We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had a great time” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Billy Goat's Gruff Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Braunfels
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Billy Goat's Gruff Campground
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Had a great time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Just got home from staying at Billy Goats over Memorial Day weekend. Our first time staying there. Liked the fact that it is a small camp ground and not a tent city. Camp site trash, showers, bathrooms and porta potties were all clean every day. Every camper I met was friendly and fun to visit with. When the music got loud early morning and someone complained, the lady owner immediately addressed the offending party. Owners and staff are very friendly & accommodating. Our thanks to them for making our stay fun and enjoyable. Already planning a return trip to BGG.

"Pinky"

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pat c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goattx, Owner at Billy Goat's Gruff Campground, responded to this review, 14 November 2014
Thanks "pinky" glad you had a good time. Sorry about the loud music, we try but there is always someone that tries to push the limits. Everyone have a great time, please be kind and respectful to your neighbors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    9
    4
    3
    13
See reviews for
10
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carrizo Springs, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

I've been to Billy Goat's Gruff a few times over the past couple of years and I've never received anything less than the royal treatment. The consistent friendly service, the available amenities of camp, and its location on the river keep me coming back to BGG.

Located about 5 miles down River Rd., the site of the campsite is its own slice of Guadalupe river heaven with awesome canyon views and a sweet drive to camp.

Whether you're doing primitive camping or taking advantage of one of the cabins, the amenities available to campers are plentiful--plumbing (2 showers, a toilet, a sink), picnic tables, grills, fire rings, firewood, ice, an ATM, a concession stand, and booze (during peak season). The cabins have basic dorm amenities (including bedding). The best thing available is the ability to rent toobs and get shuttle service right at camp. Furthermore, BGG will drop you off upstream enabling you and your crew to float back to camp.

In terms of service Brooke and her crew are ACE. She happily worked out a payment schedule, worked around our arrival times, had firewood ready for us upon arrival, provided deluxe shots and jello shots to kickoff our floats, had the climate set in our cabin, and was ready to help out with whatever else we might need. There was never any attitude. Everything was exceptional and provided with a smile.

Book a stay at Billy Goat's Gruff when you need a place for friends and family to hang out without reserve. There's a posted quiet time, but BGG counts on its guests to police themselves. If you have a hard time doing that, reconsider even going out in public at all. If you're wanting a quiet retreat, head further up River Rd. or try staying at a place that isn't designed for large numbers of people. If you're looking for a memorable time in one of the many pieces of heaven in Texas (the Texas Hill Country), then book here before everyone else does.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJ V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goattx, Owner at Billy Goat's Gruff Campground, responded to this review, 14 November 2014
Thank you AJ - finally catching up to respond. Glad you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

This was my first time to book a cabin on the river. Overall, service was good. We even got upgraded from the 4 person cabin to the 8 person cabin. The cabin was nice.. Except for some mouse droppings on the bed.. Lol but I understand it is on the river, outside, and hard to keep pests away. At least it was air conditioned. Noise level was calm. It was the cheapest cabin I could find that was not booked. We had a great time!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan2868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goattx, Owner at Billy Goat's Gruff Campground, responded to this review, 28 August 2015
I guess tripadvisor doesn't have a sense of humor or like mice! All we said was here k*^^Y.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

I don't usually write bad reviews, but this place was pretty bad. They didn't enforce 11pm noise curfew.. People were loudly drunk & played music till about 5 am (the owners left around 10 pm). Not only music, but five different radios blaring LOUDLY!
Secondly, they took credit cards over the phone for booking a place, but on arrival to buy a tube, any drink, or any food they took cash only- and had an aTm that charges you for it.
Thirdly, and I know I should have asked... but when I reserved I thought it was $15 per person and that's all. I asked the lady if there were any other charges. She said no. Just me and my husband (thinking it was $30 a night -which we booked for 2 nights) ended up being $90 because of $10 a day parking fee ($20 + for parking). She wasn't too helpful..

OVERALL... not a family place to stay at.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Amelita_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goattx, Owner at Billy Goat's Gruff Campground, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Ok lets see YOU enforce 100 partying adults to be quiet all night. If you can please come here every weekend and stay up all night long and have at it and just see how many like adore you in the morning. ALL CAMPERS MUST POLICE THEMSELVES, BE COURTEOUS, HAVE FUN AND CHILL OUT!!! IF THERE IS A PROBLEM CALL THE POLICE. Oh wow we only take cash and have an ATM and it charges you oh WOW what a concept, an ATM that charges you, wow! And yes you are correct its $15.00 per person with a minimum of four prepaid registered guest. If you only have two people you have to pay the extra charge for your vehicle, and also electricity is $10 per nite.
BTW you stayed in June 2013 and traveled with family? No, just your husband!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

The property is very small, expensive for primative tent camping. Sites are VERY close to each other. You have to haul water from the restrooms. The Toilet and Showers are closed from 11:00am to 7:00pm. So you have to use the most disgusting port potties during the day. This is NOT a family friendly place. People drinking music all night, we complained to the owners did nothing! I informed them that on their rules, specifically #4, says “Quiet Time 11pm - 8 am!!!!!!!!!!!”.Yet they don’t enforce them. I DO NOT recommend this place for families. If your into parting all night , then this is a great place for you.

Room Tip: There is no place there to camp that is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Raquel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goattx, Owner at Billy Goat's Gruff Campground, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Yes we are a small camp and that's they way we like it. Yes camping on the Guadalupe in most camps you are camping right next to other people. The bathhouse is closed like you stated so people from the river do not trash, vomit, sh**, and have sex in them during the day. Disgusting porta pottys? Why didn't you tell us that the were disgusting? BTW they were not. We spray and bleach each morning. Oh no drinking on the river - you gotta be kidding me!!!! Oh and music my gosh! Our rules are our rules/guidelines for the camp. You complained but didn't tell us who was the problem. How can we do anything if you don't tell us who. By the way most of the camp was rather good. You have to enforce the rules and camps must respect each other. Nobody is going to stay up all night to do this. ALL CAMPERS RESPECT EACH OTHER PLEASE!!! Not a family friendly place? Your family was the only one that complained. Oh and thanks for YOUR family taking up ALL the shower time, yes we had lots of complaints about that. We bent over backward to serve you. Changed your campsite, hand delivered firewood, brought you a fire ring and grate, etc. etc. etc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

PREFACE: We stayed Memorial Day weekend with the intent to "have a good time" so I'm guessing the "party level" was a bit higher than normal.

The campsite has probably about 25 spots, pretty close to one another, especially riverside. Riverside sites are basically on clay, the other sites had decent grass to pitch your tent. There was a lot of rain that weekend so I'm guessing everything was a little more muddy than usual. The river is really beautiful there, up against the cliffs, there is a little island across from the campsite where we set up chairs in the water and drank beers.

Other sites set up music and had a dance party going on into the night. I brought ear plugs for going to sleep ~10pm, slept like a baby till sunset. All the campers were friendly, generally respectful and having a good time. I would say this was a less "family friendly" environment due to the noise and drinking, but it is very possible this is what you are looking for.

The negative reviews here are probably built on a little bit of truth but I imagine are an exaggeration based on drunken antics and all around belligerence by the patrons. The owners have a campsite to run and I'm sure they get sick of intoxicated idiots that are unavoidable over the years. I talked to them a couple times (I was also an intoxicated idiot), but they were pretty cool and willing to talk and help you out. If you act like a reasonable human being and respect your property and other people's property and space, you will have no problems here and have a good time.

It's quite expensive for primitive camping but you have to look at it for what it is, more like a tourist attraction like a water park or a six flags, not a national park where you get way out in nature and wake up to birds chirping and bambi sniffing your tent.

We had a great time. Thanks Billy Goats Gruff, it's 1 week later and I have finally caught up on my sleep and shaken the hangover!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dmoney884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goattx, Owner at Billy Goat's Gruff Campground, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Thank you and you are pretty much right on target. In regards to cleanliness, remember it is the river and also we do pick up your bagged trash in the morning and it helps if all campers clean up their own campsite. Glad your caught up on your sleep and sorry about your hangover -- NOT - lol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granbury, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

Got a good laugh out of all these reviews.. We had a big rowdy group with us and had a great time! We were all planning on hitting up Ice House after our float but were having such a great time at this sites bar there was no need to leave. I love how everything is right there with no need to drive:) Food, beer, tubes, shuttle.. Stayed a couple of years ago but never thought ab leaving a review (most don't that enjoy theirselves). Reserving my next reservation when all this showed up!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amanda n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goattx, Owner at Billy Goat's Gruff Campground, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Thankyou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Braunfels hotels
2.5 mi away
The Summit Vacation & RV Resort
The Summit Vacation & RV Resort
#19 of 29 in New Braunfels
3.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Resort at Schlitterbahn
The Resort at Schlitterbahn
#5 of 31 in New Braunfels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
8.7 mi away
Hill Country Cottage and RV Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New Braunfels
Hilton Garden Inn New Braunfels
#1 of 31 in New Braunfels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
7.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN Inn & Suites
#6 of 31 in New Braunfels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
7.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham New Braunfels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Billy Goat's Gruff Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Billy Goat's Gruff Campground

Property: Billy Goat's Gruff Campground
Address: 8570 River Rd, New Braunfels, TX 78132-3127
Region: United States > Texas > New Braunfels
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 29 Speciality Lodging in New Braunfels
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Billy Goat`s Gruff Campground Hotel New Braunfels
Billy Goat's Gruff Campground New Braunfels, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing