the road.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
8 Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Converse, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Let me start with saying that the campground itself is gorgeous. But there are lots of others on the Guadalupe just as nice if not nicer. DON'T STAY HERE unless you are going there to meditate. We had a large group on 4 campsites. We were celebrating a 51st birthday and having a Chili Cook-off. At 9:30pm the owner came and starting yelling and shoving one of the campers saying he was going to call the police. We asked what the problem was and he would not explain himself and just became more uncooperative and agitated. We had the music at the same level as the neighbors camping. It was on a little Bluetooth speaker. Hardly a boom-box... We were playing a mix of music. We couldn't understand what the problem was. About an hour later our camp was swarming with police. The owner was along for the ride and got out of the police car in his walker claiming that one of the campers had threatened him. Remember this is a family gathering and we were just enjoying each others company around the campfire listening to music and gabbing. We tried to explain to the police what had really happened but they wouldn't hear it. Obviously this wasn't the first time they came to rescue this "poor guy"...... They also accused us of having people run when they saw the police. We were all still there. No one ran, but again they didn't believe us and searched the camp and all the grounds. If that wasn't enough, the next morning one of the campers went to get some coffee and the 'FREINDLY' campground store and they didn't want to let him back in unless he paid an additional $5. This was at 9:00am. He said he didn't have the cash on him and would pay on the way out. After about 1 hour, again management shows up at the camp and threatens us again for refusal to pay. This owner/management is NUTS. You couldn't pay me to go back there. If anyone from L&L Lazy Campground reads this we would like you to know that no matter how hard you tried we still managed to have a great time. You didn't ruin it for us no matter how hard you tried. Also, Don't put in your rules that music is allowed from 8am - 12am. That place is a great example of a poorly run camp.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Ljow35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cypress, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I'm a city girl and i've never done anything like this before. I had a BLAST and can't wait to do it again. Even thought it was a 'holiday weekend' it didn't seem that crowded. Everyone there was polite and well behaved. I always felt safe. Our camp site was clean the river was beautiful... what's not to like?!

As far as my ratings go i poot Terrible for Fitness center and pool because I don't think those things were offered here.

Room Tip: since you're bringing your own room i guess if you don't like it... it's your fault...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bekah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Braunfels
7.5 mi away
Gruene Outpost River Lodge
Gruene Outpost River Lodge
#22 of 32 in New Braunfels
3.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Lodge at Turkey Cove
The Lodge at Turkey Cove
#3 of 3 in Canyon Lake
3.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
10.1 mi away
Hill Country Cottage and RV Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Summit Vacation & RV Resort
The Summit Vacation & RV Resort
#17 of 30 in New Braunfels
3.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
6.3 mi away
Lamb's Rest Inn
Lamb's Rest Inn
#2 of 17 in New Braunfels
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hideout on the Horseshoe
Hideout on the Horseshoe
#7 of 14 in Canyon Lake
3.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lazy L and L Campground and Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy L and L Campground and Store

Property: Lazy L and L Campground and Store
Address: 11699 River Rd, New Braunfels, TX 78132-2115
Region: United States > Texas > New Braunfels
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 30 Speciality Lodging in New Braunfels
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Lazy l And l Campground And Store Hotel New Braunfels
Lazy L And L Campground And Store New Braunfels, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing