We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ladies shopping trip”
Review of Gruene Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gruene Cottages
Plano, TX
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Ladies shopping trip”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We rented the Comfort for a weekend late April. We were five ladies on a shopping weekend. We loved the house and the accommodations worked well. One person slept on the trundle in the Living room. We enjoyed the porch and the rockers in the evening after dinner. The kitchen was perfect for a no cooking weekend but storing drinks and snacks. I recommend this highly as a great alternative to a a standard hotel. It is just 1/2 mile to Gruene shopping and 10 miles to the Outlets. It is a lovely campus of cottages and has a nice pool for families.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Laredo, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Stayed this weekend in the Comfort. It was 4 of us but there is certainly enough room for 6 with the 2 queen beds downstairs and the king bed upstairs and each bedroom with its own bathroom. The beds were super comfy and it was so quite and relaxing we slept in an extra hour each day. We will be booking there again! We drove into Gruene which is about 3 mins (6 blocks) from the cottages and the Outlet's in San Marcos are also only 9 miles away. Great location! Thanks Gruene Cottages we will see you again soon.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guillermo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington TX
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

This was our first time at Greune Cottages. What a perfect little getaway! My family and I go to New Braunfels each year to visit family during WurstFest and we'll never stay in a hotel again! We stayed in a 2 story cottage named "Comfort" The first floor had a bedroom with 2 queen beds, a full bath, a living area and a cute little kitchen, fully equipped, including a Keurig coffee maker with K-cups, sugar, and cream in the fridge. The upstairs had a bath with a shower and a very comfortable king bed. The whole place was so comfortable, extremely clean, beautifully decorated. Thanks for a great weekend!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaperPusher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We love Gruene Cottages. The cottages are small but perfect for a couple or a family of 4. The last 2 years we have held our mini family reunion at Gruene Cottages. Each family rents their own cottage but the grounds enable us to hang out/visit together. Each cottage has BBQ grills so we are able to cook burgers out. Gruene/New Braunfels is such a quaint historical town with lots of shops, good restaurants, and of course Gruene Hall. It's a fun place to visit.

Room Tip: Go to their website and look at the photos and cottage description to select which cottage is best f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tutttravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We go to Gruene a lot to visit relatives but this time we decided to stay at the Gruene Cottages that we have seen many times and have always wondered if they could possibly be as wonderful as they appear. From the moment we drove in we knew they were. The grounds are very relaxing. We sat in the rocking chairs in front of our cabin for hours. The cottage was extremely clean and the beds were wonderful. From now on when we visit family this is the place we will stay.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank LaughAtHeights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Campo, Texas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay here! Rooms are nice, clean and comfy. Pool is great for relaxing. It's just a short walk into Gruene, which was a plus not to drive into town on the busy weekend evenings. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sitkasmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castroville, Texas
Level Contributor
138 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We chose this location for my soon to be daughter-in-law's Bachelorette Weekend
It was perfect! We were able to bring our own food, and really relax. These were
Bachelorettes in the late 20's age group, so they were not looking for a lot of night life and craziness. We enjoyed the pool and walked to Gruene for a little shopping.
The cottage did sleep 8, and beds were comfortable. Outdoor area was nice with picnic table and rocking chairs right outside on the porch.
Great place for a family get together or girls weekend.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmerun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Braunfels hotels
1.5 mi away
Gruene Outpost River Lodge
Gruene Outpost River Lodge
#22 of 32 in New Braunfels
3.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New Braunfels
Hilton Garden Inn New Braunfels
#3 of 32 in New Braunfels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
3.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott New Braunfels River Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham New Braunfels
Wingate by Wyndham New Braunfels
#10 of 32 in New Braunfels
3.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hill Country Cottage and RV Resort
0.9 mi away
Lamb's Rest Inn
Lamb's Rest Inn
#2 of 17 in New Braunfels
5.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gruene Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gruene Cottages

Property: Gruene Cottages
Address: 1950 Hunter Rd, New Braunfels, TX 78130-3041
Region: United States > Texas > New Braunfels
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 Speciality Lodging in New Braunfels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Gruene Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come visit historic Gruene, Texas and relax in the privacy of one of our two-story rock guest houses with its antique furnishings. The guest houses are replicas of the Fredericksburg Sunday houses that were built in the 1800's. Relax and take a restful journey back in time by spending a few days with us in historical Gruene. Gruene Cottages is managed by the Gruene Mansion Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Gruene Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gruene Cottages Hotel New Braunfels
Gruene Cottages New Braunfels, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing