We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful historical place”
Review of Phoenix Saloon

Phoenix Saloon
Ranked #31 of 271 Restaurants in New Braunfels
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Austin, TX
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful historical place”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Absolutely BEST sweet potato fries I have ever eaten!! The menus have different interesting facts about the place, so we had fun reading all of them. GREAT variety of beers, and samples offered. Very friendly staff.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank txsage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    49
    13
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pecos, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Saloon, great food”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Been twice now. Last time made a specific trip through town on our way to Houston. Chili is really good and the chili dog was fantastic. Beer was cold and good selection. Staff were friendly and attentive. Sat at the Bar and stayed for some great music. Nice old building. Easy parking.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheRealBadBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daphne, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Chili Ever!”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Very cool bar/saloon. We stopped in for a late lunch. We had read on TripAdvisor about the chili. It was the best ever! I ordered a burger with no bun topped with chili and cheese ... sooooooooooo good! My husband had the chili dog ... huge and yummy! We highly recommend!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank STYL_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Excellent chili burger!”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stopped off here for lunch Friday afternoon and we both got the chili burger on jalapeno buns. It was delicious! The chili was cooked into the patty, not poured on top. It was spicey and soo tastey I would have liked to go back. I ordered mine with the sweet potato fries, definitely the best sweet potato fries I've ever had. *Highly recommend this place for a good meal!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank rlbtx3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Braunfels, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great hamburgers!”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

If you want a great burger with easy listening music this is the place. I love it because there is no smoking inside!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank nsr419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Phoenix Saloon also viewed

 

Been to Phoenix Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing