We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Stop Shop For Texas Wines”

The Grapevine Texas Wine Bar
Ranked #11 of 262 Restaurants in New Braunfels
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Wine Bar
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible
Woodway, Texas
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“One Stop Shop For Texas Wines”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Needing a bottle to take to a family dinner, I was able to pop into this wine bar and quickly make a selection from numerous amounts of local Texas wines. The atmosphere was pleasant - there was a couple completing a tasting at the bar (overheard one individual saying one gets 3 tastings for free), and other patrons walking around discussing the selection. The service was less then desirable however. No one came by offering to help, and when it was time to check-out, the woman behind the register seemed "put out" and acted as though the individual on the phone was more important than the paying patron in front of her.

If you can get past the lack of friendly customer service, this is a charming place to stop along your travels.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Old-World-Traveler15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    51
    9
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
243 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“If you want wine, this is the place.”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Tons of wine selections, mostly Texan. Three free tastes, wines by the glass. Great outdoor seating area under trees to relax and sip. Service wasn't particularly friendly, but it's definitely worth a visit.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank boltsnnuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brownsville, Texas
Level Contributor
86 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Decent place to rest a bit.”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We arrived at this location after my parents decided they wanted to rest and drink some wine. We were shopping in the Gruene downtown area. I went inside and was greeting very warmly. We were recommended the Texas Red by Three Dudes and it was good. We ate a cheese plate and drank the bottle outside. It was pleasant and the scenery was calming. We loved it. The service and staff were great!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jess F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wine tasting”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

I had the "Jalapano Wine" and it was very interesting. I must say this place is very cozy and they have a very decent selection of wine.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Francelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Mb
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Grossly overpriced wine! Buy elsewhere.”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We were staying in the Gruene area and stopped at The Grapevine for their wine tasting. The bartender was very pleasant and offered 3 free tastings. They had a table with wine marked down to 50% off. I selected the only bottle of Sauvignon Blanc from New Zealand but there was no price tag on the bottle. The bartender swiped the UPC code but questioned the price that was shown. So he took the bottle to the owner who was in her office. She came out and picked up a red bottle of wine from the table, scanned it, and said all the wines were $25 so the selling price would be 50% off of that amount. I should have questioned this sales tactic. The next day I learned that the retail price of this particular bottle was $13 and that was likely the price that showed up on the register! This shop has unconscionable business practices so I agree with the previous reviewer who suggested buying your wine at HEB.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank BeeJeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Grapevine Texas Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to The Grapevine Texas Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing