We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Campsite”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Braunfels
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
KL Ranch Camp Cliffside
Dallas
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very Nice Campsite”
Reviewed 13 June 2008

We drove in from the North up at Canyon Lake and headed down River Rd. Since it was Sunday they told me that I would have an easy time getting a place along the river. We had a few places in mind but after we got down to the KL Ranch we knew that this was the place. We are used to more rustic camping with lot's of nice trees and shaded areas. A lot of the other campsites are really for college kids. They have more frills like volleyball courts/Bars etc but way more crowded. The KL Ranch fits the bill if you are looking for more secluded area for families. Which is hard to find along the river. They have lot's of great sites. 81 is probably the best site. They have nice showers and the general store has everything you need. The river by the campsite is very nice as well. The first day we didn't even get tubes, we just set up camp and hung out in the water. There is even a rope tied to a tree for a nice swing into the river. Right next to the KL Ranch is Riverbank Outfitters. http://www.guadaluperafting.com/ They were really excellent. I recommend them. Plus they are pretty close to the campsite. I would come back here anytime. It's a mom and pop type setup. We paid for 2 nights and my wife felt ill after one day and they refunded our money!!!

  • Liked — Location and service
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Wiz33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    9
    2
    3
    4
See reviews for
11
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2006

KL Campground is family owned and family operated and the familiy is very friendly. We have been tent camping there for 10 years. They take reservations. The quiet hours are enforced. The fishing is good. The tubing is great. The restrooms are clean and lots of hot water! I would not stay anywhere else.

Richmond, Texas

Stayed May 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank Can'tcamp;don'tmarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2006

We have been going to the river in New Braunfels for years, and this was our first stay at KL Ranch Camp. We had a great time! The scenery was great, it wasn't too loud at night and the owners were very friendly. We had a bit of a mix up at check in due to multiple families, but it was resolved easily and with a smile on both sides.
We had spaces 82 and 83 on the river with both water and electric. While 82 was great, 83 had no shade - so keep that in mind when reserving your spot. There was a rope swing almost directly across from our sites, and it kept our kids entertained for hours. Next year we will request sites 81 and 82.
We came at the end of the summer, and due to no rain in a while the river was painfully slow. So we opted out of going down it or even trying the Comal - we decided to stick around the campsites all day and we don't regret it! We put our chairs out in the water and watched the floaters for hours. A perfectly relaxing weekend!
Previous reviewers complained about the traffic noise from River Road, but you will have that problem with most anywhere you stay because of the popularity of it. Also there were complaints about the bathroom - it was fine for us. If you are used to the Hilton or Marriott you will probably find the facilities lacking - but as far as camping goes, the bathrooms were fine.
I highly recommend KL Ranch Camp!

  • Liked — Location, size of spaces
  • Disliked — A lot of ant piles
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carriemc95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2006

My Mother Sister and I recently stayed at K&L Ranch to celebrate my birthday with a mother, daugher and sister weekend camping trip. It was absolutely wonderful at K&L Ranch. It was very quiet and peaceful. We stayed in campsite # 101 with big trees hanging over the guadalupe that ran right in front of our tent. A small waterfall/rapids were right in front of our site which made it fun to watch all the floaters float by and float over the falls. The restrooms were very clean. We had a small bathroom above our site with just toilet facilites...the larger restroom was a short walk down towards the entrance. It had 2 shower stalls, 2 sinks, 3 toilet stalls. All were very clean. The owners were very nice. I know where I will stay next trip! K & L Ranch!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank MicheleBuckley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 7 February 2006

My spouse and I went there last June 13,2005 with six other families and their children.We had a great time.I love the place,we plan to go again this summer.I can hardly wait.

Stayed June 2005
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texas
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2005

We stayed at KL Ranch camp this past weekend. The one thing good I can say is that our camp site was on the water and we had a nice view. We were in a tent on the river side camp site # 70 with water and electric. sites # 70 and 69 are in a good location on the water because there is a small area of sand, enough to put a few chairs on and the water was shallow enough for small children because the river was low.

The main problem with this location is the noise! Oh my goodness. We did not get any sleep Friday night. They say on their website that they close the gates and make people leave that are not staying over night but they don't. People were driving in and out until about 2:30am. Any type of vehicle that passes by on river road you can hear it, harley motorcycles were passing late at night and would wake you out of a dead sleep (when you finally could fall asleep from the noise stopping for 20 minutes or so.

Then, there was this guy, I guess he worked there, driving through on a golf cart about every 30 minutes or so. The road that he was on was like 10 feet from our tent so it was loud. River road was about 25 feet from our tent. If you do go here, stay on the cliff side it may be a little bit more peaceful.

The first night we were there, they were out of toilet paper in the ladies bathrooms. There is no sink in the bathrooms that have no shower and they have a plastic bucket for a trash can right in the middle of the two stalls and you better not look down because it has no lid. The bathrooms were not cleaned all weekend because sunday when we left the trash had not been emptied and the trash that was on the floor friday when we got there was still there on sunday.

they charge you 1.00 to take a shower and their store is very expensive. I forgot our mustard at home and had to go to the KL Ranch store and paid 1.50 for a small thing of mustard. Also they sell fire wood for $6.00 a bundle and you don't get that much / enough wood for one nights worth. They sold bags of ice - the small ones you can get at the grocery store for 99cents for 1.50 each.
We will never stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank bjcalitex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 21 July 2004

I really like this campground and will always return. The staff is friendly, the campgrounds clean, the price is very reasonable, and the scenery is unbelieveable. It was a good walk to the bathroom, but not too bad. And its first come first serve on the tent sites so show up early if you want to be by the water.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Braunfels hotels
3.7 mi away
Gruene Outpost River Lodge
Gruene Outpost River Lodge
#23 of 32 in New Braunfels
109 reviews
5.3 mi away
Best Western Inn & Suites
Best Western Inn & Suites
#11 of 32 in New Braunfels
370 reviews
5.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton New Braunfels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham New Braunfels
Wingate by Wyndham New Braunfels
#9 of 32 in New Braunfels
659 reviews
5.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott New Braunfels River Village
5.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham New Braunfels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KL Ranch Camp Cliffside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KL Ranch Camp Cliffside

Property: KL Ranch Camp Cliffside
Address: 5300 River Rd, New Braunfels, TX 78132-3020
Region: United States > Texas > New Braunfels
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 30 Speciality Lodging in New Braunfels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summer vacations, tubing, and camping. We have tube rentals, showers, and a camp store. We accept reservations and welcome RV's, trailers, pop-ups, and tent campers. Day picnic is also available. Join us for a day of fun in the sun! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kl Ranch Camp Hotel New Braunfels
KL Ranch Camp Cliffside New Braunfels, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing