We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe a conference center and camp, but certainly NOT a resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
T Bar M Camps & Retreats
Ranked #18 of 33 Hotels in New Braunfels
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Upon arrival, we noticed two dirty Q-tips between the TV stand and a bureau. They were never removed during our two-day stay. The cleaning staff did not empty our trash nor did they make up the bed because we left a "personal item" [an open bag] on top. I don't think they vacuumed the room. The A/C was loud and the thermostat did not work, leaving two settings -- high and cold or low and ineffective. (We all caught colds because we used the first setting.) The outside staircases and picnic tables were not made of treated wood, were warped in some places and a great place to get splinters. Breakfast was not a quiet experience, but a shared one with noisy campers. Breakfast the second day was outdoors on an ant-covered patio and the attendant told us there were no high chairs available for our use even though they had been available the day before. (My wife had to carry a chair from the restaurant herself.)

The website is misleading as the pictures make the tiny pool and other facilities look much more expansive than they actually are in person. This place might be okay for families who don't ask a lot in terms of service, but it is definitely not a place to retreat and relax.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RGz123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 July 2012

Hi RGz123,

Thank you for your review and your honesty. I am sorry and do apologize for the conditions of your room during your stay here at T Bar M. We strive to make sure that we have a fresh and clean environment.

I have printed out your review and gave it to our Management staff along with our Housekeeping and Maintenance departments in order to correct this problem.

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 174 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2012

This is my third summer for a mini-cation with my kids. The resort is beautiful with a safe environment for kids to enjoy the outdoors. Plenty for the whole family. I can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shaunaann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 July 2012

Hi Shauna Ann,

It is great to hear that this is your third mini-cation with your kids to our resort. It is always wonderful when our guests keep coming back! Our staff always wants to make sure that our property looks great and enjoyable.

If you don't know already, our Front Desk has revamped our Loyalty program. If you sign up with your e-mail when making a reservation you will be enrolled. It is free to sign up. When you stay with us for 10 nights, your next night is free. The dates never expire either.

We cannot wait to see you again either. Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

We have stayed at T Bar M three times now. The last time we were there, we met a family who coincidentally lives less than twenty minutes away from us. Our sons played basketball together the whole weekend...and now our kids play on the same basketball league...so we all made new friends that we see on a weekly basis! It's great! T Bar M is so family friendly and safety conscious, we don't worry about our kids going off on little jaunts without us. We will be going back for Labor Day! Thanks T Bar!

Room Tip: We always stay in the hotel style rooms...they are a good value for families and have always met our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenifrH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michelleh277, Guest Relations Manager at T Bar M Camps & Retreats, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2012

Hi Jennifer,
Thank you for your review. It is so wonderful to hear that you have made new friends because of your stay at T Bar M. It's funny how small of a world we live in when you really think about it. How great that you made a good connection.
We look forward to having you and your family back Labor Day weekend!
Enjoy your summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

I spent about 5 days here in March 2012, at a quilting retreat. I was in the Country Inn part (Guadalupe? wing). The room was OK, but tired and the a/c was VERY noisy. Even after turning my a/c off, I could still hear the a/cs in the rooms surrounding me and had to wear ear plugs every night. I'm not sure why people had their a/cs on as the weather was really pleasant.

The free WiFi took some fiddling with settings etc. to get working and while the desk staff were helpful, I had to find out how to get it working myself (it worked for my phone but not my laptop; see here for details on how to get it working: http://cybertext.wordpress.com/2012/03/07/more-internet-woes-and-solutions/)

The function rooms we used were great, especially the one upstairs over the dining room -- it had excellent lighting, and was big enough for our subgroup. Tea, coffee, water, ice and fresh fruit were available outside the function room at all times.

The food we had for our group of about 60 was great. We had lots of choices and everything was pretty much separate, which meant you could have dressing or not on your salad, sauce or not on your meat, etc. There was plenty of food and it was tasty and healthy. We had a package that included three meals a day.

We were in a group deal so I'm not sure what the room/food component was, but considering I paid $80 to $110 for some very nice hotels (Hyatts etc.) on the rest of my trip, I hope that their prices were much less to reflect the ordinariness of the rooms.

I think 'resort' might be a little over the top for this place. It was OK, but not what I would expect from a 'resort'. And while we were there, a large group of kids arrived for some sort of Church camp. The staff were good about staggering the meal sittings so we were rarely in the dining room at the same time, but I was surprised by the presence of all these campers.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhonda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michelleh277, Manager at T Bar M Camps & Retreats, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2012

Hi Rhonda B.,
Thank you so much for your feedback. We appreciate having your quilting group back year after year. It is such a joy to see all the splendid work you all do in the week you are on property.
We love to hear customer criticisms, good and bad. That is after all the only way to improve or to continue on a job well done. T Bar M is a rustic resort and does provide accommodations for all types of groups.
We look forward to seeing you again in 2013!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We stayed here for a meeting, and oh my. The bedding was "new", but the pillow was so firm that i just couldn't find a decent position. My A/C stopped about 2 hours after I went to bed. As I remember, the same thing happened last year. The grounds are beautiful. The rooms are spartan and rustic. But not in a good way.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rgentrydal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michelleh277, Manager at T Bar M Camps & Retreats, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2012

Thank you for your recent review of T Bar M.
We appreciate all of our customer feedback and will take note of your review for future visitors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

I stayed at this facility for wedding in November 2011. During the winter months the hotel has no accomadations, no continental breakfeast,no lounge. The hotel rooms are outdated and the beds are horrible, its like sleeping on concrete. The air conditoners are noisy the lighting in the parking lot is poor. There where no elevators in our building and the service is sub par. I would not recomend this Resort at all. As a experienced business traveler please take my advise do not stay here for any type of event. It is in the middle of no where and you have to drive a distance just to get to anything. My advise, stay in San Antonio!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeasonedBusiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michelleh277, Guest Relations Manager at T Bar M Camps & Retreats, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2012

Dear Seasoned Business Traveler,
Thank you for your feedback. We always encourage our visitors to write reviews and give feedback; good and bad so that we may continually improve our resort. Since you have visited T Bar M, we have updated all of our bedding in the hotel to make it feel more up to date; clean, fresh and ready. Service is number one T Bar M's list and I apologize if you feel you got sub par treatment. If there is anything we can do to bring you back to T Bar M to give us another chance to make your stay most enjoyable please contact our sales office at xt 270.
Again, thank you for the feedback.
T Bar M Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2011

We had a very enjoyable and relaxing stay at T Bar M last weekend. We spent a lot of time in the gym playing basketball, ping pong and shuffle board. Great family time! We also went for a walk and sat outside under the trees. The property is very well landscaped and maintained.

Our hotel room was comfortable. Decorated with a rustic Texas decor. The room needs some updating especially in the bathroom. The wi fi was intermittent while we were there for 3 nights. Breakfast is only available during the summer months.

We ate breakfast twice at Union Street Station on San Antonio St. near Schlitterbahn. Great food and atmosphere! We really enjoyed our get-away to T Bar M - we made reservations for same time next year!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelIntl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Braunfels hotels
5.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott New Braunfels River Village
4.5 mi away
Gruene Outpost River Lodge
Gruene Outpost River Lodge
#24 of 33 in New Braunfels
110 reviews
6.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton New Braunfels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham New Braunfels
5.6 mi away
Ramada New Braunfels
Ramada New Braunfels
#14 of 33 in New Braunfels
369 reviews
5.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#10 of 33 in New Braunfels
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to T Bar M Camps & Retreats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about T Bar M Camps & Retreats

Address: 2549 W State Highway 46, New Braunfels, TX 78132-4731
Region: United States > Texas > New Braunfels
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in New Braunfels
Price Range: £57 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — T Bar M Camps & Retreats 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
T Bar M Camps & Retreats has a total of 74 country inn lodge rooms and 6 bungalows. The lodge consists of 34 rooms with two double beds, 34 rooms with two queen beds, and 6 rooms with one king bed. To compliment the lodge, the 6 bungalows all have one queen bed and a private porch for relaxing on your own set of rocking chairs. All of our lodge rooms have free wi-fi, iPod/iPhone docking stations or MP3 players, hair dryer, vanity mirrors, four cup coffee pot with Starbucks coffee, ironing boards with irons, cable television, free local and room to room calls, mini-refrigerators, and combination safes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your T Bar M Camps & Retreats reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
t Bar m Hotel New Braunfels
T Bar M Camps & Retreats New Braunfels, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing