We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Complaints”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Braunfels
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Billy Goat's Gruff Campground
ARLINGTON
2 reviews
“No Complaints”
Reviewed 31 July 2012

I made the reservation before I read any reviews, and after reading the reviews, I was pretty nervous, but I have no complaints! It was very nice to camp in the same place you get your tubes, and also have food and drinks available there. Our camp site was way less crowded than many others I passed while floating the river, and that was nice. We made friends with the other people camping there and some of them had been to Billy Goats Gruff before. They said they had never had a problem and always camp there. I would probably go back!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jubilee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goattx, Owner at Billy Goat's Gruff Campground, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Thank you and glad you had a good time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    9
    4
    3
    13
See reviews for
10
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2012

A group of 4 of us just enjoyed this past weekend at Billy Goats Gruff and had a perfectly pleasant time. We booked our campsite quite a few weeks in advance and were a little nervous when we read the reviews on trip advisor the week before we were booked to camp. However, our worrying was all in vain as we did not encounter any of the issues that were complained about. Management was very nice, informative and accommodating. She even gave us some advice regarding where to go for drinks/dinner in Gruene. We followed the rules and guidelines as posted on Billy Goats Gruff website. Some of the tips on trip advisor were also helpful. We did need a very long extension cord and the bathroom/showers were closed from 1-7 (which I don’t think was stated on their website). There are port-o-potties available during that time. We did not mind the fact that the bathroom/showers were locked during the peak floating time as we would rather be able to enjoy clean facilities. If the bathroom/showers were unlocked, people who are not guests of Billy Goats Gruff could get out of the river at the campsite and use the amenities. I am sure that cleanliness would quickly deteriorate if they allowed every person that stopped in entry to the amenities that we, as guests, pay to have access to. We returned from floating before 7 and the owner was very nice and unlocked the bathroom/showers for us early. Our party and the new friends we made with our fellow campers stayed up as late as we wanted each night with no interruption from the “drunk crazy lunatic owner” as alleged from the other reviews on this site. Treat the management with respect and you will receive respect. The rules are clearly posted on their website and at the campsite. Follow them and everyone will get along just fine. We will definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MandaLeeNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goattx, Owner at Billy Goat's Gruff Campground, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Thank you for your honest review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Also pointing out that the bathrooms are closed 1-7 and that it is not on our website we will get that on our site soon. Also pointing out the reason why they are closed. Before we did this many of a disgusting things were occuring in them. If at anytime the bathrooms or porta potties need attendance please let us know we will have someone clean them. Glad you had a great time in Gruene and hopefullyy see you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

This place is horrible. Don't ever come here. The woman that owns the property is a drunk lunatic. When we called to make the reservation we clearly stated that we had 5 people in our group. They gave us a cabin for 4, so we added an air mattress to the middle of the floor so the 5th person had somewhere to sleep. The woman that owns the property was inebriated and barged in on us. Didn't even have the common courtesy to knock first. So she barged in and starts calling us rats and white trash. There are rules stated on the wall that say to dry our clothes outside, not inside. She told us we were white trash for obeying HER rule. She then told us we needed to leave her property immediately. We did nothing wrong other than have a 5th person who was registered and had a vehicle sticker to park there. She then proceeded to tell us that she was going to charge us double for the weekend when she kicked us on on the second night. She called the cops on us and refused to give the officer her side of the story. Her husband told her to, "get your *** inside, now!" and she did. She then refused to come to the door when the officer requested so he had the police department call her house and they refused to answer the phone. The officer told us he was going to arrest her (on her property) for public intoxication and honestly I wish he would have. She kicked us out at almost 2am. We weren't drunk, we weren't partying, and we weren't being loud. CRAZY LADY-BEWARE-STAY AWAY!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Hakciria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goattx, Owner at Billy Goat's Gruff Campground, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
This unit has been a rental for eight years. It ONLY rents out for a party of four adults. The person that made the reservation signed off on all paper work upon his check in that three guests were checking in on early Friday and one later Friday evening. Security checked the late vehicle at 11:45 (check in ends at 10:30). We could have denied check in at that point. Security noted that you had a male companion with you. On Saturday morning you told the check in attendant that there was no fifth person in the unit and did not know what she was talking about. Security went to the unit at 2:00 am Sunday to hear heavy furniture being moved across hardwood floors, loud jumping noises due to air matress put across hallway blocking access to back bedroom and bathroom area. This went on for a couple of hours and finally security told you to leave because this was not going to work out. You were clearly in violation of the rules of the rental unit. Five persons are not allowed and either is moving the furniture. When you violated check in time time to sneak in additional people and told check in there was not an extra person, we should have told you to leave then. Remember when you tell untrue statements it takes many more to cover up. Stay away and Thank you for stealing our towels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

I was charged $300.00 fo damage that was pre existing. The door jamb was broken when we received the cabin. Check out was at 11 and we waited until 11:30 to leave we had no key to the unit and the total for one night was $412.00. They hit my card for an additional $300.00 and did not even call me to authorize the purchase. Has anyone had a simular experience with the 8 man cabin and damages I may need witnesses for small claims court . The bad part is I did enjoy myself and was going to book again for forth of July weekend. Professionalism is a must.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 12ofus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Billy Goat's Gruff Campground, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
First we know you and your family had a great time and we are sorry that you or someone in your group damaged our property, and were charged for it. So let us begin. The truth was not told beginning at your check-in. You stated that you had six people, which ended up being eight and we overlooked that, as well as only a one night rental. One of your guests was caught in a private service area by management rolling marijuana. Again we overlooked it. Upon check in you signed a contract that the unit would be left in the condition that was recieved. All of our rental units are cleaned and inspected immediately after check-out. Professionalism is a must on your part to approach an employee or management to report the damage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christoval, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Biggest problem with this place is the management. I've never witnessed such a lack of professionalism as was witnessed here. Rude doesn't even begin to describe it. People like this have no business dealing with the public. Their threats to sue people who post negative reviews are just ridiculous (this happened). Bring it!!! Clearly.....it's a common occurrence, otherwise, why so defensive???

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Txgirl76401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Billy Goat's Gruff Campground, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
U ummmm - had to clear our head and throat for this one.

Your family was so embarrased by your behavior that they apologized three times. You were supposed to turn in our river equipment by 6 pm but we waited and waited and waited.
We asked your party where you were and they said you hooked up with some man on the river and they had no idea where you were. At 9:40 - almost four hours late, you showed up with this guy who lied who said he was a registered guest, showed a fake armband. Our rental equipment that was supposed to be returned by 6 was deflated and put in the back of this non- registered guests pickup. When we asked for it, he told us to F*** off. He then was told to leave and we were told to "F*** off i'm not going anywhere." Then you and him proceeded to mingle with a group of 50-70 people and hide within them. The police were called to escort him out, but he wisely finally chose to leave. WHO's not professional? Young lady take responsibility for your behavior. You should have been arrested for theft of goods and services and charged for all the damaged equipment. By the way YOU STAY HOME!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Was taking back by all the reviews. Didnt know what to expect but when we got there, it was all good. The cabins were clean and very nice. The beds were very comfortable. We had our own porta potty and it was very clean. Got to meet the owners and they were very nice and answered any questions you had. All I ask is that you make sure the people you bring are wanting to be there for the same reasons. Had a little bit of problems with our friends inviting other people that werent welcomed nor did they have the name on guest list. Brooke and Alan are very good people to do business with and for the most part I have no complaints

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddiemoney12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Billy Goat's Gruff Campground, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
Thanks for an honest review. Remember everyone is a prepaid registered guest, with an armband, and a cartag for security reasons.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We came with one car, four people and and two large tents and a dining tent. We paid about 150$ total for the two nights we would stay including electricity and parking. I confirmed that the sites were spacious enough for two "large" tents. I was assured they would fit with plenty of room on a river front spot. We were very excited until we arrived and were shocked to find that it was much smaller than advertised. The sites were all different sizes and were right on top of each other. The grounds were lacking from the gorgeous pictures that were advertised online when I researched the place. We tried to come to a reasonable solution with the lady there and she was beyond rude! She started arguing about everything! We even offered to pay for two spots but the extra spacious riverfront spots were reserved for an "event". After futile conversation with the unhelpful woman, who wanted to only roll her eyes and be rude, we decided to scrap it and look elsewhere. I wish I had seen these reviews ahead of time but oh well! It was a learning experience! You can't argue with crazy! Although im sure they will post a counter argument about how they are always right! Go for it! 9 plus terrible reviews cant all be wrong, especially since they all have a similar complaint! Luckily we found a great spot with wonderful staff - second crossing! Just amazingly friendly service, excellent showers and spacious restrooms (not portapottys). So glad we didn't bother arguing anymore and just cut our losses!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 1happycamper82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Billy Goat's Gruff Campground, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
To address your staments first.

Each riverfront campsite is basically the same size that typically fits 6-8 people. Although alot of guests put many more.

Yes they are ontop of each other, they are riverfront, and limited space on the Guadalupe River.

No the grounds are green and lush, but remember riverfront is RIVERFRONT and gets used alot and does flood - duh.

You wanted RIVERFRONT and were given your choice of at least three different sites - on two acres!!! Some with beautiful grass and shade.

No we are not always right but you didnt bring the first thing it stated on our email to you. A GOOD ATTITUDE.

And also we have restrooms and showers as well. You just didnt stick around enough to find or use them.

Talk about can't argue with Crazy!! Your husband and guests were so embarassed by your behavior. You were offered riverfront campsite for a party of four. You brought 2 large tents and a pavillion, enough to pillage the village. When you complained, we gave you a map and your choice of other sites on 2 acres and still could not apease you. No one was rude to you. You yelled at us about everything. Apparently you are very hard to please. If you would have relaxed a bit maybe we could have worked something out, but with all the huffing and puffing we knew that would be difficult. Most likely you are unaware that your husband apologized for your rude behavior before you left for Walmart.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Braunfels
7.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott New Braunfels River Village
7.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham New Braunfels
5.6 mi away
Gruene Outpost River Lodge
Gruene Outpost River Lodge
#23 of 32 in New Braunfels
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
The Lodge at Turkey Cove
The Lodge at Turkey Cove
#3 of 3 in Canyon Lake
27 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Summit Vacation & RV Resort
The Summit Vacation & RV Resort
#16 of 30 in New Braunfels
35 reviews
8.8 mi away
Hill Country Cottage and RV Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Billy Goat's Gruff Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Billy Goat's Gruff Campground

Property: Billy Goat's Gruff Campground
Address: 8570 River Rd, New Braunfels, TX 78132-3127
Region: United States > Texas > New Braunfels
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 30 Speciality Lodging in New Braunfels
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Billy Goat`s Gruff Campground Hotel New Braunfels
Billy Goat's Gruff Campground New Braunfels, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing