We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“surprisingly good.”
Review of Cantina del Rio

Cantina del Rio
Ranked #28 of 265 Restaurants in New Braunfels
Cuisines: American, Mexican, Pizza
Restaurant details
Eagle Lake, TX
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“surprisingly good.”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

small place and has a fast food feel until the food arrives at the table. The salsa and guacamole were excellent. Chicken fajitas and chicken enchiladas were great too. Chips were a bit thick but all else was excellent.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    87
    38
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Livonia, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“loved it!”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I loved this little restaurant! the tacos are amazing and the corn tortillas are made there. the shrimp and fish tacos were some of the best we have had. Sitting outside makes it even better. Loved this place!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wendy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abilene, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Enjoyable lunch”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This little restaurant is all about ambiance. There is a small seating area inside but the majority is outdoor seating. During the cooler periods there are windows that they can close.

Even during the hottest part of the day it is cool under the roof, they have fans and a cool breeze moves through.

The prices were very reasonable and the food was good. We had excellent service and many of the wait staff were young and did a good job of coming by to see if we needed anything.

The soft tacos can either come in flour or corn tortillas, I thought they were both excellent; however, some of our party did not like the corn tortillas, they thought they were a little gritty.

Their margaritas and swirls looked delicious; but, due to the companions we were with we did not indulge. Next time we are there I will partake if company allows.

The restaurant sits above the road leading into Gruene from the river, one of the only draw backs was the loud motorcycles traveling on the road.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Fabulous little place”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We went here recently and loved it. It's really a cute place in a cute town full of cute places. I had the fish tacos and they were some of the best I've ever had - nice big portions of grilled Tilapia with the most yummy coleslaw and sauce. Wonderful atmosphere with nicely manicured flowers and inviting decor.

Good service, good prices, great little place.

Will definitely return.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fishbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Braunfels, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This is a great place to go with friends or just two people. The food is good and the drinks are very tasty. We enjoyed sitting outside and being with our friends.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Maw-Maw7x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cantina del Rio also viewed

 

Been to Cantina del Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing