We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious tacos, great value”

Taqueria El Tapatio
Ranked #86 of 260 Restaurants in New Braunfels
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious tacos, great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

I live in Austin but go to New Braunfels frequently for work. Nowhere in Austin have I found $1.75 tacos that are nearly as well-made and filling as the ones at Taqueria El Tapatio. In Austin, to get this kind of quality it would probably be $3-$4 per taco. The ingredients are just fantastic, and the people who work there are very friendly and helpful. I've gotten the chicken, al pastor and barbacoa, and they're all amazing, but I'm especially fond of the al pastor (the seasonings are wonderful) and barbacoa. Each taco is so delicious and filling, and the corn tortillas are fantastic! Definitely go here if you're in New Braunfels and want a delicious and economical meal served by friendly people (whether at the drive-thru or sitting in the restaurant).

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Becky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    10
    4
    0
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

This is an authentic Mexican place for a good Mexican breakfast. Look no further, this is the place. Its small, does not look like much...but it is the real deal. Service is excellent...so is the refried beens!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
781 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 302 helpful votes
“I'd East Here for the Refried Beans!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

We stopped in for lunch and found a great special - $5.99 for a plate lunch plus a drink. We enjoyed their chips and salsa and the refried beans that came with our meal were very, very good. They were so tasty that we decided they didn’t need any added seasonings or toppings of any kind and agreed they really were best eaten completely unadulterated. My burrito wasn’t the best I’d ever had and my husband said his fajita meat was a little bland but we can’t complain too much as everything else was so good. I highly recommend this place for lunch. Oh, the service was exceptional - very fast and friendly and they responded to our every request. They even gave us a cup of salsa to go with our leftovers.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AGoingGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Service is great. I love their tortilla soup and huevos rancheros. Not a fancy place but consistently good food. Great coffee, also.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Mexican Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

We stayed at The Faust Hotel which was only two doors down, and wanted a more hearty breakfast than what was offered at the hotel. Very pleasantly surprised by the breakfast, however, the bacon tasted old, but that was our only negative experience.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taqueria El Tapatio also viewed

 

Been to Taqueria El Tapatio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing