We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute cottages, perfect Gruene location!”
Review of Gruene Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gruene Cottages
Reviewed 25 March 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay in the Pecos room for the most part. It was cute, clean, spacious and walking distance to Gruene. We did have an issue the first night but the manager was wonderful and made up for it when we checked out. The only things we didn't like about the grounds were the steps. They are not marked well. There's a little bitty step right out of the door that we all almost ate cement just about every time. Other than that, it's a great little place and we will definitely return!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsLouie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 40 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2012

I'm glad I splurge on this cottage. I booked the Sweetwater as it is the only cottage left (we were there for Tour de Gruene). It is only a half mile to the downtown area (little shops and restaurant). The cabins are fully furnished (at least ours). It has kitchen utensils- more than what you will need. Towels and basic toiletries are provided I was surprised they have Aveda products!

Things I like:
1. Great location
2. Fully furnished unit- washer dryer available outside- just buy your own detergent.
3. Nice ambiance- play area and pool
4. Soooo clean. The sheets smells soooo good and towels are clean.
5. Love love the mini-jacuzzi in the bathroom. It helps specially after 35 miles of rolling hills bicycling.
6. Park in front/side of your cottage.
7. No check in needed. Just punch in your 4 digit access code.
8. Fast Internet - free.
9. Up to 4 people can stay- but it'll be too crowded.

Negatives:
1. You will hear the train - it didn't bother me but my husband can't sleep because of that.
2. The main office is in another location (The Gruene Mansion).

My overall stay is simply fantastic! No doubt we will come back. By the way- no pets allowed.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mjpatterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

The best thing about our cottage was the comfortable King size bed (a comfortable bed is our top priority when on vacation!) and the large jetted tub in the bathroom. The cottage was clean and well-kept. The futon sofa in the living area wasn't too comfortable but not a deal breaker. (We didn't use it as a bed, only as a sofa.) They had nice TVs but no DVD players. We didn't use the pool or playground because of the weather, but they looked nice and well-kept. We had an issue with the hot water heater while we were there, but the owner impressed us with her sincere apologies and a discount for our stay not being perfect the whole time. We would stay there again, despite the water issue, because of the way she handled it. Excellent customer service in the face of unexpected problems makes all the difference...

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tracy043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Clean cottages with comfy beds. Pool is excellent for learning swimmers-- 5ft at the deepest and 3ft on the ends. We were in Pecos, offering a full kitchen with full size refrigerator, stove, microwave, etc. You *could* sleep 4, but I don't recommend it. The futon is like sleeping on the floor, so avoid it if you have back problems. Tub is large enough for a full size (over 6ft) man. Outside was very nice and well-kept. It's in walking distance from downtown Gruene, with shopping and Gruene Hall for live music.

Room Tip: Take two people off their listing for accomodation-- if it says 6, it's 4 comfortably.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank TexasWorker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

My husband and I met up with family and stayed for several days here. Both our cottage (the smaller Sonoma cottage) and the larger cottage with a kitchen where the rest of my family stayed (Comfort) were cozy, clean and had very original/well-thought out decorative details without being over-the-top or too kitch. The property had some great amenities, including a pool and playground for kids and multiple bbq pits. It was also close enough to walk to downtown Gruene without being right in the middle of all of the noise-- I slept very soundly the entire time I was there. It's also a great central location from which to explore the hill country. While there's no restaurant on the property, it is close to lots of good places (it is run by the same family that runs the Gruene Mansion Inn, and you can arrange to have breakfast there). There are refrigerators or kitchens in all of the rooms, and we found it really convenient to be able to cook and keep our own food. Everyone in my family-- from granny to my toddler nephew-- was quite happy with the place and we would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vanessacondesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2010

I rode my bicycle from North Central San Antonio to Gruene, TX and stayed at the Gruene Cottages. I stayed overnight in the "Sage" guestroom. The friendly staff at the Gruene Mansion Inn (which owns & operates Gruene Cottages) allowed me to check-in early and seemed genuinely interested in ensuring I had a great stay. My guestroom is one of the smallest available but it had wonderful charm and I enjoyed a relaxing evening after a long bicycle ride. Free WIFI allowed me to stay connected to friends/family. The cottages are located south of downtown Gruene so it's a decent walk if you want to go back into town. That distance from the hustle and bustle of Gruene, especially on a weekend when parking and traffic congestion can become an issue, provided the perfect opportunity to enjoy some tranquility.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bikegeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Braunfels hotels
3.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott New Braunfels River Village
1.5 mi away
Gruene Outpost River Lodge
Gruene Outpost River Lodge
#26 of 33 in New Braunfels
110 reviews
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton New Braunfels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Gruene Homestead Inn
Gruene Homestead Inn
#4 of 12 in New Braunfels
88 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Resort at Schlitterbahn
The Resort at Schlitterbahn
#1 of 33 in New Braunfels
791 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hill Country Cottage and RV Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gruene Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gruene Cottages

Address: 1950 Hunter Rd, New Braunfels, TX 78130-3041
Region: United States > Texas > New Braunfels
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 31 Speciality Lodging in New Braunfels
Price Range: £159 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gruene Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come visit historic Gruene, Texas and relax in the privacy of one of our two-story rock guest houses with its antique furnishings. The guest houses are replicas of the Fredericksburg Sunday houses that were built in the 1800's. Relax and take a restful journey back in time by spending a few days with us in historical Gruene. Gruene Cottages is managed by the Gruene Mansion Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Gruene Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gruene Cottages Hotel New Braunfels
Gruene Cottages New Braunfels, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing