We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Renovated”

On The Half Shell Oyster Bar
Ranked #58 of 261 Restaurants in New Braunfels
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: http://www.yelp.com/biz/on-the-half-shell-oyster-bar-new-braunfels
New Braunfels, Texas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Renovated”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

This place is definitely much nicer post-renovation! They even have new menu items. Definitely a much-needed breathe of fresh air.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank AndreaCPM01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    14
    4
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Trip Advisor comes through again! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

We were looking for a place to eat after leaving the waterpark and Trip Advisor recommended this restaurant. Friendly service and outstanding food. We couldn't be more pleased.

Helpful?
Thank AHenry1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Braunfels, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Yummy Tuna App!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

I've always enjoyed going to the Oyster Bar in downtown New Braunfels. In fact, it was one of my regular hang outs on Thursday evenings several years ago - we called it Thursday Therapy. Now the bar is owned and operated by friends, Dave and Cat Cinotto, who have spruced up the place and made it not only current, but more comfortable by adding sofas and making the inside non-smoking. Additionally, they've recently added a full kitchen and menu to their business. Last night, I met a friend and tried the tuna appetizer with a fabulous sauce that was absolutely delectable. I've also heard great things about the fish tacos and sliders. Those will be on my to-do sample list the next time I visit.
On top of the food, they have great daily specials (last night was $1.75 Tecate, $2 Ultras and MGD 64s). But I do have to give credit to their breakfast shot, this includes a shot of Jameson with Butterscotch Schnapps, a side of OJ and a taste of candied bacon (yum yum!). And their bloody mary that is decorated with garnish to look like Gonzo is also really good. So if you are in town, swing by for happy hour or even dinner. You won't be disappointed. Cheers!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kking_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new braunfels
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“New Remodel with Upscale Class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

Love the new look and food is awesome! Great place to sit back and enjoy a cold one. They have a great variety of snacks and cold beverages.

Helpful?
1 Thank kmund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Live Music”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

My husband and I enjoyed a child free night at the Oyster Bar. There was a good crowd, not overly crowded. The live music was great and the service was great! We would return again on our next trip to New Braunfels!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank AM2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed On The Half Shell Oyster Bar also viewed

 
New Braunfels, TX
 

Been to On The Half Shell Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing