We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Intimate, but has it all”

McKenna Children's Museum
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Intimate, but has it all”
Reviewed 4 May 2013

We went with our 4.5 years old and 18 month old and they both loved it! It's not a big museum, but it has all that you need for a few hours of fun. They both found things to do and they very excited about the digital screens.
Don't hesitate if you are in the area.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Maya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    32
    7
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
206 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Place for the Whole Family”
Reviewed 23 January 2013

There are activities for the whole family to share. Make a day of it....play, learn and eat lunch at the little cafe.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Patrice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Braunfels, Texas
Level Contributor
71 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good for a couple of hours”
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Once is enough. The layout is good and it keeps the little ones interested for about two hours. Kids that are over 6 get bored fairly quickly.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TheLyonsGroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very Satisfied”
Reviewed 19 January 2013

I have been to McKenna several times with my son and have never had a bad experience. The exhibits and displays are clean and the staff is very helpful and friendly. This museum is also located in a smaller city so you don't have to deal with the crowds in San Antonio and Austin. It's a great place and is light on the wallet too.

If possible, try to go on warmer days and maybe bring some extra clothes for your kids. In the back of the museum there is usually some type of activity with water. It's not designed so kids will get soaked but my five year old finds a way.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike3887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Braunfels, Texas
Level Contributor
132 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great for kids”
Reviewed 27 October 2012 via mobile

What can I say but ... If anyone has kids under 10 this is the magic place. So much to do and even fun for adults. Be a banker or a bat in a cave. This place is a must !

Helpful?
1 Thank globespun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed McKenna Children's Museum also viewed

 

Been to McKenna Children's Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing