We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is ok.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Braunfels
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
KL Ranch Camp Cliffside
texas
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“This place is ok.”
Reviewed 23 August 2005

We stayed at KL Ranch camp this past weekend. The one thing good I can say is that our camp site was on the water and we had a nice view. We were in a tent on the river side camp site # 70 with water and electric. sites # 70 and 69 are in a good location on the water because there is a small area of sand, enough to put a few chairs on and the water was shallow enough for small children because the river was low.

The main problem with this location is the noise! Oh my goodness. We did not get any sleep Friday night. They say on their website that they close the gates and make people leave that are not staying over night but they don't. People were driving in and out until about 2:30am. Any type of vehicle that passes by on river road you can hear it, harley motorcycles were passing late at night and would wake you out of a dead sleep (when you finally could fall asleep from the noise stopping for 20 minutes or so.

Then, there was this guy, I guess he worked there, driving through on a golf cart about every 30 minutes or so. The road that he was on was like 10 feet from our tent so it was loud. River road was about 25 feet from our tent. If you do go here, stay on the cliff side it may be a little bit more peaceful.

The first night we were there, they were out of toilet paper in the ladies bathrooms. There is no sink in the bathrooms that have no shower and they have a plastic bucket for a trash can right in the middle of the two stalls and you better not look down because it has no lid. The bathrooms were not cleaned all weekend because sunday when we left the trash had not been emptied and the trash that was on the floor friday when we got there was still there on sunday.

they charge you 1.00 to take a shower and their store is very expensive. I forgot our mustard at home and had to go to the KL Ranch store and paid 1.50 for a small thing of mustard. Also they sell fire wood for $6.00 a bundle and you don't get that much / enough wood for one nights worth. They sold bags of ice - the small ones you can get at the grocery store for 99cents for 1.50 each.
We will never stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank bjcalitex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    10
    2
    3
    4
See reviews for
12
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 21 July 2004

I really like this campground and will always return. The staff is friendly, the campgrounds clean, the price is very reasonable, and the scenery is unbelieveable. It was a good walk to the bathroom, but not too bad. And its first come first serve on the tent sites so show up early if you want to be by the water.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 29 June 2004

My family and I spend each fourth of July at KL Ranch Camp. We love it. On the days we are not floating the River we enjoy the attractions of New Braunfels and San Antonio. The staff is extremly helpful- even when it floods! We can't wait until our next stay at KL Ranch Camp. It is our "Family Tradition" on each fourth of July.

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 25 June 2004

We have been going to KL Ranch for 17 years we really enjoy it. My wife and her family have been going alot longer than that. This is a family place you must go to (to have fun in the sun).

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 31 May 2004

We have been going to KL rach camp for the past 5 years and are on our way for the 6th time next week. I love it there. u can have so much fun floating the river. you can float for how ever you want. one year we floated to greune. the little falls right there are great, we spent a whole day there and had a blast.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 19 May 2004

We have been coming to this camp site for the last eight years. And we love it. It is a big reunion for us. Everyone we know that use to live in Odessa and still do live there all show up and we have a BLAST!!!!!!!!! (Party that is!!!!!) Yes, there is drinking going on but it never gets to wild. NOT FOR THE RIVER!!!!! So if you are planning on going for MEMORIAL DAY we are there!!!! Party is all around our site!!!!!

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 4 May 2004

We have been going to KL Ranch for over 14 years and every year we talk about going somewhere else... but we always end up going to KL just because we love it so much.
We just can't say enough good things about them, the property and the facilities.
They always make us feel like family.

We highly recommend KL Ranch Campgrounds to anyone wanting to experience the best the Guadalope River and River Road have to offer.

Kirk and Pam

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Braunfels hotels
3.7 mi away
Gruene Outpost River Lodge
Gruene Outpost River Lodge
#22 of 33 in New Braunfels
109 reviews
5.3 mi away
Best Western Inn & Suites
Best Western Inn & Suites
#11 of 33 in New Braunfels
373 reviews
5.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott New Braunfels River Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham New Braunfels
6.5 mi away
Hill Country Cottage and RV Resort
4.6 mi away
The Summit Vacation & RV Resort
The Summit Vacation & RV Resort
#26 of 30 in New Braunfels
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KL Ranch Camp Cliffside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KL Ranch Camp Cliffside

Property: KL Ranch Camp Cliffside
Address: 5300 River Rd, New Braunfels, TX 78132-3020
Region: United States > Texas > New Braunfels
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 30 Speciality Lodging in New Braunfels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summer vacations, tubing, and camping. We have tube rentals, showers, and a camp store. We accept reservations and welcome RV's, trailers, pop-ups, and tent campers. Day picnic is also available. Join us for a day of fun in the sun! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kl Ranch Camp Hotel New Braunfels
KL Ranch Camp Cliffside New Braunfels, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing