We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I was charged for damage I did not do”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Braunfels
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Billy Goat's Gruff Campground
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I was charged for damage I did not do”
Reviewed 21 June 2012

I was charged $300.00 fo damage that was pre existing. The door jamb was broken when we received the cabin. Check out was at 11 and we waited until 11:30 to leave we had no key to the unit and the total for one night was $412.00. They hit my card for an additional $300.00 and did not even call me to authorize the purchase. Has anyone had a simular experience with the 8 man cabin and damages I may need witnesses for small claims court . The bad part is I did enjoy myself and was going to book again for forth of July weekend. Professionalism is a must.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 12ofus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Billy Goat's Gruff Campground, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
First we know you and your family had a great time and we are sorry that you or someone in your group damaged our property, and were charged for it. So let us begin. The truth was not told beginning at your check-in. You stated that you had six people, which ended up being eight and we overlooked that, as well as only a one night rental. One of your guests was caught in a private service area by management rolling marijuana. Again we overlooked it. Upon check in you signed a contract that the unit would be left in the condition that was recieved. All of our rental units are cleaned and inspected immediately after check-out. Professionalism is a must on your part to approach an employee or management to report the damage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    9
    4
    3
    13
See reviews for
10
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christoval, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Biggest problem with this place is the management. I've never witnessed such a lack of professionalism as was witnessed here. Rude doesn't even begin to describe it. People like this have no business dealing with the public. Their threats to sue people who post negative reviews are just ridiculous (this happened). Bring it!!! Clearly.....it's a common occurrence, otherwise, why so defensive???

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Txgirl76401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Billy Goat's Gruff Campground, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
U ummmm - had to clear our head and throat for this one.

Your family was so embarrased by your behavior that they apologized three times. You were supposed to turn in our river equipment by 6 pm but we waited and waited and waited.
We asked your party where you were and they said you hooked up with some man on the river and they had no idea where you were. At 9:40 - almost four hours late, you showed up with this guy who lied who said he was a registered guest, showed a fake armband. Our rental equipment that was supposed to be returned by 6 was deflated and put in the back of this non- registered guests pickup. When we asked for it, he told us to F*** off. He then was told to leave and we were told to "F*** off i'm not going anywhere." Then you and him proceeded to mingle with a group of 50-70 people and hide within them. The police were called to escort him out, but he wisely finally chose to leave. WHO's not professional? Young lady take responsibility for your behavior. You should have been arrested for theft of goods and services and charged for all the damaged equipment. By the way YOU STAY HOME!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Was taking back by all the reviews. Didnt know what to expect but when we got there, it was all good. The cabins were clean and very nice. The beds were very comfortable. We had our own porta potty and it was very clean. Got to meet the owners and they were very nice and answered any questions you had. All I ask is that you make sure the people you bring are wanting to be there for the same reasons. Had a little bit of problems with our friends inviting other people that werent welcomed nor did they have the name on guest list. Brooke and Alan are very good people to do business with and for the most part I have no complaints

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddiemoney12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Billy Goat's Gruff Campground, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
Thanks for an honest review. Remember everyone is a prepaid registered guest, with an armband, and a cartag for security reasons.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We came with one car, four people and and two large tents and a dining tent. We paid about 150$ total for the two nights we would stay including electricity and parking. I confirmed that the sites were spacious enough for two "large" tents. I was assured they would fit with plenty of room on a river front spot. We were very excited until we arrived and were shocked to find that it was much smaller than advertised. The sites were all different sizes and were right on top of each other. The grounds were lacking from the gorgeous pictures that were advertised online when I researched the place. We tried to come to a reasonable solution with the lady there and she was beyond rude! She started arguing about everything! We even offered to pay for two spots but the extra spacious riverfront spots were reserved for an "event". After futile conversation with the unhelpful woman, who wanted to only roll her eyes and be rude, we decided to scrap it and look elsewhere. I wish I had seen these reviews ahead of time but oh well! It was a learning experience! You can't argue with crazy! Although im sure they will post a counter argument about how they are always right! Go for it! 9 plus terrible reviews cant all be wrong, especially since they all have a similar complaint! Luckily we found a great spot with wonderful staff - second crossing! Just amazingly friendly service, excellent showers and spacious restrooms (not portapottys). So glad we didn't bother arguing anymore and just cut our losses!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 1happycamper82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Billy Goat's Gruff Campground, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
To address your staments first.

Each riverfront campsite is basically the same size that typically fits 6-8 people. Although alot of guests put many more.

Yes they are ontop of each other, they are riverfront, and limited space on the Guadalupe River.

No the grounds are green and lush, but remember riverfront is RIVERFRONT and gets used alot and does flood - duh.

You wanted RIVERFRONT and were given your choice of at least three different sites - on two acres!!! Some with beautiful grass and shade.

No we are not always right but you didnt bring the first thing it stated on our email to you. A GOOD ATTITUDE.

And also we have restrooms and showers as well. You just didnt stick around enough to find or use them.

Talk about can't argue with Crazy!! Your husband and guests were so embarassed by your behavior. You were offered riverfront campsite for a party of four. You brought 2 large tents and a pavillion, enough to pillage the village. When you complained, we gave you a map and your choice of other sites on 2 acres and still could not apease you. No one was rude to you. You yelled at us about everything. Apparently you are very hard to please. If you would have relaxed a bit maybe we could have worked something out, but with all the huffing and puffing we knew that would be difficult. Most likely you are unaware that your husband apologized for your rude behavior before you left for Walmart.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2011

A large group of us stayed at Billy Goats Gruff July 7,8,9,10. We had an awesome time! The majority of our group consisted of teachers... and we all know teachers have lots of questions and can be "nit-picky".... I spoke with Brooke on the phone several times before our trip, she answered all our questions and concerns in a very friendly manner. We were treated with respect the entire duration of our trip. What most people need to understand, is this IS a business and if you follow the rules and treat the management with respect.... you will be treated the same. I find the pervious reviews "one sided" and rude. What were you doing to have this type of experience? I would highy recomend Billy Goats Gruff campsites to anyone that wants to have a great time at the river. I will be making reservations again to visit next summer! We had a BLAST.... all 25 of us!!!!!! Thanks~Julie

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieG_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Billy Goat's Gruff Campground, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
Julie, Thanks and glad you had a great time. And you are correct there are always is a few that think they are entitled. We have had thousands of guests over the years and only 22 reviews. Most of the people who enjoy themselves dont bother to write a review. Its usually the troublemakers, scammers, or ones with bad attitudes that write a negative review. We have a 92% return guests list and appreciate all your business. Thanks again and hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

Started off to an exciting trip to the river with a group of friends; ended up hating Mangement aka "Brooke" who single handedly made me write this review for our group of 25 who will never go back.  So we showed up with a large group expecting to pay for our 5 extra cars; after forking out an absurd $100 for the extra vehicles they proceed to tell us there is an overflow parking lot that is $10 insted of $20 and would not refund us the difference, so great start with Brooke being a great host.  The ONLY reason we stayed at the Gruff was for electricity. We were charged an extra $6 per person for electricity when only 4 out of our 10 tents used it. Be advised you need ~ 150+ft of extention cord to reach an outlet (lucky we came prepared).  When we got ready to toob it was a disaster to get in the water. to make it easier on THEM they take your groups toobs and combine it on one giant ticket then split it between the group. Now it seems logical but there are different tubes at different prices and some people didn't need tubes for their icechest.  This only created a mess for our group due to our size and impossible to split up. Example, one of our guys got a $16 tube and had their own icechest on their person but ended paying $30 due to the price per person they told us.  If you can avoid Brooke and conversate with the younger girl (her daughter??) who knows her stuff and treats people respectfully it will save you a headache.  Otherwise the location is great, you are able to party with loud music, the facities are maintained well for it being a primitive campsite.  Final thoughts avoid if possible due to it being a money pit with hidden cost.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank RiverRat88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Billy Goat's Gruff Campground, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
We charge for extra cars because we are a small camp and room is very limited!
It is $10 per day for extra cars.

Yes electricity must be paid for. It is $10 per day also.
Yes bring TOILET PAPER AND 100 FT EXT CORDS - remember we are a primitvie camp.

No we are not a money pit. Sorry - you must pay to play, just like
ever where else on earth, you are not entitled.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lumberton, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2011

Upon arriving I found that the grounds were neat and clean and no trash or ltter was scattered around. I found that for a small campsite, everyone there was very friendly and my sister and I found the owners very helpful and curtious. Upon reading the other reviews I could not imagine that they were talking about the same place. I, aware that it was primitive camping, came very prepared ahead of time which made for an easy going camp experience :) Yes bring toliet paper..extension cords...etc. And yes the bathrooms had dirt/sand/trash in the corner, but it wasn't at the fault of the campground....but by the campers who couldn't throw away their own stuff. We stayed there for 4 days and drove around thru other campsites who did charge the same prices or even those who would charge for a shower! We stayed up late and made new friends and everyone, including Brook and her husband, got along great! I look forward to returning there again soon--ready for another dirty river dawg!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie5360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Billy Goat's Gruff Campground, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
Thanks for the great review. On a previous review we stated that we would never give trip advisor the time or effort but reading the truth from guests like you is much appreciated. Yes bring toilet paper, yes bring 100 ft extension cords. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We strive to keep everything as clean as possible. Glad you liked the dirty river dawg. As of most of the negative reviews, they think they are entitled, trying to scam, or have done something wrong, ie break the rules or just dont want to pay. Once again if anyone has any questions just ask. Thanks for the honest review again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Braunfels hotels
7.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham New Braunfels
7.1 mi away
Best Western Inn & Suites
Best Western Inn & Suites
#11 of 32 in New Braunfels
370 reviews
5.6 mi away
Gruene Outpost River Lodge
Gruene Outpost River Lodge
#23 of 32 in New Braunfels
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott New Braunfels River Village
2.5 mi away
The Summit Vacation & RV Resort
The Summit Vacation & RV Resort
#23 of 30 in New Braunfels
37 reviews
8.8 mi away
Hill Country Cottage and RV Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Billy Goat's Gruff Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Billy Goat's Gruff Campground

Property: Billy Goat's Gruff Campground
Address: 8570 River Rd, New Braunfels, TX 78132-3127
Region: United States > Texas > New Braunfels
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 30 Speciality Lodging in New Braunfels
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Billy Goat`s Gruff Campground Hotel New Braunfels
Billy Goat's Gruff Campground New Braunfels, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing